We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing spectacular hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mohonk Mountain House to your Saves list
Mohonk Mountain House
1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
December Delight Package
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Pomona, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing spectacular hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

OMG My wife and I have been here three times in the last 4 years. Our 25th anniversary, a very special birthday and to celebrate/recuperate my successful recovery from recent surgery. I wish I could give Mohonk 6 stars.. This place is our secret (although a lot of people know our secret) hideaway...

Room Tip: Make sure you explore the grounds and and take as many hikes as possible..its very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    338
    136
    101
    70
See reviews for
358
509
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Have been to Mohonk many times and recently had sunday brunch there once again. I have never been disappointed. The setting is spectacular in any season. Just sitting on the rocking chairs overlooking th lake is magical. If you are hiking dont miss the Labryinth trail, it takes you past amazing rock formations and ends with a breathtaking view at Sky Top. The lemon squeeze was always a favorite. While weekdays are peaceful the weekends can be crowded with day trippers, which I have been one of many times before. The historic hotel is well maintained and beautiful. Do not miss the chance to stay here or eat here.

I dont understand the few poor reviews from people who complain they cant get access onto the property? I thank the hotel for not letting everyone up the mountain who wants to walk around without making a reservation first. The hotel website clearly states their rules, its unfortunate people dont read first, only complain. It states " Access to the grounds for the day is available if you have a dining reservation, a spa treatment or you purchase a grounds pass, which is $20 PP and $50 for families". I dont think that policy is unreasonable at all. Just reserve the Sunday Brunch which is fantastic and you will be able to enjoy the grounds alll day or reserve a day pass. You do not want to miss this spectacular hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

What a wonderful retreat. You don't have to lift a finger but sit back and relax and enjoy yourself. Steve and Miranda went to this place on their honeymoon on Sex and the City when it was on so you may have seen one of the mountain lodges. The place is really spectacular. The golf course is hilly but another distraction from the day to day grind.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I never made it past the front gate so this review is really just a heads-up for anyone who had the same intentions as myself - to view this magnificent structure (architecture appreciation!) but not check in. We went in winter, the hiking trails were closed. They stopped us at the gate - the only way we were getting through was if we were staying there or if we wanted to pay $63/person (pre-paid at the gate) for lunch. That was a bit more than I had in mind so we couldn't even go in to have a look. I DO understand why - to give the paying people some space and privacy - but I wish it had been made more clear on their website where they clearly have options for "day trips" that you would NOT be allowed unless you paid full price for the full lunch. (We were hoping for something lighter like coffee and a sandwich, not the full buffet, but that is not an option).
The Poor review is really more for not sharing this information on the website before I drove all the way there and for not giving an option for something less than a $63 buffet lunch (and I'm sure dinner is much more expensive). Fortunately the area is pretty enough that it didn't ruin the day.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We came here for a family reunion of sorts, and stayed in the back of the hotel looking over the lake. I loved this place! The food was good, the service was good, the room was comfortable, and the views were amazing. The trails and grounds are incredible. Checking in and out is a zoo, but we came during peak season.

Room Tip: face the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, NY
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were here the weekend of 2/10 - 2/12/2012 for the chocolate theme weekend. We had gabled room on the sixth floor with a great view of the lake. This was the first time that I had ever slept in a gabled room (very unique ceiling line). The check-in was handled smoothly and our luggage was brought right up to the room.

The room was in excellent condition. Everything worked and it was extremely clean. The first night at bedtime, we were greeted by a stuffed owl on the bed. My wife loved it.

The meals were gourmet quality. We have been on 20 cruises and have yet to see cuisine that matches what is served at Mohonk. Their dining room service is very professional. Dinner was sit down with a chocolate dessert buffet. Breakfast and Lunch buffet with the emphasis being on chocolate. The chocolate pancakes and french toast were outstanding.

We participated in a pool aerobics session which was very enjoyable.

The evening's entertainment the first night was a tiramisu preparation demo. Anthony one of the sous chefs did an marvelous job. The tiramisu was to die for.

The second night featured a band "The Chain Gang". They focus on songs from the 50s and 60s. We thoroughly enjoyed that and stayed for the entire evening.

Saturday morning we had a light snowfall which give the resort a very Currier and Ives type appearance.

Two more demos were done which involved creating a chocolate "sundae" (three types of chocolate desserts on a shell) and a chicken mole. Both were very nice.

One wing of the hotel is being renovated, but outside of the morning when the temperature reached 12 degrees, it really had no impact on guest services.

We thoroughly enjoy Mohonk and would recommend it to anyone looking to take a step back to another era of hotel elegance.

Room Tip: One side faces the countryside and the other one faces the lake. Most PR photos are taken over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The mohonk mountain house is an absolute gem in New York!
The rooms are absolutely beautiful and clean.
The 3 meals per day which were included in the price of the stay was absolutely outstanding.
The only drawback is it is alittle pricey.I hope to see a groupon discount soon.

Room Tip: The Tower suite is really designed for a couple only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohonk Mountain House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.