We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Nature's Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Niagara Falls

Niagara Falls
Robert Moses Parkway, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
877-FAL-LSUS
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$2,047*
and up
6-Day Ultimate East Coast Tour by Private Plane...
Type: Waterfalls, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/day tour, Getting married
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three magnificent falls, two American and one Canadian, mark the point at which the Niagara River rumbles over the Niagara Escarpment.
Cebu
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of Nature's Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to Niagara in a tour bus and didn't have to worry about the sleeping arrangements nor parking. The falls was majestic in the day time and beautifully lit at night. That was all there was to it though. The surrounding places desperately need a good shaking up as it was very, very boring. They need to put some more excitement and action into that place. Whatever you do, don't miss the Maid of the Mist ride, even if there is only ONE boat and the line was really, really long. We stood in line for almost two hours before we got on that 15 min boat ride. It's better to go at noon rather than first thing in the morning as the lines are shorter.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,017
    467
    107
    45
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Imperial
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

You have not idea how powerful nature is until you experience the roar, mist and awesome power of the Falls. What a rush, not only of water but adreniline when you are part of the Falls

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Niagara from the Natural Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Everybody says the Canadian side is better. I dunno. The American side is more natural. You see the falls from a state park (trees, grass, etc.) You walk out to Goat Island and you see the rapids of the Niagara River. It's very cool. The big attractions are "Cave of the Winds" and "Maid of the Mist". We enjoyed "Cave of the Winds". You take an elevator 200 feet down to the floor of the gourge and see American falls from a series of wooden decks. The highlight is the "Hurricane Deck" which puts you closest to the bottom of the falls. The water is crashing down and it's so loud you can't hear each other. They provide you with a rain poncho and sandals, but you get soaked anyway. It's pretty great. The highlight of the trip was "Maid of the Mist". You can do this from either side. You board a big ferry type boat and head right into Horseshoe Falls. There's water crashing everywhere. Mist all around you. The noise is so loud. You feel the boats motor straining against the current. There's nothing like "Maid of the Mist" .. nothing comes close. Chris Kelley - Framingham

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Spent time in USA and best Niagara Falls trip I have ever taken!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have been to Niagara Falls three times and spent my time on the Canadian side. My husband had never been so we took a trip up for Columbus Day weekend. After talking to my daughter who had recently been there, we decided to spend some time on the USA side, but we still stayed on the Canadian side at the Hilton Inn & Suites, Fallview. The USA side is less crowded which is a real plus. I would recommend getting there by 9 AM and enjoy a Discovery Pass. Parking at either lot in Niagara Falls State Park is $10. There is $5 parking beyond the park, but we didn't really think $10 for all day parking was a bad price. With the Discovery Pass you can use the Trolley all day, although the park is very easy to walk. This is nice though if it's very hot or you are unable to walk for long distances. The Discovery Pass is $33 for adults and $26 for children. If you do more three or more activities you can save money with the pass. We went to the movie, Went on Maid of the MIst, and went to Cave of the Winds. We would recommend all of those. We were going to go to the Aquariam, but the bridge was getting backed up and we were staying on the Canadian side so left. You can do Maid of the Mist from either the Canadian or USA side. They both do the exact trip and it takes longer from the Canadian side. The Cave of the Winds is way more exciting than the Journey Behind the Falls on the Canadian side. At Cave of the Winds, you get a rain poncho and sandles and walk on a cat walk right up to the falls. You can stay somewhat drive if you choose not to go on all of the cat walks, but you can also get totally soaked. You can reach right out and put your hand in the falls! With Journey Behind the Falls, for the most part you are walking through a hallway with windows every now and again to look out at the back of the falls. You can only get to Goat Island from the USA side. There are some interesting things to do there including Cave of the Winds. We didn't get to eat at the restaurant because it's only open on weekends during October and we were there on Monday. The park is beautiful and there is so much to do. I have heard so many times that you should just go to Canada. It is true that seeing the falls straight on is easier in Canada. However, it is terribly crowded and terribly expensive there. We were very pleased wth our room view at the Hilton, but parking and meals were outrageous. We ended up parking at the Casino level for $5. I'm not sure how much longer they might allow people to do that. The Fallsview Hotel, Hilton & Sheraton all park in the same garage on different levels, but hotel prices are $20-$25 per day. At this point, I think we recommend going to Canada for a couple of hours to take pictures of the falls, parking in a Casino parking lot. Save money on room, food and parking by staying on the USA side. By all means go the the USA side and walk around Goat Island and do Maid of the Mist! If our granddaughter would have been with us, we would have definitely done the Aquarium and Niagara Gorge Discovery Center.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mighty Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wherever you are born in this world, you need to see this mighty Falls to appreciate and deify the Mother Nature. Nature's bounties are aplenty. This is the perfect place to salute the Mother Nature. No words can adequately explain the splendor and beauty of the Falls. What an excellent infrastructure the Park authorities have created for appreciating and viewing the Falls. Spend leisurely and quality time. Don't hurry to see so many attractions at a short time and miss the overall goals of appreciation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Niagara Falls also viewed

 
Niagara Falls, Ontario
 

Been to Niagara Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Niagara Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.