We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point
1292 Rte 300, Newburgh, NY 12550-2902   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Newburgh
New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Can't go wrong here for comfort and location. 40 min from NY City and yet close to the Catskills. Clean, quiet and the best beds. I really liked the little extras like a nite-light in the bathroom. Next door is a choice of places to eat and this is right off of the highway. I thought the price was a bit high but this is a NY City suburb. Breakfast is included and free wi-fi. I would definately pay the extra to be taken care of so nicely on a long trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    60
    18
    10
    15
See reviews for
43
47
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Clean and modern premises typical of Hampton Inn . Check in was even more swift and efficient as desk clerk was most interested in getting back to TV program that she had been watching. Restaurants are nearby, but none really within walking distance especially if weather is inclement. Several local eateries deliver. Breakfast was well presented, and buffet area remained tidy despite large turnout. It took me about a half hour to find the hotel, as my iPhone kept taking me to the address, but there was no Hampton Inn. Only reason that we did find the place was when we passed it a couple of miles away from location provided on web site. For the record, the premise is nearby a Home Depot and Lowes and convenient to Interstates. According to desk clerk, incorrect address is due to recent road improvements/changes. So, why not provide GPS location on web page?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I only stayed one night, but it was a very comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, and fabulous free breakfast in the morning. If you are in the lower Hudson Valley area, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Hotel had everything we were looking for: convenient location, well kept premises, clean room. However, be warned: our room was robbed. Went down to breakfast and someone had broken in to take wallet and cell phone. We're still dealing with the fall out of lost driver's license, house keys, credit cards, etc. What we find reprehensible is that the staff didn't seem to believe that this could have happened on hotel's watch. Somehow, this was all due to a mistake on our part. We've retraced our steps over and over, and all signs point to a break in. No follow up from manager - we actually never had the chance to speak to him/her. Never made it past the person at the front desk who was sympathetic but distant. We're Hilton Honors members, but not sure we want to continue! Newburgh does have a high crime rate - even the detective we notified pointed that out. Enjoy the hotel, but hold on to your belongings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Excellent staff and service. Not only a great, hot breakfast every morning, but a small buffet dinner weekdays. Snacks and ice water in the afternoon. Shuttle service to and from airport--be sure to tip! After leaving a small purse in my room after checkout I called the desk, they found it and delivered it to me at the airport! One small problem--difficulty communicating with maid service (no English), and did not get room prepared in time for my return. My bad--I should have communicated with the desk rather than maid service. All in all, very nice, but expensive--about $150/night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. They have a reputation that they lived up to for clean rooms, friendly service and decent serve yourself breakfast. Would stay there again or look for Hampton Inns in other locations on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending an extended wedding in the Newburgh area. We were pleasantly surprised as we were expecting a motel-level of comfort/service. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There's free wifi and and a business centre with 2 internet desktop connections and a printer. Our room was spacious, comfortable and everything worked - though we didn't try the microwave. Breakfast buffet was quite good - I wouldn't recommend the scrambled eggs but the small omelettes weren't bad at all. There's no bar or restaurant, but there are a number of eat-out options, and a good wine shop, in the adjacent mall - or across the highway if you dare to play chicken crossing the road. Because of the liquid nature of our festivities we didn't rent a car. Taxis (yellow) in Newburgh charge a $5 local fare, but venture anywhere beyond and you're facing a multiple of that e.g. expect to pay $20, before tip, to get to Beacon station - the nearest rail connection. Typically, it took 15-20 minutes for a taxi to arrive at hotel once it had been ordered by reception. There's a small gym and a reasonably sized indoor pool. We got a late check-out (2pm) on request and without charge which was helpful.
Newburgh is a strange mix - the Waterfront area is home to several nice restaurants but the town itself seems, sadly, quite rundown. The Hampton Inn is several miles out of town.

Room Tip: Only 2 levels - ask for top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point

Address: 1292 Rte 300, Newburgh, NY 12550-2902
Location: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Newburgh
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point Hotel Newburgh
Newburgh Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Newburgh West Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.