We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much cheaper...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
A TripAdvisor Member
“So much cheaper...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

This place isn't the greatest by far but it is still better than the super 8 in np. there prices are disgusting and people isn;t friendly. i would stay here anytime compared to that tragedy of a motel...

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    8
    9
    31
See reviews for
11
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2005

This place is next to a strip club! I couldnt believe it. The rooms are substandard at best, and the internet was not even working. When I booked the room I thought the rate ($130) was the standard for the area, but the next morning I went to the other properties in town and they were considerably less, the Super 8 was 89 and the Rodeway Inn was 109. Based on the cost, the substandard (outdated) rooms and the unhelpful staff I would not recommend this motel for a traveller.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

This place is an absolute dump. They charged my family and myself 125+tax for a room on a friday night. First of all the Internet didnt work, and te staff didnt know anything about the area ... they barely knew english. The room looked like a welfare house, with holes in the carpet, broken windows, and nasty odor. At night we actually were disturbed by a hooker from the EXOTIC DANCERS club next door. Apparently it was a hooker from next door. This is DEFINATELY not the place for a family to stay for the weekend due to the price, and the environment.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

This place is disgusiting. I cant belive they still call it an Econo Lodge. The rooms smell like mold. The bathrooms are like airlpane bathrooms only much, much more DIRTY! The staff was unwilling to take a formal complaint, I was not even asking for a discount, they did not even want to hear the comlpaint. What a terrible stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

My family stayed at this Econolodge when we moved my brother into his New Paltz dorm in August 2005. The building is 50 feet from a strip club, which made me feel pretty safe when climbing into bed. The room stank, the towels were ratty and stained, and there wasn't even an alarm clock. To boot, we had already booked it for two nights during Family Weekend in October, and when we tried to cancel one night for personal reasons, they refused, saying that weekend had a two-night stay minimum (at $109/night!) Don't go there...the Super 8's around the area are actually pleasant for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2005

We had a room that cost $143 - when we got there it was so unacceptable that we wanted to check out immediately (it was in a basement, there were bugs, it smelled, next the the kitchen there was evidence of mice)...only they would NOT give us our money back. We had to fight to get our money (they literally YELLED at us!!) and to top if off...they charged us $20 for using the bathroom in the room and wanted us to clean it!!!! They brought us a bucket with cleaning supplies to clean it ourselves even though they had already charged us. NOTE: My very clean friend peed and used the sink ONCE.

When we were going to take photos...that's when they got nervous and ushered us out.

DO NOT STAY THERE. We had a whole wedding party at the hotel and no one had a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2004

I stayed at the Econolodge on May 27th for one night. The room cost $75 and was completely substandard...not like a typical, clean Econolodge. First, it was like a ghost town..the only people there were the front desk worker and one cleaning person. Apparently, everyone else knows this hotel is terrible. The room smelled very strongly, the air conditioner was not working properly and was blowing smelly air around the room. The shower was dirty. The bed was rock hard. I was actually afraid to walk on the rug without shoes on or to turn out the lights for fear of bugs. I checked the bed for bugs several times and didn't find any, but that was not really any comfort. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 530 Main St., New Paltz, NY 12561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge New Paltz
Econo Lodge New Paltz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.