We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Beautiful, Believably Expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mohonk Mountain House to your Saves list
Mohonk Mountain House
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honey is Hot!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northern NewJersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Beautiful, Believably Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2006

My wife and I are both educators from northern New Jersey. We were suprisingly pleased that such rugged, natural beauty that is to be found in the Mohonk property is so close to home. Really, this kind of natural setting is something that is more typical of Wyoming than upstate New York, and it is spectacular.

The hotel is beautiful and historic; the main house is huge; with miles of hallways, beautifully decorated rooms, and carved, stone fireplaces.

The staff was exceptionally attentive, even going so far to retrive some needed items in our car for us.

The only issue is price. Our two-night stay was extremely expensive (over $1000). If Mohonk wants some return business from us, they should consider more afforable packages for families.

  • Liked — The spectacular views; the fine furniture
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    357
    143
    105
    71
See reviews for
385
559
24
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, NJ
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

My husband and his closest friend celebrate their birthdays together every year, as the dates are 1 week apart. This being a special year, 60th, we four wanted something special. We booked our 2 night stay for Oct. 25&26, and made our reservations on Oct. 1. We had the Mohonk's Shopping getaway special, our rooms were $396 per night. And, the taxes and gratuity were extra.

We four had a wonderful time at the Mohonk, and it does take some time getting adjusted to it, we were in awe of it, that it has been in business for 137 years, and we knew not to expect the Ritz Carlton. We were intrigued by the history of the place, the details of each little nook and cranny. We hiked on both days, did not do the Labrynth, but we did make it up to the top of the Tower. The scenery is breathtaking. We were amazed at the amount of kids and babies there, we just felt it was a place for older people who want to keep things quiet, relaxing. There were 12-14 corporate functions on both days that we were there, that surprised us. The food was very good, someone wrote they lost 3 pounds staying there, my goodess, I don't see how!!

Our staff was was very courteous, brought our drinks/tea/sodas right away. Our meals were very good, not Culinary Institute quality, but very good. We took a horse carriage ride and loved it. Yes, it is expensive for the average-income person, but then I know places where just the room is $400. The Borgata in A.C. So I would definitely recommend the Mohonk as a place to stay for just 2 nights or so, just to see it, experience it, you can have a drink with dinner, but bring your own wine or whatever you like. Have a drink and enjoy the scenery on your balcony. We stayed in room 408, faced the lake. King bed, very comfortable, bathroom updated and very clean. We are happy to have shared this special birthday with friends in a place so different, with such a long history. Makes you feel Mohonk has outlived everyone!!

  • Liked — Scenery, ambience, food
  • Disliked — pricey
  • Tips/Secrets — try to get a special rate, go during the Fall or Spring
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York metro area
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

I travel all over the world and have stayed at some special places. But this hotel was a surprise. When I drove over the mountain top and saw this huge castle framed by the mountains and giant pine trees, my jaw dropped!

It felt a bit like something you'd find in Disneyworld, but this is the original that Disneyworld would have modeled their replicas from.

When NY City gets old and you are tired of security lines at the airport, I suggest you give this place a try. It's not a hotel...it's an experience. You can use their boats on their lake, hike, ride horses or a sleigh, ice scate and spa like crazy.

My cell phone didn';t work very well...that alone is the reason to return. We had a romantic stay, in front of a woodburning fireplace...in an enormous suite with a balcony and ricking chairs. Cookies, tea and coffee arrived in our room (no charge) when you call.

It's now "our special place" and we are hoping to book our springtime wedding there.

  • Liked — the amazing views and fun acitivites
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2006

Spent two nights in October during the height of leaf season. The location is spectacular, and the hotel is quite beautiful and classy. A real throwback to older, gentler times. The big disappointment is the food, which is like very good cafeteria food. Service is pretty friendly, but seems to be local college students who are not too experienced. We paid $625 per night including food, for a King room, not facing the lake. I think most of the price is for the spectacular location and the history of the place. After the taxes and 15% service charge was added in, I couldn't help feeling like I had been slightly ripped off. Worth going, if you don't expect fine food, and you don't mind overpaying for the charm.

  • Liked — Charm and beauty
  • Disliked — Food and price
  • Tips/Secrets — Might be best to do Mohonk as a day trip
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

We stayed two nights at the Mountain House earlier this week. The setting is gorgeous and the hotel is lovely in a funky Victorian “Winchester Mystery House” sort of way. If you are tired of high energy, ultra-modern, amenity-bloated resorts, then you will find the Mountain House to be a soothing distraction. Of course there are still too many people blathering on cell phones (big business conference destination, particularly during the week) but the quality and inconsistency of the cell signal keeps this to an acceptable minimum.

