We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, immaculate and comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining

Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining
Save Saved
You added Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining to your Saves list
5355 Route 212, Mount Tremper, NY 12457   |  
Hotel amenities
Rio Hondo, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, immaculate and comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our first anniversary weekend getaway. Mt. Tremper is conveniently located between Woodstock and Phoenicia and alongside Esopus Creek. We are not fans of your typical B&B -- awkward breakfast conversations with strange people, thin bedroom walls, etc. The rooms at the Catskill Rose each have their own small porch and entry; there is no common space unless you count the restaurant/garden, which were closed during our stay in late April. My husband did not get cell phone reception (AT&T) and I was able to make phone calls with mine (Sprint). The rooms are immaculate -- a large, comfortable bed greets you and there is a small dining table for two with a basket of fruit. You have a spacious dresser and TV/stand, a coffee maker, a small fridge and a microwave with plates and silverware and coffee cups. The bathrooms are clean with a shower only. They also provide you with shampoo/shower gel and hand soap via dispensers on the walls. The internet connection was spotty at best. We were allowed to check in an hour early or so and the fridge contained several tasty scones that we ate for breakfast the next morning before a hike. The owners were not around for check-out, but we were able to drop off our keys. Because of the location, the cleanliness, the comfort and the privacy, we would certainly consider staying here again! We would also recommend a trip to nearby Phoenicia -- while you're there, check out Brio's! Large portions and tasty food!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I value comfort and cleanliness above all when I stay away from home, and the Catskill Rose exceeded all of my expectations. The bed was so comfy, and the pillows were incredibly comfortable. The room and bathroom were impeccably clean, and the bathroom was very roomy. Then there was the food---absolutely some of the best food I've ever eaten (dinner) and the scones for breakfast were divine. Also, the location is perfect. Finally, Peter was a wonderful host.

Room Tip: We stayed in room No. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I went to the catskills looking for a nice place to spend some days with my husband, we wanted to ski, hike and spend some nights together, and we made the best decision when decided to stay at the catskills rose, we had the best time ever! the catskill rose is a beautiful, quiet and very clean place. We had fresh fruit and delicious scones in the morning! Dinner is cooked by peter and rose so everything is fresh and delicately done. The room was fantastic and to stay here you dont need a car, although it might be useful you can still move by bus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here the weekend of the Woodstock film festival for our anniversary. We found the place very quiet and peaceful amongst all the craziness of the surrounding town festivals. The lack of cell phone service only made us relax and sleep better truly disconnecting. The room was great...much better than the photos...It was very modern, clean and had everything we wanted. Sure it had Ikea updates, but a welcome relief to the rustic hodgepodge crap on its last leg in nearby mildew mansions and cabin cabanas we tried. We ate a late dinner in the small restaurant here. Smoked duck, swordfish, good wine selection and other treats...it was all great and we were treated like kings and ate like pigs :). The in-room coffee and scones were perfect for us and let us enjoy staying there longer in the morn...chilling out...I dont know what the previous reviewer was griping about.. they were delicious.. and Yes our bed was soft..and comfortable, unless you dont like comfort?....we had a great time and found some peace here. Will visit again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed one night during the week. It's very well priced. I was not comfortable here. The bed was too soft and the TV shelves were dusty. My guess is that it was furnished from IKEA. The owners live overhead and I could here them at night. I gave this place an average because it's not awful and it is priced well for something in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

This place has definitely had a make over since the last review. The dining room isn't huge, but it's nice. The only complaint was the it was so quiet in there, it was like dining in a library! Good eateries are rare up in this area, and we was pleasantly surprised with Catskill Rose.

Our server was really great. While the restaurant wasn't crowded, he was still polite and attentive, and he offered good insights when we were picking out wine.

I visited with my two sisters over the Christmas holiday. The menu is great. I love Catskill Rose's take on fresh and organic foods, and the chef definitely has some skill and creativity.

We all started with appetizers and then moved onto our main courses, and it was the perfect amount of food for us. The steak was the star dish of the night. The price, for the quality of food, is excellent.

Bottom Line: In our short stay up in the Catskills, we had our best meal here. It's worth the drive if you're in the area.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Catskill Rose is an easy-going, warm and inviting place to stay. Peter, one of the owners, greeted us upon arrival. He told us that there were apples and scones waiting in the room for us. He is friendly and welcoming.
The first thing we noticed when we walked into the room was how clean and fresh the room smelled.
The room had a dresser, TV, low profile king bed, a small table with 2 chairs and coffee pot, microwave, counter with a fridge beneath it. On the counter the owners put dishes, coffee cups, coffee, tea, glasses, napkins, untensils and a cork screw. In the fridge was a container of assorted scones and butter and there were apples in the basket on the table.
The bathroom was spotless and stocked with plenty of towels. In keeping with their eco-friendly policy, there were liquid soap and shampoo dispensers at the sink and shower.
We had dinner at the Catskill Rose Restaurant on our first night. The brined roasted pork tenderloin with onion and pancetta was delicious. For dessert, I had the creme brule and my husband had apple cake with ice cream. They have a nice wine list.
The courtyard outside the restauant doors is set up with tables and chairs with lights strung accross overhead and lanterns that start to glow as the sun goes down, giving the courtyard a dream-like atmosphere.
We parked in front of our room and could come and go as we pleased without disturbing the other guests.
The Catskill Rose is located on Rt 212 just off of Rt 28. There are so many places you can go to from here. 212 into Woodstock and Saugerties or 28 to Phoenicia.
We celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary at the Catskill Rose and enjoyed every minute of our weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining

Address: 5355 Route 212, Mount Tremper, NY 12457
Location: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn has four modern cozy rooms with king-sized beds andprivate baths. Amenities include Internet, AC, DVD and CD player, cable TV, hair dryer, coffee maker, microwave,and mini refrigerator. Also an in-room breakfast ofhomemade scones, fruit, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa.On premises are gardens, courtyard, full service diningwith bar and wine cellar. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catskill Rose Lodging & Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.