We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Higher-Quality Bar Food & More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilded Otter Brewing Company

Gilded Otter Brewing Company
3 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1742
845-256-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 109 restaurants in New Paltz
Price range: $7 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
New Paltz, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Higher-Quality Bar Food & More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I like the Otter. It's clean, open, and well-lit (yay for unsheltered AND sheltered outdoor seating!), and it's a brewery, so it's better than your standard bar fare, both in selection and quality. Priced well, also.

Not too many vegetarian entrees options on the menu (three at most, if you don't count the salads), so I never went here regularly (gets boring), but I enjoyed it whenever I went. Good fries; better than the cheese curds on the menu. I've had the nachos and quesadilla appetizers also, which I liked as well. Typically swift and friendly service, and nice tee-shirt souvenir selection for out-of-towners. It's located in a nice spot, too--right across from Water Street Market (art, antiques, old-fashioned candy, coffee shop), and New Paltz in general is a nice walking town.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    47
    84
    45
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Dinner consisted of a beer, pizza and a cuban sandwich. Everything seemed a bit bland and boring. The descriptions and ingredient list looked great but unfortunately it lacked flavor. The service was spot on though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“IPA & WIT WERE EXCELLENT...FOOD IS GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beers were outstanding! Food was good...Had the House made Meatloaf. Nice blend of meats,was good but missing a little flavor. My wives Chipotle Pork Chops were very good.
Service was VG. Would go back for beer & burgers. The burgers looked good passing by.
Even had a good bar fight that we were able to watch from a distance!
Dinner & entertainment!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went for a quick dinner with my daughter. We both ordered angus cheeseburgers.The food arrived quickly, cooked to order and was very good. The burgers were tender and had the taste of angus beef, buns were toasted and the steak fries that are served with the burgers were crisp and hot. The only thing I would suggest is to season the fries when they come out of the fryer. There was no salt on them at all. The doors were open and a breeze came through the dining room on this spring day. Since I was driving and had a child with me it was nice that they have rootbeer on tap, that was enjoyable, although the beer selection sounded great....another time, on my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stopped here for a quick lunch while knocking about New Paltz on a beautifully (and unusually summerlike) spring day, and had a great lunch. Their beer selection is good, and they serve a sampler of in-house brews that are great.

Food was excellent as well, and they have outside dining when the weather's nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilded Otter Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Gilded Otter Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilded Otter Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.