Not a whole lot to do here other than hike, read and enjoy the scenery. The new spa and indoor pool is lovely but the services provided are expensive and are pretty ordinary.

We were extremely disappointed in the food. The dinner menu is ambitious to the point of being a parody and far exceeds the reach of the head chef. The execution of the menu is flawed (under or overcooked meats, thick, tasteless sauces everywhere, over-steamed side dishes, dull desserts, etc.) and the wait staff (almost all very young and very inexperienced…there is a state university campus in nearby New Paltz) seems to be very confused. They are not unfriendly: they just don’t know how to perform at a level the hotel sells to its clients. After being served the wrong meals twice at dinner, the captain apologized and said that they had just started a new menu and the staff had not learned to “recognize” (her word) the different entrees. (Recognize?) The cuisine and execution are similar to what you would find on a low-end cruise line. High volume, mediocre quality, indifferent service.

The breakfast and lunch buffets are extensive but nothing special. Large quantities of uninspired food sit in long rows of warming trays. Our best dining experience of the weekend was at a café in New Paltz on the way up. If the prices at the Mountain House were not so exorbitant, this kind of mediocrity would be understandable. But when the all-in price (including tip and tax) exceeds $750 per couple per night, it is hard to describe this experience as worth the expense. In fact, it just feels like a giant rip-off.

By the way, the hotel has a 15% mandatory tip added onto your bill. I have never been a big fan of such a policy because it creates no incentive for the staff to provide anything other than ordinary service. Such was the case here. Management should give some thought to changing this policy because service levels would likely improve.

I can now say I experienced the Mountain House, but have no interest in a return visit

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Poor value, indifferent service
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in New Paltz or Hyde Park and pay the day rate to see the property. Eat elsewhere.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

Mohonk did not let us even drive onto the property to decide whether to book a future trip because we had our dog in the car with us. (The excuse for not allowing dogs on leash is that the land's cliffs and rocks are too dangerous for dogs. I wonder why people and horses are allowed?) We would have left our dog in the car for the brief visit (it was a cool 50 degrees and we were going to stay for only 20 minutes) but that was not permitted either.

This is an Inhospitable resort more suited for a snooty locale than the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2006

My husband and I have been going to Mohonk for years. Sometimes, we've purchased the day passes and hiked there, other times, we've made reservations for lunch or dinner, and a few times we've had the pleasure of being overnight guests at the Mountain House.

It is pricey, no doubt, but, for a sweet, romantic weekend getaway, it is so worth the money.

The setting is astonishing. Everywhere you look there is a stunning view of the mountains, or the lake, or the gardens. I can't imagine there is even one room in this entire place that doesn't have an awesome view of something.

Considering that the food is DELISH and is all included in the price, the cost really isn't that prohibitive. Breakfast is a buffet with selections of omelets, danishes, pancakes, waffles, french toast, fresh fruit, muffins, bagels, cereals, etc.

For lunch, you have your choice of either eating indoors or an outdoor barbeque (weather permitting.) My husband and I always enjoy the barbeque, where you can get yummy hamburgers, hot dogs, steaks, chicken, corn on the cob, baked beans, salads, and indulgent, decadent desserts. The picnic area overlooks the beautiful lake, and the fresh air is always good for stimulating the appetite.

You do need to dress for dinner, and men are required to wear jackets, but the first time we went there they actually found my husband a jacket to wear. The last time we went for supper, we had a choice of either a sit-down meal from the menu, or a buffet, and of course we chose the buffet. And the dessert bar is simply sinful, loaded with all manner of cakes, pies, even chocolate fountains to dip your fruit in.

What we enjoy the most is the hiking, particularly a trail called "The Labyrinth," which involves scrambling over and under boulders and ends, ultimately with a climb up a narrow crevice to an incredible view above. On the way down, there are these sweet little gazebos where you can have a rest and enjoy sweeping views of the gardens below. We like to stop at the lilly pond and listen to the frogs singing to each other.

We love the fact that we can get all dirty and disgusting from hiking in the woods, then go back to our room, have a shower and dress for an elegant dinner.

Mohonk offers the best of worlds for every age, activity level and taste. In one day you can engage all of your senses; have a relaxing spa treatment, take a romantic stroll or a strenous hike, go ice skating, horseback riding, watch a movie out on the lawn, or sway to the sounds of big band music under the moonlight.

I can't say enough great things about this place. If you have the money and are looking for a perfect wedding/honeymoon location, under the philosophy of "you only live once," I would say, "go for it."

  • Liked — The location, the activities
  • Disliked — Rooms could use a little updating
  • Tips/Secrets — Just go there!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohonk Mountain House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.