We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilded Otter Brewing Company

Gilded Otter Brewing Company
3 Main St, New Paltz, NY 12561-1742
845-256-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 109 Restaurants in New Paltz
Price range: $7 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Farmingdale, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Definitely worth the stop in town, lots of fun! Nice selection of beer and the wings were a nice addtion

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    95
    55
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

i live in new paltz, so i've frequented many of the local bars/restaurants. the gilded otter has a cool vibe and decor. lots of micro brews, some local, and they change with the seasons. i've eaten there a few times over the years, and while i haven't had a bad meal, i was never overly impressed with the food there. it was adequate, but not fantastic. and i'm not a huge foodie either. the staff is very nice, and knowledgable about the beers they offer. overall a pretty good place, but personally if i was visiting in new paltz, this is not the place i would choose for dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and really enjoyed the Cuban sandwich and the bratwurst sandwich. Service was good and atmosphere was really good

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good beer and light fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good menu selection as well as local brewed beers. Service was prompt even though the restaurant was crowded. Friday night crowd and we were seated within minutes. Overall it is a safe choice for food, nothing spectacular, but good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
572 reviews 572 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Good pizza, great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We met up with a bunch of friends to tour the Hudson Distillery and when they had no spots, found the somewhat nearby brewery and stopped in for tasting and some lunch. I'm so glad we ended up changing our plans as the Gilded Otter was a great surprise. We all tried the tasting flight, which comes on a big wheel and has decent size samples (maybe 3 or 4 oz) of each beer they make (I think it was 9 total including 1 local cider, not made by them). I really enjoyed the Scottish style ale and ended up ordering two more. Everyone in our party seemed to find at least one kind they really liked as everyone ended up having two more as well.

We also ended up trying the pizza after seeing it was made from spend grains from the brewing. I didn't detect anything special or beer tasting, but it was a very good, fresh pizza.

Service was also excellent and was able to give us good information on the menu, and particularly the beer options. I was also very happy that while we sat drinking for hours, we never felt like they were trying to get us to leave.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilded Otter Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Gilded Otter Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilded Otter Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.