We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating and beautiful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookins Inn and Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newfane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookins Inn and Suites
2697 Maple Ave., Newfane, NY 14108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Newfane B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Very accommodating and beautiful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We traveled to WNY to visit family with our 14 month old daughter and even before we arrived at Brookins we received timely communication about our stay and our requests were met with ease. The Van Horn Suite worked perfectly for the three of us as we used the large kitchen daily and liked that the bathroom was not attached to the bedroom. The living room was large enough for our daughter to play and she loved the porch, rocking chairs, and courtyard. Also, when our flight out of town was delayed the staff was very willing to let us stay in the suite for a few more hours past normal checkout time. This was our third stay at Brookins and we plan to stay there anytime we are in the area.

Room Tip: The Patterson is great for a busy person/couple just to sleep at night. The Van Horn easily accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

we were at the wine festival in Lewiston and stayed at the Brookins Inn.we stayed in the Patterson suite.the room was excellent,the staff very courteous and friendly and the breakfast was delicious.we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we had the Patterson suite,very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just stayed at the Brookins Inn recently. Went away for a weekend vacation to see Niagara falls and explore the Niagara Wine trail. The inn is located right in the middle of the wine trail so it was perfect for that, about a 40 minute drive to get to the Falls. The distance to the Falls wasn't bad though because it gets you far enough away to remove all the "touristy" aspects you find as you get closer to the Falls.

One of the owners, Dan, was there to welcome my girlfriend and I when we arrived and was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. He was able to offer suggestions on which wineries to visit as well as where to go for dinner the evening we arrived. We stayed in the Roosevelt Suite which included a private entrance, king size bed, LCD TV (40" or more), jacuzzi tub, as well as a spacious standing shower in the bathroom. The room was very clean as was the bathroom, tub, etc. Despite coming for the wine trail we forgot to bring wine glasses or a corkscrew in case we brought anything back to the room, but we were pleasantly surprised that there were two wine glasses and a corkscrew in the armoire in the room. Also included in the room were two bathrobes and plenty of towels. A continental breakfast was prepared each morning and left for us in a basket with a personalized note. The breakfasts also took into account allergy concerns for my girlfriend. And not a like a ready-made breakfast, but actual baked carrot muffins and local apples. The lobby area had chocolate chip cookies, as well as snacks, drinks (water and soda), and a Keurig coffee maker with a wide assortment of choices. All free of charge- included as part of the package of the room. No complaints, had an excellent stay. Feels very welcoming, never felt like a business just to get your money. Cost was ~$350 for two nights but considering the amenities, room, and welcome- well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saegertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Things started off quite well on this trip. we checked in with a lovely young woman and were made to feel at home. cookies and coffee were ready to go and we got a tour of the hotel and our room. we stayed in the roosevelt suite and i asked for a dozen red roses to be present at arrival for my love and she was taken back by their beauty. she was able to enjoy them for close to 3 weeks!! after gettin situated, we took a walk around the town, only lasted about an hour. very small, very quiet, kids playing catch in their back yards, smell of home cooking was everywhere. couldnt have been more perfect. went back to the hotel and decided to travel a bit, went to a haunted hay ride and it was more funny than haunted... got some hard cider from the farm we were on and headed back to our suite with some Buffalo wings and NY pizza... OUTSTANDING! enjoyed our jacuzzi and amazing king size bed! was one of the best nights sleep i had had in a long time!!

day two started with waking up and going and getting some cofffee and sitting on the back porch of the suite and listening to the water fall outside flow. enjoyed our robes and had a delighful sunny morining. did a lot of traveling during the day so not much time was spent there, but they reccommended a wonderful little restaurant which ended up being closed when we got there but we made due with an awesome bar and ate good!.. came back and had another amazing nights sleep! check out was very easy! had an amazing time and will definitly come back and stay again!!

Room Tip: for couples, the rossevelt suite was amazing, jacuzzi was great. and if you have kids, there is a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My husband & I and another couple had a delightful stay at this lovely inn. We showed up without a reservation (mid-week, mid-November), after a recommendation from a local winery owner. We were greeted immediately and given a tour of every room. Each couple chose a charming room - nicely decorated, very comfortable, roomy, a nice reading chair, good sized bathroom (with bathrobes), coffee pot and wine glasses. The bed was really comfortable. We were not in the suites, so we made use of the lobby/living room/dining room to snack and play games in the evening. There was also a nice porch with rockers and a lovely, private patio/ backyard area.
I would recommend this inn and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

After reading the review below mine, I felt I had to respond. discorporated77 i disagree. I stayed in the same room as you. As like most cabins, cottages, and inns, it is typically unlike a hotel where there is constant staff on hand. Yes, you have to call to let them know you are there to let you into their facility~ very typical and the norm. When the owner arrived, she was delightful, very very helpful, making sure we knew someone was available all hours of the day for any little need we may have even trivial ones. Upon arrival, we were given a complimentary bottle of wine to suite our taste, this is EXCEPTIONAL!!! This is not a standard by any means, thereby making this stay quite unlike most. She made sure we knew where to eat at and where the recreational activities were all located, definitely going way above extraordinary. Our suite smelled delightful, was very clean and cozy with private entrance next to a very plush courtyard. If coming to this area for fishing or winery hopping I highly recommend this facility. You will not be dissatisfied unless you are very fussy. Oh, and the ants were gone when we got here, so someone must have taken them home with them!

Room Tip: Ask owner to make sure room has amenities you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the Brookins Inn to celebrate my birthday. We were both really looking forward to getting away for the weekend, and after all of the positive reviews we read, it seemed like an absolutely perfect place to stay. When we arrived, at the time we told them we would be there, no one was around to let us into our room. We had to call up the number on the building and wait 20 minutes for someone to let us in. Not a big deal really, though it did seem unusual that no one was on the premises. It's lucky we had a cell phone to be able to call, otherwise we might as well have just gone home.
When we got into our room, the Captain Headley room, it looked really beautiful. The problem was that we had ants in our room. The first night we only saw a few and figured we might have just brought them in on our clothes or something. The next night, however, we must have killed 2 or 3 dozen behind the fire place. We also had a lot of flying bugs in our room. It seemed every time we went in or out, a stick bug found its way in.
Putting the bugs aside, their "king sized bed" was just 2 twins pushed together with a sleeve in the middle to cover the gap. We both felt like we were falling off the bed and had to actually pull all the covers off and flip the mattresses around in order to be somewhat comfortable. Even so, we really didn't get a good nights sleep either of the nights we stayed there.
They also had an outdoor fireplace for us to use. Unfortunately, it was out of propane, so we couldn't use it. We didn't even know about it before we came, so it wasn't really a disappointment... it just would have been nice to use.
I really wanted to like this place. The area is beautiful, with lots of wineries and orchards. We were so excited that we had found a perfect getaway, only to be let down.
By the way, there was no phone, even in their lobby area, so make sure you bring your own phone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brookins Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookins Inn and Suites

Address: 2697 Maple Ave., Newfane, NY 14108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Newfane
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newfane
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This upscale inn in Newfane, New York is a quick jaunt to Niagara Falls attractions, and located within the award-winning Niagara Wine Trail. Located 6 miles from Olcott Beach on Lake Ontario, Brookins Inn boats historical charm with 3 guestrooms and 2 suites, each with its own exterior entrance and private bath. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookins Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brookins Inn and Suites to your Saves list