We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mohonk Mountain House to your Saves list
Mohonk Mountain House
1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

You can't beat mohonk in terms of the gourmet food and the stunning hundreds of acres available for hiking. The hotel is charming in its ability to maintain a balance between early 20th century vintage rustic appearance and the comforts of a modern resort. Hard to find a more romantic get away spot. Expensive - but worth the investment for a great opportunity to unwind.

The food is amazing... The chefs are from the local culinary institute of America ... And it shows. Truly unique , creative and delicious meals. Only constructive criticism would be that the formal dinner desserts could be amped up to match the quality of the appetizers and main course.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    339
    136
    101
    70
See reviews for
359
510
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Plains, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we entered the gate at the foot of the mountain , we were treated like royalty. Upon reaching the massive long mountain house caressing a lake, a valet was there to greet us. Smiles ,and more smiles from the staff gliding about servicing this he away from home, greeted us in the carpeted hallways with many side rooms to explore. We went to a cozy pub for drinks and then dinner in a formal dining room. The meal was suburb. The staff is local. Either they live on premises or in a nearby town. Two in our party played pool in one of the side rooms. There was a live band and fire in the fireplace of the ballroom lined with extremely comfortable living room seating. Gift shop remained open for most of the night which had many interesting items that ranged in price. I did some holiday shopping there. Days after , we continued to bask in the lingering glow imparted to us from the genteel old world charm we had treated ourselves to

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been to Mohonk numerous times over the years and have enjoyed each stay tremendously! Each season has its own set of activities to keep each member of the family happily occupied. It is truly a beautiful location and the Mountain House is so unique.The trails, the rock climb, the lake, the ice rink - so much to do but when you just need the peace and quite there's always a little nook to curl into or a rocking chair to enjoy. The food and service have always been exceptional as well. My family and I will continue to enjoy the beauty of this place for years to come!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked Thanksgiving lunch at Mohonk, and with access to the entire property we had a great time. I highly suggest it for families that can not/do not want to have Thanksgiving at home. For about $70/pp we had a delicious buffet lunch, and afternoon tea and cookies, and enjoyed sitting by the lake, and even hiking to the top of the mountain on a well maintained trail - with SPECTACULAR views. The "Lemon Squeeze" rock scramble was closed, but the hike was good enough. You can not go wrong with a family day at Mohonk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent an early November weekend here and had a fantastic time. Gorgeous foliage. The hotel has lots of somewhat-quirky charm, having been built and added on to over many decades. Some areas were tired-looking, some historically delightful, and some (like the new spa) were new but well-in-keeping with the rest.

There were tons of tourists and tour-groups...but in a hotel that large I'm sure that's a necessity...but they were easy enough to avoid.

Most meals were included, normally something that would not appeal to us, but in this case it was part of the experience and was convenient. It even sort of added to the charm because you saw the same people in the dining hall at each meal so there was an unexpected little feeling of community whether you spoke to anyone else or not.

My two favorite bits:

I know we paid extra for room 638, but no matter how much it cost, it was worth it to me.....this is the room in what once was a cupola, so it has windows (and major views) out both sides and a fantastic high vaulted ceiling. I absolutely loved it.

The hiking trails were wonderful, and we loved all the nice look-out seats and took advantage of many of them. But the trail we were most delighted by was the "Labyrinth". The sign at the mouth of it did say it was challenging, but it was more exciting than we expected. We figured the sign was more a "challenging to people with strollers and walkers" kind of thing. But it was a bit beyond that...not anything crazy, my children or 75 year old mother would have been fine, but it was pretty special. We did it twice and I can't wait to go back with my kids.

Room Tip: If you can swing the price, definitely get room 638 in the cupola!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

LOVE Mohonk Mountain ! Will definitely come back. Autumn is just heavenly beautiful, it's breathtaking........Great walks, stunning lakeside and mountain views. Dinner BEST meal, can't go wrong with any steak dishes, Very delish!!!! BEST Foie Gras I've had in ALL of New York including NYC top restaurants. Awesome SPA specifically the massage. Went 3X in 24 hrs!!!!! Great pool too.
Enjoy this wonderful Retreat. Can't wait to come back next Fall !
A treasure !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have been to Mohonk twice now and can say we had an excellent experience both times. Just keep in mind it is very expensive. As far as we can tell, there are two basic options. If you stay in the main building (which is huge), 3 meals a day are included in the price. The food is buffet style but quite abundant and very good. During the summer, they have options other than the dining room, such as an outdoor barbeque at the Granary If you stay in one of the cottages on the property, meals are not included. You essentially have your own private house with full kitchen. The cottage we stayed in was modern and clean with a full service kitchen including things like coffee filters, spices, paper towels, blender and toaster. We did not eat on the property the second time around. There are several reasonably priced restaurants in New Paltz and the Culinary Institute of America school and their 3 restaurants are not too far away. There are tons of activities such as hiking, boating, swimming, a putting green, horse and carriage rides, and gardens. Some of these require an extra fee. The spa was rated #1 by Conde Nast and is outstanding. There is a large indoor heated pool (not heated enough in our opinion) but strangely, no hot tub. There is a outdoor heated mineral pool available for an extra fee or if you pay for some spa treatment. Other than these minor negatives, the overall experience is one of old world luxury. Tea and cookies are served at 4pm. The rooms do not have TVs (although the cottages do).

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohonk Mountain House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.