We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Solar Cafe

El Solar Cafe
346 Broadway, Newburgh, NY 12550
+1 845-561-3498
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Newburgh
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A CHARMING LITTLE PLACE IN THE MIDDLE OF UPSTATE NEWBURGH NY OFFERS NOW A PERFECT COMBINATION OF ECLECTIC LATIN & MEDITERRANEAN DISHES AND ONE OF THE MUST DELICATE AMBIANCE IN TOWN, COME TO TASTE THE FLAVORS BLESSING FROM THE SUN, HERE IN THE PERFECT SPOT THAT WE CALL "EL SOLAR" WHICH MEANS "NUESTRA NOBLE CASA" OUR LOVELY HOUSE.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We always try to patronize 'local restaurants' over your chain food places and this place is a hidden gem. The atmosphere was relaxed, the service friendly and the food was excellent. We had the seafood stew and clams with spaghetti and were very happy with our meal. Many thanks to the other reviewers for recommending this place!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    8
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really want to see El Solar succeed. This family owned (Ecuadorian) restaurant offers excellent food and good service in the heart of gangland Newburgh. My ceviche was excellent and the staff was very friendly and efficient. They need more low cost specials and drinks to lure weekday diners. Extensive list of specials with prices should be printed out; otherwise impossible to remember.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Waited 2 hours for food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been waiting for 2 hours for food. The food is good but this is completely intolerable with 4 kids in our party. They cannot handle much volume here. I regret coming here and am minutes away from leaving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josehern, General Manager at El Solar Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Absolutely intolerable, like you said, food is good, let me apologize to make you wait long time. Sorry again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stop in if you're in Newburgh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Easy to miss even if you're looking for it, but well worth the effort. What a sweet serving spirit we experienced there. The food was very good, the commitment to excellence obvious.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Put El Solar on the top of your "To Do List"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You could easily drive by this wonderful spot and miss a fabulous meal. A friend & I made a point of going there today for lunch. A lovely & varied menu with many specials which made choosing very difficult. It has been very hot & humid here so when we were told about a salad with lobster & what sounded like a lovely light sauce made with a bit of mayo, yogurt & cilantro - we went for it and OH MY!! The greens were fresh from the garden, the lovely chunks of lobster were plentiful & succulent, the drizzled sauce - just a perfect consistency & amount. It was suggested we have a glass of Prosecco which was just the right compliment. We decided to check out the desserts as well and were told of a Spanish cake - it was light with a scrumptious icing. We shared that along with coconut gelato and great decaf Cappuccinos.We are already planning for a return. Don't let the area keep you away. We were two ladies and felt perfectly comfortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Solar Cafe also viewed

 

Been to El Solar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Solar Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.