We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Storm King Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Storm King Lodge
Save
You added The Storm King Lodge to your Saves list
100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Storm Kung Lodge B&B in Mountainvilli, New York, was a very pleasant gem that is best experienced than read about. During our visit, Hal Janks, our host, was soloing as his wife, Gay, was out of town on family business. Hal was gracious, accommodating and very friendly. As we were the ONLY guest and thus had the whole B&B to ourselves our experience may not be typical. The warm "welcome home" atmosphere of the place was only eclipsed by our host who we found helpful (pointing out the better places to eat in the area), informative (giving us an historical overview of the lodge) and culinarily skilled (preparing a custom requested breakfast that was both delicious in taste AND presentation)

Our room featured a working fire place, which we took full advantage of and which just added to the magic of our stay. The bed was very comfortable but not typical hotel memory foam soft and the grounds were beautiful and well maintained. Karen and I are already looking forward to our next visit to the Storm King lodge B&B,

Karen & Jim

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    32
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We had a marvelous time at this lovely bed & breakfast. The room was charming and comfortable, and the common area was spacious and homey. Hal, the proprietor, anticipated our every need. Reading material and snacks were available, and the made-to-order breakfast was delicious. Hal was great company and directed us to the many restaurants and attractions in the area. This property is in a breathtakingly beautiful area in the Hudson Valley, just the right place for our cozy fall/winter getaway. Thanks Hal, we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

Hal and his wife have been wonderful host, charming, helpful and welcoming !
The house is magnificent, breakfast is amazing ! Nice fireplaces in each room make it very nice place to stay during winter ! If you are luck you will even have a little piano and trombone concert ! Don't forget to leave a nice message in the visitors book.
Great place, great hosts !

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We hoped for a first-class experience, judging from the many rave reviews. But from beginning to end this place was underwhelming. Starting from the first interaction with Hal (described by one reviewer as "multi-talented, generous, entertaining") whom we also found somewhat creepy, moving to the rather eccentric common room, we were initially not sure who was actually in charge. We were immediately asked if we minded bugs -- they had an infestation of Asian Stink Bugs and we were apparently expected to accept this as a given. When we got to the room there were many of these and as fast as we killed them more appeared. The room was not especially nice (even though we were one of only two couples there), with ill-fitting doors, an indifferent shower and -- it soon became evident -- holes in the window closing mechanisms that allowed bugs to enter. These holes, due to bad maintenance, had obviously been there for some time. On pointing out the bugs, Hal successfully applied some potion to kill them. As for breakfast, we were given a take-it-or-leave-it time, but Hal was even 15 minutes late for that. The breakfast was adequate. One nice touch was a fridge with sodas and beers for the guests.

Overall, the place did not look well-maintained, and when we checked out we were not offered any compensation for the pest infestation. I didn't try to haggle; I just wanted to get out of there.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in the Lodge. We did not see the others on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Granted it was during the week but there were no other guests, no one to greet us and overall found the experience to be somewhat creepy. Breakfast was haphazard, including making your own coffee. While close to Storm King Art Center, which is amazing, I would keep driving to find something a little more cozy and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

My husband and I had never stayed in a B & B before last weekend. We were attending a class reunion and celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary, so we decided to try something different. Wow! The Storm King Lodge offered us a unique opportunity to experience beautiful surroundings both inside the lodge and out on the grounds. We enjoyed every minute of our stay - The breakfasts were very good, the accommodations were quite comfortable and hospitality was extraordinary. We would not hesitate to recommend the place to others nor to return to the Storm King Lodge ourselves for another visit. Thanks, Hal!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We spent a night at Storm King and enjoyed it immensely. Very interesting refurbished barn (at one time). There were four rooms in the main house and then an unattached cottage. Our room was pleasant, comfortable with a good view. The location is convenient to West Point, Storm King Center and other sites. The drives through the area are great. Hal, our host, is a delightful man - full of personality, insight and mirth. He was a big help in directions to restaurants etc. Hal cooks a great breakfast. Great outside porch.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and you can hear early morning creaking from upstairs if they are early b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Storm King Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.