We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
60 Genesee Street, New Hartford, NY 13413
315-507-5155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 83 Restaurants in New Hartford
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is wonderful! Because we did not have any experience with Indian dishes, our server asked which we prefer--beef or chicken. We chose chicken and our server took it from there! He brought a wonderful appetizer and two entrees. Delicious and wonderfully fragrant. He then surprised us with dessert--also wonderful. The price is more than reasonable. Don't pass this great restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Home food out side home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I am a regular to this place. The buffet during the weekdays is good but not excellent. They do not have buffet during the night. À la carte is the option.
During week ends they do have buffet which is costlier by a dollar or so, this is because they have Lamb instead of a chicken curry.
The best item I found is the chicken curry, which complements my taste bud. Also the Tandoori Chicken and the Tandoori Naan are good.
My friend always gave me mixed response when I asked about the restaurant, probably because everyone has different taste choices.
"Take away" is also available here. So one day if you do not feel like cooking at home, you can try them. Stuff are really friendly and treats you nicely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food here is very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Authentic Indian food - Halal as well -- very delicious, service good, one of my favorites - they have a tasty inexpensive luncheon buffet as well as a dinner menu - take out and delivery are also offered

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Indian food in central NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The food is great, and the price is great! If you and your family are looking for good Indian food and nice service check out Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant. I am German so I didn't think I would like Indian food until I took a bit of food from Taj!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.