We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect outdoor experience, tempered by a strict, hyper-vigilant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Storm King Art Center

Storm King Art Center
Old Pleasant Hill Rd, Mountainville, Cornwall, NY 10953
845 534 3115
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Art Museums, Parks, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park's 400 acres include more than 120 sculptures, 13 by American master David Smith.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Perfect outdoor experience, tempered by a strict, hyper-vigilant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Storm King is one of the most unique art venues in world, offering space for large-scale art to be framed by nature. To enjoy a day here you need not be either a fan of contemporary art or a nature-lover; rather, a visit here will make you both. The expansive grounds offer seclusion and hours of peaceful wandering to allow you to appreciate the art and landscape from multiple angles.

The cost is reasonable and location convenient. However, there are unnecessarily strict regulations enforced by friendly by firm and ever-vigilant staff, resulting in tangible air of museum-level security. A more welcoming, open, relaxed environment would add considerably to the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    64
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Storm King Art Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you live in New York City, you should definitely take a day trip to Storm King Art Center. A park full of brilliant artists ranging from Roy Lichtenstein, Donald Judd, Eduardo Paolozzi, to Gerald Walburg. It will leave you mesmerized. The sculptures are situated in different settings surrounded by forests, lakes, mountains, and other landscapes. It is a nice area to have a picnic and cool beverage to relax and view the scenery from above. Keep in mind to wear comfortable shoes :)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Worth a trip. Being on 500 acres, things are bit a more spread out than I would like, but there is the tram. Having the restaurant so far from the visitors center didn't make sense to me. Would have been nice if the visitors center was properly air conditioned. Surprised the tram cars didn't have any door closure, especially with kids aboard. If you like this place you should also visit The Grounds for Sculpture in NJ. http://www.groundsforsculpture.org/

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A fabulous day with nature and art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We've lived for decades within striking distance of Storm King, but visited for the first (not the last, for sure) time. The fields, vistas, and sculpture are breathtaking. We took the tram and then walked around some of the installations - a bright blue sky and lots of sunshine were welcome accompaniments to the general experience, though a cloudy or snowy version would have been equally enjoyable. We happened to arrive along with the cicadas and their "music" was somehow also welcome - perhaps because of the reminder that Mother Nature is capable of monumental impact as well. She worked in close concert with the artists to produce an unforgettable experience at Storm King that day, for sure.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoors sculptures in a breathtaking setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came here since we were going to Woodstock NY nearby. I am a big fan of Andy Goldsworthy, environmental artist from England. He has his work on display and I was not disappointed. The setting is so right. Not only his work but for all the artists...the curator should be commended (both now and in the past) for placing the works in the perfect locations. Due to the time constraint we were not able to traverse the whole place, just the South Meadow. Next visit I will plan on a full day. It was a warm day and if I would have one issue would be more water fountains! It is a long trek so bring good walking shoes, a camera and even a set of binoculars to see the works from a different perspective.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Storm King Art Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storm King Art Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.