We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Storm King Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mountainville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Storm King Lodge
Save Saved
You added The Storm King Lodge to your Saves list
100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Storm King Lodge was a relaxing getaway for me and my boyfriend this spring. It's located a short drive north of New York City and conveniently near other fun "getaway" activities like hiking and horseback riding. Our room at the inn was cozy: an antique double bed, renovated bathroom, and backyard view. Not fancy, but quaint and clean. We lit the fireplace in our room and enjoyed a few of the complimentary beers (!) and refreshments provided. Very relaxing. The innkeeper recommended a Tuscan restaurant for dinner, Cena 2000, located a short drive away on the Newburgh waterfront. It was delicious! In the morning we ate breakfast with another couple staying at the inn. The innkeeper and his wife were both very chatty and welcoming, and the breakfast was tasty and quick. I would go back.

Room Tip: Get one with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

We had such a pleasant stay at the Storm King Lodge. It was right off the highway but seemed like miles off the beaten path. Its location was central to the Newburgh Waterfront, Storm King, Beacon, and Woodbury Commons, enabling us to cover a lot of ground on our day off. It took less than an hour from NJ and was under $200.

The host was gracious and very friendly, and cooked us a delicious breakfast. We will definitely return when it gets warmer so we can check out that beautiful pool!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for Columbus weekend October 2011. I highly recommend this place if you like the following: small cramped rooms (owner likes to cite the views: few if any rooms have views of anything). One special extra not mentioned on website is that your room will get infested by the garden's bugs as ours did (one couple had as many as 100+ such bugs on the floor and in the bed and had to depart early: the couple paid and fled). The owner gladly vacuumed up the bugs for us and then charged us full price for the privilege of his fine accommodations. Also if you like being shoehorned and cajoled by insincere Midwestern charm and waiting endlessly for homemade breakfast while aforementioned owner bullies ("trains") his inexperienced staff then this is your kind of B&B. Otherwise, take your hard-earned elsewhere and enjoy your time near Storm King.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My mother is handicapped, and it's not easy to find a B&B with a first floor room with twin beds. Thus, we could not stay in one of the larger, nicer rooms at Storm King Lodge. Our room was tiny, there was barely enough space to put our suitcases, and the closet was behind the door out, and doubled as a storage closet. And the $180 (tax included) per night did seem a bit excessive. That said, the lodge itself is lovely, very old but well kept, as are the grounds. The main area is huge, high ceilinged, and full of interesting objets, with a big fireplace and a porch area that looks out over gorgeous scenery. Hal, our host, was very helpful and generous, especially with breakfast, considering we were the only people there. He made challah french toast just for me, and I also had a lovely fruit plate and good granola. He was also very helpful with directions and recommendations of where to eat and sightsee. Cold Springs, on the east side of the Hudson, was just what we were looking for: quaint, full of interesting shops and restaurants. He is a retired trombonist who used to play with the Metropolitan Opera, and interesting to talk to.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Peach room unless you need first floor with twins. Other rooms looked fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We LOVED the property and its surrounding tranquility! Hal and Gay were very accommodating, especially considering the SNOWTOBER event!!! Breakfast was very enjoyable and our room with a fireplace was cozy. Loved their dogs!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We like SKL so much after the first visit we went back for our Anniversary weekend. Hal and Gay are wonderful hosts and went out of their way to make the weekend special. The veranda overlooks the spacious lawn and is a wonderful place to sit with your morning coffee and enjoy the view. The pool was nice but needed skimming. I'm sure if we spoke up and said something they would have jumped on it.

There is lots to do in the area. We highly recommend the Sculpture Garden at the Storm King Art Center. Just over the Hudson River is Dea Beacon with some amazing art exhibitions. The town of Beacon is a great place to walk around and discover a restaurant. Then there's shopping at the Woodbury Commons outlet which is just down the street. From SKL, all of the Hudson Valley is at your fingertips.

The inn is an easy drive from NYC. A weekend getaway at SKL is highly recommended. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lavendar room for both visits. The shower is a little small but the room is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I was stopping off overnight, midweek, on a drive from Vermont to NYC. Found SKL on Tripadvisor at the last minute. It is only one hour to NYC/NJ. What a great result. 250 year old barn, with excellent bedrooms, biggest lounge/dining in the world too and friendly hosts. Gay & Hal really made me feel at home. Great breakfast too. I will definately return for a longer stay with my wife. Never got to try out the massive pool. That can wait til next time. John-from-Sydney-AU

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Storm King Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Storm King Lodge

Address: 100 Pleasant Hill Road, P.O. Box 3, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY
Location: United States > New York > Cornwall > Mountainville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mountainville
Also Known As:
The Storm King Hotel Mountainville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Storm King Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;