We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roots Cafe

Roots Cafe
197 North Main Street, Naples, NY
(585) 374-9800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Naples
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

When we first looked at the limited menu we were a bit skeptical. We were seated outside on the porch and the waiter told us about the specials which sounded excellent. We opted for the flat bread special, the ravioli (elk meat!) and a burger. Everything was delicious and well prepared. Definitely give it a try for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not So Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We ate at Roots recently and found it to be okay at best. The building is very nice tucked back in to a vineyard directly on the Main Street. If your into organic "rooty" type foods you'll probably going to like it. If that's not your thing you might want to steer clear. Because the menu was limited I opted for a burger which I never order for dinner. I was asked how I would like it cooked and answered rare to medium rare. The burger was server well done. My feeling is when dare to offer burgers on your dinner menu, you better know the difference between rare and well done.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk to this restaurant . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Wonderful imaginative menu. We shared a light early supper before going to the Bristol Valley Theatre. The meal consisted of beet ravoli with beautiful red strips on the deep fried dough and crab cake with shredded sweet potato mixed into the crab filling. Dessert was a heavenly cobbler -- blueberries and blackberries between delicious maple-flavored dough. And, of course, whipped cream on top.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I eat at Roots about once a month. The food is always carefully prepared and delicious. Organic, for the most part. Portions are generous. The burgers are thick and juicy (grass fed beef) and the fries fresh and made the way you want them. Ask for crispy. The soup I tried this time (black bean and chorizo) was very tasty, and the "cup" was the size of a small bowl. The menu does change so you can always try something new.The service is always friendly and pleasant. This is the best dining "experience" in Naples. You will not be rushed, but also don't expect fast service. Relax and enjoy. The restaurant is a converted old house, so every room is different and the tables, etc. are an eclectic lot. Pricey by local standards, but the food is "big city" quality...you get more than you pay for. (They do take Visa) The Imagine More Winery is in an adjacent building if you are so inclined to do some tasting.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Atmospheric Local Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We're always looking for something new that serves fresh, top of the season foods. We found another winner at Roots Cafe, attached to the Imagine Moore Winery in Naples. The building is a restored Italianate farmhouse from the 1800s, now painted in eye-popping colors. It grabs your attention, as does the food.
The chef has a great eye for color and balance of favors as well, blending the old, the new and the slightly outré in a series of well executed dishes. Appetizer curried sweet potato soup had a nice kick and contrast with the bits of roasted red pepper.A lamb and feta ravioli with colorful sautéed beet greens and diced tomato was as beautiful to look at as tasty to eat. The organic local beef burger was topped with a brilliant magenta cabbage slaw, and the foil of crispy fresh cut fries was perfection as well.
Service was pleasant and attentive. The chairs were comfortable, and the porch a pleasant place to watch the world go by on a rainy evening.
The weak point in this overall great dining experience was, ironically, the wine list. I guess a winery's restaurant would generally only serve their wines, but Imagine Moore wines can't really match the complexity of the food. I also felt $6 a glass for a captive audience was pushing it. Next time I'll drink water, or perhaps a beer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Roots Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.