We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining or Casual - You Chose!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Legends

Legends
835 First St, New Suffolk, NY 11956
(631) 734-5123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Fine Dining or Casual - You Chose!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Legends is an odd place on Long Island's North Fork - odd because the location is a bit out of the way, and one half is a sports bar with 20 flat screen televisions showing all the local (and some not so local) sports events, and the other side is a fine dining establishment. Food is prepared in the same kitchen for both, so it just depends on the occasion or your mood. We sat at the bar on a busy Saturday evening, but the bartender was attentive and friendly, and even changed the TV that was nearest to me to a game I was interested in watching. They have a huge selection of craft beers on tap. The food is fabulous - the best raw clams and oysters we have ever eaten (and we have been to some of the top raw bars in NYC). My husband loved his burger (get it marinated, you will not be disappointed), and the salmon BLT for me was an explosion of flavors. Definitely plan to return next time we visit Long Island Wine Country!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice laid back location in a beautiful setting. Perfect location for a romantic diner. The feature a NYC menu with variety. My husband and I had different seafood entries, both were delicious. We loved the service and are looking forward to returning for another great time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner while visiting the North Fork for a long weekend. Nice variety in the menu. My husband and I had a filet mingon and a duck breast. We also had starters of clam chowder and truffled Mac and cheese. Everything was delicious. Service was great. Would definatly return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babylon, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Beach - The View - The Brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Enjoyable atmosphere -- wonderful live music - delicious food - fun -- reasonable -- large choice of tap beer for anyone who likes tap beer - delicious wine choices - sports tv - and all near a nice quiet beach in a great area!!! Great place for friends to gather ... and Yankee fans!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Excellent food in an elegant setting. NYC dining on the North Fork. We had the snapper cooked in a delicious white sauce with lobster pieces mixed in - an excellent choice. A $39 entree, but worth it. The baked clam appetizer was excellent as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
 
Southold, North Fork
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.