We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace of body, mind and soul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roots & Wings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roots & Wings
Save
You added Roots & Wings to your Saves list
P.O. Box 1081, 12 Ramah Lane, New Paltz, NY 12561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 New Paltz B&B and Inns
Gardiner, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peace of body, mind and soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

My stay at Roots & Wings brought me peace when city life overwhelmed me.The lovely , immaculate room,pristine setting and caring host, Puja, soothed my entire being...so much so that I moved to the New Paltz area myself! Today my grandson, cousins and friends report the same pleasure when they are guests at this charming , welcoming bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    7
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
24
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

There are moments when you need a time and place when and where to reflect and connect with your inner center. Roots and Wings provided that place for me...Nestled in nature, with the simplicity and quietness, away from pretentions and distractions that prevent that inner quest. I spent three wonderful and self nourishing days at Roots and Wings. Don't expect anyone to cook you breakfast; instead enjoy the best coffee with home made bread at your own pace. You may want to walk along the labyrinth or along the beautiful local scenery surrounded by the Shawangunk mountains, listen to the birds (you may even spot a little red bird outside the garden room window). Or you may want to go to the local eateries, catch up on your reading or simply get the best wellness massages from Puja...By the way, Puja is such lovely host!
It's amazing how much restoration you can get in three days, I was lucky to have found this hidden gem...I got more that I was looking for.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westchester NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

My partner and I had a pleasant stay at Roots and Wings. No surprises; only good ones. Beautiful grounds and views. Comfortable bed and nice clean homey environment. Quiet and serene.
Fresh cut flower and fresh basket of fruits on the table.
Hostess, Puja, welcomed us into her home and was accommodating. Very reasonable price too.
Mondana from Westchester NY

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2007

The host of Roots & Wings is a lovely woman, however, the B&B is a very unremarkable home. My room, which cost $130, did not contain a single charming piece of furniture or accessory. The room, and the whole floor of the house my room was on, was extremely casual. Again, nothing charming about it... not a single thing that I will remember. No prepared breakfast came with the room either... just a piece of sweet break, milk, cereal, and fruit left out for you. Again... for $140+ (including tax), I would expect a LOT more. The view of the mountain ranges, by the way, requires x-ray vision to view it through all the trees.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

This place was a real find. We're climbers/hikers, and finding a place in New Paltz that's affordable is difficult. Someone recommended Roots & Wings, B&B with just two guest rooms. It was a 10 min. drive from the cliffs and walking trails. Felt like being in someone's comfy home--not luxury, but all the amenities and beautiful views. Owner extremely gracious and helpful.

  • Liked — Location, home-like setting, price
  • Disliked — Bathroom is small
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roots & Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roots & Wings

Address: P.O. Box 1081, 12 Ramah Lane, New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roots & Wings is nestled at the foot of "The Gunks," cliffs famous for world-class rock climbing, in the Mid-Hudson Valley, 7 miles west of New Paltz, NY, 80 miles North of New York City and within easy access to public transportation and the NYS Thruway. Directions will be sent on registration. The Mountain Studio - A unique studio apartment with private bath, efficiency kitchen, queen loft bed and private deck, (specially created for your relaxation and healing) with views of farm pastureland and cliffs. Rates - $149. per night. Discounts available for stays of 4 days and longer. The Garden Room - a double bed, adjacent private bath and breakfast nook, patio; garden and woodland wildlife views from room, pasture & cliff views from patio. Rates - $135. per night. Discounts available for stays of 4 days and longer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots & Wings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.