We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food in a cozy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spadaro

Spadaro
211 Main Street, New Rochelle, NY 10801
(914) 2354595
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 162 Restaurants in New Rochelle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
new york
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“good food in a cozy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The food and service was really good. We went late around 9 PM on a Friday night, we sat down quickly and our server was great. The food is tasty however, a little on salty side.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ok. here is the truth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

You can't handle the truth. But seriously, the food is very good. Equally, the service is adequate at best, the manners are hit or miss and the prices are ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family style Italian in New Rochelle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Friendly staff tell what you there is, then you choose, and then you enjoy. Unique pasta combinations in the spring and well prepare simple meat and fish dishes.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Deep italian roots in a casual space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a very popular, local place that pulls a packed room even on a Thursday night and still persists with that annoying practice of having no written menu, despite the fact that the place is so small that one blackboard would suffice. We enjoyed our proscuitto appetizers but found the mozzerello cheese to be a bit watery for our taste.

My lamb ragu with pasta was ideal-5 stars if I had to rate alone and so filling that I brought half home. We though that the veal chops were a little too thin for our taste and that Lusardi's in Larchmont did this much better. Quite noisy when packed but very warm atmosphere

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I went to Spadaro for dinner last week. I had a 8pm reservation, which meant nothing, I had to wait for my table. Finally when I was seated this obnoxious and rude kid comes over to wait on us. He had an attitude and I had to ask him repeatedly for some bread. In addition to lack of bread, we had no water refills. This kid, I think his name was Francisco or something took our beverage order and never came back to ask us what we wanted to eat. A woman finally comes over after what seemed like an hour, and she arrogantly proceeds to tell me what I should eat! I later find out she is the owner. She should take lessons in etiquette and learn how to speak to people. The service here is horrendous, and the workers, including the owner is rude. The food is very expensive. I have friends who come here and they said every time they eat here they get charged different prices for the same entree. i would not recommend this restaurant at all.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spadaro also viewed

New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 
New Rochelle, Westchester County
New Rochelle, Westchester County
 

Been to Spadaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spadaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.