We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very.... Average....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Cavallo's Restaurant

Tom Cavallo's Restaurant
40 Genesee Street, New Hartford, NY
315-735-1578
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 80 restaurants in New Hartford
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Utica, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very.... Average....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My biggest complaint about this place, besides their mediocre at best food, is the NOISE. It is sooo noisy! Doesn't matter if you sit in the front or the back! The back used to be more family oriented (since the bar is in the front), but now with the addition of yet another bar on their new deck off to the side, the back suffers from having to deal with the bar crowd going in and out and parading between the bars right through the middle of the restaurant! The prices are pretty pricey for poor quality in service and painstaking atmosphere you have to put up with. Definitely not a nice night out anymore. I'm surprised they still bother calling themselves a restaurant - definitely more of a night scene. On that note, it is a nice night scene for the area. I do enjoy the deck and there's nothing comparable to the cigar bar in this area. I don't mind drinking here, but you will never catch me eating here again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    13
    16
    8
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utica NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We ate here for lunch today - had stuffed haddock and potato skins for appetizer -- the service was wonderful -- the food even better -- both my daughter and I were more than happy with the experience -- better than the average here in Utica NY -- much more than a wings joint -- this was a really fine dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Wings in Utica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The title says it all: best wings in Utica! I don't lick my fingers often, but at Cavallo's, I make an exception.
The wings are fresh, hot, and made just the way you ask for them.
Beer selection is pretty good with some nice craft beers and imports.
Prices are reasonable for the amount of food provided.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home Town Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a comfortable home town atmosphere. People go there to meet and have a drink. Food is average but affordable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, New York, United States
1 review
“great deck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

we had both our sons graduation parties on the deck, what a great atmosphere regardless of the weather...the staff was super accomodating and the food was great...both events made memorable with the help of Noell and her staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Cavallo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tom Cavallo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Cavallo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.