We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, tranquil stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Ghost Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Paltz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Ghost Guest House
35 Cragswood Road, New Paltz, NY 12561   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 New Paltz B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful, tranquil stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The positive reviews by others all describe what is so special here. We would add: Petra and Mike's hospitality is special. We felt both as guests in their home and friends with the other visitors to the extent we wanted but also priviate to the extent we wanted. Petra takes extraordinary care to solicit information and to respect any special dietary needs. We loved: the quiet; the best sleep since we can't remember when; the breakfasts; the outdoor shower; and walking on the rail trail (just down the road). For walkers: The walk into New Paltz is about 90 minutes almost entirely on a shaded path closed to motorized traffic. And we were able to order dinner in when we didn't want to walk or cab into town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The quiet atmosphere of the woods is enough to relax the most stressful of souls. Petra, the innkeeper is a true delight harboring a wealth of information concerning local cuisine and activities. Not only will the vegan breakfast fill your belly, but it will nourish your soul and put guests in the kind of positive frame of mind that makes for a great start to the day. Highly reccomend to anyone that not only wants peace but also peace of mind.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppetraj, Owner at Hungry Ghost Guest House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
thanks for your review. I am so happy that you had a nice visit. I know htat you came a long way to be here and that New Paltz holds a special place in your memories. Please visit next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I just can't stop raving about our weekend at the Hungry Ghost Guest House! It was everything we hoped for and more! Petra has truly created an environment of peace and tranquility that at the same time supports a feeling of invigoration and inspiration.

Our stay was more like being a guest in Petra and Michael's home than anything else I could compare it to!

Here's what you'll find at Hungry Ghost:

- Gorgeous home, beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained
- Three comfortable bedrooms with luxury linens
- Peaceful, tranquil setting
- Delicious and nutritious breakfasts
- Hot tub on the deck with deer browsing in the background
- Shady porch with wicker furniture and comfy cushions
- Restful hammock overlooking the pond
- Crickets and cicadas to sing you to sleep at night

Hungry Ghost Guest House seems to attract bright, active, health-conscious people who are interested in sharing information. Although we're not usually very gregarious, we found ourselves engaged in fascinating conversations throughout the weekend, with Petra and Michael as well as the other guests. For example, one breakfast conversation revolved around nutrition, yoga, sports (including running and swimming), five-finger running shoes and the activities that everyone had planned for the day. Of course, conversations will vary based upon who comes to breakfast!

Petra is a compendium of information about the local area, including restaurants (where to get gluten-free and/or vegan food) and interesting activities (such as hiking or biking opportunities nearby). Based upon Petra's recommendations, we enjoyed the Walkway over the Hudson and hiked up to Skytop overlooking the Mohonk Mountain House. There's so much to do, we have to go back!

Thanks so much, Petra and Michael!
Catherine and Oscar

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at Hungry Ghost. We selected the location due to its close proximity to great hiking and New Paltz town (which is very vegan-friendly). As vegans, we enjoyed Petra's delicious and creative breakfasts. Her meals are also gluten-free, and the fresh produce was mostly local and organic. The house is beautiful and equipped with everything to make you feel comfortable during your stay. The hosts, Petra and Mike, were friendly and extremely helpful. The atmosphere was relaxed and peaceful, allowing guests privacy. Petra provided us with maps and suggestions for hiking trails and places to eat. We enjoyed the hot tub under the stars one evening, and it was soothing after a long day of hiking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room....perfect for a couple. However, the hallway bathroom is shared with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Petra and Mike were lovely hosts and have an amazing house that they open up to guests. The shared bathroom was not a problem and there was an enclosed outdoor shower that was amazing! Every morning Petra served a delicious breakfast (and I also ordered packed lunches that were delicious!) I would have loved to stay here longer, definately planning a return trip.
They also teaches Total Immersion swimming at the house downstairs in an endless pool.

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to the bathroom, Room 2 is a little further away, Room 3 is upstairs and you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I brought my partner here for a brief stay to celebrate her birthday, and was not sure what to expect. We were seeking a getaway that was vegan-friendly and far away from NYC both in distance and spirit. Set 500 feet back from the road in the woods, this beautiful home was exactly what we were looking for, and exceeded our expectations. The house is impeccably clean and comfortable, and the back deck overlooks a pond and the woods beyond. There's a hot tub and an outdoor shower, and the rooms are well-kept and cozy, with bathrobes and flip-flops available for each guest. The owners were warm and welcoming and made sure we were comfortable at all times, and together they have built (and maintain) a very relaxed and peaceful atmosphere in the home. I could not have been any more pleased with the level of comfort and care, and I hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Hungry ghost with good friends and had a wonderful, relaxing and delightful time. The house, hosts, view and ambiance were fabulous. Photos do not do justice of the lovely gardens and exterior of the house, nor the beautifully decorated interior. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hungry Ghost Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Ghost Guest House

Address: 35 Cragswood Road, New Paltz, NY 12561
Location: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in New Paltz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Ghost Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hungry Ghost Guest House to your Saves list