We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO YUMMY!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village TeaRoom

Village TeaRoom
10 Plattekill Avenue, New Paltz, NY
845-255-3434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 111 Restaurants in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
holbrook
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SO YUMMY!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

A friend recommended the Village Tea Room for lunch and we were not disappointed! We had soup of the day and sandwiches which were fresh and delicious. We also had tea and desserts. This is a perfect place for a light meal. We ate outside on the deck in the sunshine. It was a real delight. We will definitely dine here again!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cozy, tasty indoor and outdoor eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Wide variety of delicious selections including large and small plates. Great deserts (can easily be shared).. Nearly everything is made from local and organic ingredients.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Little Gem in New Platz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I will preface this review by stating that u have never had dinner here, only after dinner dessert and tea, and lunch. The food is exceptional. Once I had a dry cookie here and mediocre service, but the food is worth it. Their lamb pies (during lunch) are fairly priced and generous in portion. My favorite is the Dingle Pie lunch and their Cochin masala tea.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawangunk
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service is ruining this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Waitstaff is terrible and it is such a shame. The food is interesting and fresh. The waitresses are disinterested and rude. Very unhelpful.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“OK food, bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We went here for brunch with friends who have been here before and enjoyed it. My wife and I both ordered the Ploughman’s Lunch, which is $16 and comes with an appetizer, meal, dessert, and tea. About five minutes after we ordered the meal, the server comes with our tea and lets us know that the lamb pie, that was part of our meal is out of stock, so we have to order something else. What she failed to inform us of, is that by ordering something else, everything that we had ordered is now going to be charged separately. So our meals went from being $16 to being $30 each. The food we did get wasn't bad, but my wife's Grilled Cheese Sandwich was way overpriced at $15. The desserts were good overall. Just beware going to brunch on Sundays, since they are out of alot of menu items and will not substitute for them. I will most likely not be coming back any time soon.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village TeaRoom also viewed

 

Been to Village TeaRoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village TeaRoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.