We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get for what you pay!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Route 17K, Newburgh, NY 12550   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Newburgh
LAPID
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You get for what you pay!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The bathroom is not clean.the room is OK. the hotel need to have a decoration. i came with my family late at night ,all we need is a bath and nice sleep.and we did sleep good.but the bath was not clean as we expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    63
    59
    56
See reviews for
83
56
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is right next door to Orange County Choppers, very reasonable rates, we had a big riding group of 13 people, everything was great!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our room was horrible! Torn sheets with hair on them, dirty bathroom, no mattress pads. When we asked to change rooms, we were told there were no other rooms available........though parking lot was nearly empty! We ended up cancelling our room and moving on to another motel that same night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The desk clerk was very helpful, even getting us a cot and not charging us because we had to carry it to the second floor. The place is overdue for an overall facelift. The beds had no mattress pads on them. The hallways were very hot. The ice machine was broken. The ironing board was tilted and bent. The air conditioning in the room did work! Yeah!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is close to the interstate and one of the most affordable in the area. It sits back from the street so roadway noise is not an issue. The included continental breakfast is what you would expect. The front counter staff were extremely friendly.

The room service needs improvement. There were hairs on the bathroom floor and when I returned after room service, they were still there. The remote for the TV didn't work, and instead of getting a new remote and making sure it worked, they gave me another remote with self programming instructions. It didn't work either.

The price *might* get me back, but not until after I compare the rates with other nearby hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We made a weekend trip to the area for a visit to My Saddle Brook Farm to do trail riding on horse back, and then a trip to the Storm King Art Center (check out my other contributions for a review of both). We wanted inexpensive accommodation local to both places for us to crash for the night, and after a little research, it looked the Howard Johnson Inn would fit the bill nicely!

At 85USD per room, our expectations were pretty minimal - all we really wanted was for it to be clean, secure and dry...and as I sit here in the breakfast area of the Hotel typing this review, I can say HoJo met those expectations. On the positives, the staff are friendly enough, there is AC in the rooms, free wi-fi, the beds are firm but comfortable, and there's a lock box in each room. On the areas for improvement, the hallways smell a little funky, our friends towels were not clean and had to be changed, the included breakfast is very limited (but free), and it is all very dated and drab.

As far as location is concerned, the hotel was a quick drive to both of our destinations for the weekend, and only a 10USD taxi ride to the Hudson river front where there are a ton of restaurants, bars and clubs for something fun to do in the evening.

Overall, given the location, basic but working and (reasonably) clean facilities, and the price, you could do worse for your money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I appreciate your comments. Due to your review, I have evaluated our linen supplies and have upgraded our towels. My hope is if you are traveling through our area again, you would give us another try.


Sincerely,
Jay Mehta
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel is the worst we ever tried. The bed sheets were full of hair, the pillows too and with fresh stains... I had to ask for an other room: then the bed sheets were clean but a lot of hair on the pillows. Are the employees really change the bed sheets or they use the rooms as a nap or quicky place ? The breakfast : just the minimum. Cereals, bagel and waffles. a basket of old apples and oranges. The maid dropped a fork and put it back on the counter for the service. Mattresses seemed to come from directly from garbage. Swimming pool was off duty .This hotel seemed abandonned. Avoid it!!!
Degeulasse, les lits sont plein de poils,de cheveux et de taches fraiches.... Il est évident que les employées ne changent pas les draps ou ils utilisent les chambres pour leurs besoins personnels. Planchers de la salle de bain salle. Le déjeuner: minable. Bagels, gauffres et cérérales, des pommes et oranges veillots. L'employée a échappé une fourchette sur le sol qu'elle a remise telle quelle dans le panier de service. Degeulasse!!! Hotel à l'abandon. Nous sommes restés car il n'y avait aucun hôtel disponible a une heure à la ronde. Piscine hors service. A éviter.

Room Tip: I saw two rooms, they were dirty. I choose the less one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay M, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent review, I appreciate your comments. Due to your review I have evaluated all rooms and have made all necessary changes. Our linen supplies have also been upgraded. My hopes are if your ever traveling through the area you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Address: 95 Route 17K, Newburgh, NY 12550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Newburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Newburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh Hotel Newburgh
Howard Johnson Hotel Newburgh
Howard Johnson Newburgh
Newburgh Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.