We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest at a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Mohonk Mountain House
1000 Mountain Rest Rd, New Paltz, NY 12561-2825
845-256-2056
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 109 Restaurants in New Paltz
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Guest at a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

As a guest at a wedding let me say this is a nice place. However - if your going just to walk the trail they apparently charge $20 a person during the week and $25 on the weekend per person at the gate. They also said if one does that they cant get into the 'house'. We asked while we were waiting at the gate to get in. If your going by GPS it guides you to the gate, there is a few more miles before you reach the building, Its beautiful for sure. The gal helping with the wedding was very rude at times. The wedding started more them 30 minutes late, not sure if that was the brides fault or what. The room the bride has was very small and a step down so not good for people that are disabled. The grooms room must have been located where the pitch in the roof was the celling was very low at some points and Im sure a lot of heads hit it! The gardens were beautiful, very colorful, theres a lake but not a huge one, golf too. The place felt like the movie dirty dancing lol. Food was not impressive to me. We didnt spend any money but I hear its expensive to stay the night and meals are just as expensive.

if it was not for the wedding Im sure we would not have visited.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    18
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basalt, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My friend and I book to stay for a few nights. All I can say is this Its wonderful,its like steping back in time. In my bedroom I had a fire place,old world charm
The meals are delicious and the view from the balconie"Took my breath away" I hope to go back

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

service was a little slow, but that's ok- no one there is in a rush! The breakfast was better since it was self-serve buffett.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“High quality food, well-prepared.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. We enjoyed it greatly. It is pricey to stay here, but we enjoyed our time here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

First visit a few years ago was a day pass to hike up to the hilltop. We walked for hours, had a few cookies, and took many great pictures.

We returned a few months later for dinner to celebrate a birthday. Dinner was perfect - the staff, the giant dining room, even the 2 mile drive from the road to the mountain house is spectacular.

Our next visit was to book Mohonk for our wedding. Later, we stayed the night - exactly one year before our wedding day - just to get a feel for the weather and the pace at that time of year (early November). Again, everything was perfect. We tried AND LOVED THE SPA so we planned to go back again the day after our wedding.

Dinner again, once, and several visits for tasting, making decisions about the ceremony, etc, before the wedding. Always, beginning the moment the greeter at the entrance emerges from the gatehouse to find out who you are and check their list for your name, until you get your keys back from the valet or are saying good bye to them if you parked yourself, Mohonk feels like a different world, uniquely classic and elegant.

Our wedding was out-of-this-world spectacular. We're going back for our first anniversary. We'll go back for dinner and a visit, or the spa, anytime we get the chance. The cost to stay the night is not affordable, but the value is in spending a little extra for a nicer room and to time it right. Facebook and email deals come out frequently though, so we usually save at least 25-30%. They'll extend offers, too, if you call during the day.

Mohonk is my favorite place to visit, stay, eat, and/or spa. I love this place! Everyone should stay a night.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mohonk Mountain House also viewed

 

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohonk Mountain House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.