We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn New Hartford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn New Hartford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn New Hartford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1777 Burrstone Road, New Hartford, NY 13413   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Hartford
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macedon, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lacking.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reasonably priced. "Soft" pillows were fantastic. Huge bathroom. That's it. Trip Advisor shows "Free Breakfast" for up to 2 adults sharing a room. We were told we had to pay for breakfast. I am a loyal IHG member. I was greeted as such when checking in, but no IHG gift as I'm accustomed to receiving. The heater/air conditioner was OFF when got into our room at 10:30 PM on 27 degree night (November 14) Room was freezing. Had to turn on the heater until room was warm then dial it back at midnight. Turned it to midpoint of hot and cold to go to sleep. Woke up at 3AM sweating it was so hot in there. Not impressed at all. Checking out, I notified the guy at the front desk and he said he'd "have maintenance look into it". No apology or sense of remorse. Will not be staying at this Holiday Inn again. First unpleasant Holiday Inn experience ever! They strive for your stay to be "The best stay ever"....they missed by freezing us out right off the bat.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda1777, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New Hartford, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. I apologize that it was not the best stay. I have spoken to the housekeeping manager in regards to making sure that the heat is turned on for the rooms that will be occupied, and I have also spoken with the front desk associates in regards to the welcome that you should have received being a valued IHG rewards member. I hope that if you do return to the Utica area in the future you will give a chance to show you that we can and that we will do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utica, NY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Had my baby shower here in October, food was excellent. Unfortunately, the sole server for my shower was incredibly rude to myself and my family. Numerous times. My family and I tried to not let it ruin our day, but something as simple as asking for our empty water pitchers to be refilled should not have been such a battle. We asked for the pitchers to be refilled half-way through the three hour shower, and they never were. I worked in this hotel years ago as a sales manager, and while I was happy to see the food and décor are still great, it was upsetting to deal with such a rude employee. I will no longer recommend this hotel for people's events, as I asked for a manager to contact me regarding this situation, and no one has despite the fact that it has been weeks since my shower. What a shame. Hopefully the management of this hotel will not respond to this deplorable service with simply a trip advisor response, but with an actual phone call or email. They have my contact information after all! I do not believe a simple, "We are sorry to hear of your experience and will re-train our staff on customer service, etc." will cut it here. Two stars because a one star would be un-fair to those who prepared the food.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda1777, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New Hartford, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Kristen,
Thank you for letting us know and I will have Chris contact you as soon as she can.

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Hartford hotels

Westchester, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This hotel is convenient, pleasant and reasonably priced. It was clean and the beds were very good. It could use some updating but overall, it is better than most other places in the area. Staff was pleasant and helpful. They will also permit dogs. Was also very quiet. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Think all jars good except rooms away from lobby don't have easy access to elevators and will ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda1777, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New Hartford, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a wonderful stay with us and we are happy to here that you will be back. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

the hotel is in very good condition...all new furnishings...and that is the end of the good news.....when you arrive the doors pull out...making it very difficult to negotiate luggage coming in....the room....no microwave or fridge.....in the bathroom the only plug was on the far wall....making it impossible to blow dry my hair...yet there is a phone jack next to the mirror?????...rm 108.....when we checked in I went to take a shower immediately and found soap and shampoo from the previous guest in the shower....when I called to report my disgust...I was told by the mgr that he could give us another room close by to take a shower....NOT the response I expected .I was not shuffling back and forth to get ready for dinner,,,,....I question the cleanliness here....restaurant is sub par for breakfast....pricey and poor service....no coffee available in the lobby!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda1777, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New Hartford, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Our sincere apologies for the recent experience you had with us. Cleanliness and condition is something we take great pride in and we’re extremely disappointed to learn of what occurred during your visit. Responding to guests needs is another area we usually excel in, so I will address the specifics of your claim in detail with the appropriate departments immediately to ensure we maintain our high standards of service and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I used to work for the company that owned this hotel and one of my former employees is the housekeeping manager here. They have maintained the service and quality of the previous owners and that makes me proud. The room was clean, the desk staff friendly and the housekeepers were very friendly as well. Only stayed one night this trip but I still enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Suite rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We typically don't stay at Holiday Inns (other than HI Express occasionally) so I expected that this one would be rather old and tired based on some of the other reviews, and our most recent experience with the chain about twelve years ago. Fortunately, this hotel exceeded our expectations in many ways.

The property was in great condition outside and inside. Check-in was fast and courteous. Our room was clean and everything worked properly, and it seemed recently renovated. Both beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. Walking through the halls, I never saw anything out of place, and the restaurant and meeting rooms appeared to be in good condition as well.

Staff were always pleasant and helpful. When we needed to return to our room at 1:00 before it had been cleaned, the housekeeper had no problem leaving the room she was working on and finishing ours in about 15 minutes. Anyone else we encountered in the hotel was always smiling and friendly.

The outdoor pool was attractive and seemed to have been redone fairly recently as well. My daughter said the water was cold, but other than that it met our needs. It's completely surrounded by the hotel, so it's private, although room windows look out on it. The weights and machines in the fitness center all worked and were clean. The fitness center's TV got over a hundred stations as well as several radio stations.

The secure wifi worked sometimes, and when it did not, the unsecure wifi did, so we never had problems connecting our phones or laptop. It was always fast enough.

My only complaint is that the rooms lack a refrigerator and microwave. It's disappointing that, in 2014, I know that I'll find both in almost any Super 8 or Microtel or other budget chain, but not at a Holiday Inn. Hopefully management will comment on this, but I suspect that they're concerned that guests with these appliances may not be as likely to visit the hotel restaurant. We didn't go to the hotel restaurant--Utica has many outstanding local independent restaurants a short drive away--but since we had brought some perishable food with us, it would have been very helpful to have been able to keep it in something more substantial than a small cooler with ice.

If we return to Utica, we'll probably try another hotel next time, but we would not hesitate to book here at all if our first choice is unavailable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I waa charged for breakfast lol room was nice, clean, updated and staff was friendly im writing this a couple of months later i hope its the right one, only stayed for 1 night and i would stay here again

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn New Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New Hartford

Address: 1777 Burrstone Road, New Hartford, NY 13413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in New Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New Hartford 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn New Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Hartford Hotel New Hartford
New Hartford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn New Hartford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.