We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE & QUIET STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emerson Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mount Tremper
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerson Resort & Spa
Save
You added Emerson Resort & Spa to your Saves list
5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“NICE & QUIET STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I recently visited this hotel. It was a nice and quiet stay. We booked last week in September hoping to catch the fall foliage. The leaves were just starting to change. The hotel itself was very nice. We stayed in a Suite. I forgot which one but it was the pet friendly one since we took our little buddy with us. Most pet friendly hotels I researched before coming here were total dumps (from the pics). Our room was clean and spacious. Nice fire place. It didn't work at first so we had to call the maintenance person. It was just a matter of flicking the switch inside. The bathroom was quiet lovely. Very roomy. Loved the huge bath tub and nice shower. We only used the tub once (with our dog). Not a sick thing to do but we thought it would be fun. He was terrified! My only complaint was the bed. It wasn't the most comfortable bed I slept in. The pillows had no feathers so it was hard to keep my head comfy. Other than that, I can't really complain. We also had a cute little deck. We also had massages at the spa. I didn't find the massage that great. Just okay. We ate twice at their two restaurants. The Phoenix for breakfast which was pretty good and The Catamount which was very nice and intimate. Even though it gets pretty dark after 7 and this restaurant was located on site, it felt so intimate and comfy like it was tucked away far in the mountains. The food was very good. My wife loved it. There were only a couple of tables occupied. Even though there wasn't much to do around the area (especially with a dog), if you are looking for relaxing long weekend not too far away from home, you should come here. The price is reasonable and people are nice. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    93
    35
    17
    19
See reviews for
55
160
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I enjoy taking a weekend when we can and getting away to a spa. A friend recommended The Emerson, and we were very pleased. The people who work there could not have been nicer, our room was spacious and clean, and our treatments (massage for me, Thai massage for my husband) were absolutely terrific. It's true that overall the environment is not as luxurious as say, The Mayflower, but for the price (MUCH lower than The Mayflower) we were very happy with the choice to stay at The Emerson.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

we had heard great things about the emerson but they didnt meet our expectations. our room (271 a night) had an awful smell and was dated. bed was saggy. soga had no pillows.
the food at the phoneix was terrible. this included all app, entre, and dessert was the worst.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrktingDirctr, Director of Sales at Emerson Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
While I could understand if a particular dish was not to your liking, I was disappointed to read that you felt all 3 courses of your meal at the Phoenix were terrible. The menu at the Phoenix changes weekly to take advantage of the freshest, local products. So, if you are willing to give us another chance, there will be different dishes. I have sent a note to you to comp your dinners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This resort is very pretty and upscale. The rooms in the main building were spacious and nicely decorated. The bed and linens were very comfortable. The Bathroom was amazing - gorgeous fixtures, finishes and tiles. The staff was very friendly. A few cons were that the pool is on the small side - though nicely equipped with floats and enough seating. Also, the hot tub closes early - you have to access it through the spa. So no hot tub at night. One day we ordered a bottle of wine in the hot tub and it took about 40 minutes for it to be delivered. We didn't make reservations at the restaurant and when we walked in they didn't have space for us so I'd recommend making plans in advance.

The spa was nice, but nothing extraordinary. If you're into Kaleidoscopes, check out the museum and presentation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We never expected it to be so magnificent. Our room overlooked this beautiful river. The grounds of the hotel are manicured to perfection. The restaurant kept in what one might say modern-Indian style served an excellent breakfast. Good attentive service. This is truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

they have a nice restaurant the (catamount) good food..the place is clean..and 5 minutes up the road to phoenicia,,(tinker town tubing and eat at brio"s) also a 25 minute ride north for zip-lining at hunter mountain..and don"t forget to stop in at the nest egg in phoenicia for some of the best fudge you ever ate...and good ice cream right next store...great place for a relaxing and fun weekend,,and especially during the week..you won"t be dissappointed...plus they do have a pool.....it"s also a big spa resort too...stay in a lodge if you have kids ..brio"s has the freshest and greatest personal pizza"s...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband and I visited the luxurious Emerson resort in the early summer. The lobby and spa area are clean, inviting, and beautifully decorated. The whole inn has a nice Indian/Moroccan style motif going on. The staff at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in a royal suite at the inn, which had a flatscreen TV, canopy bed and a balcony which overlooked the Esopus creek. There was a small sitting area with a couch and a coffee table. The bathroom was huge, and featured a double sink, jacuzzi tub, and a separate rainfall shower. (I would kill for this bathroom in my own house) The room was modern, spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. It had a fully stocked mini bar, although there was no price list in the room, so we weren't sure how much anything was. The breakfast, which was included in the price of the room, was served in one of the resort's restaurants each morning. There was a breakfast menu with about eight choices, which were brought by a friendly server. They did not have iced coffee, but the server went out of her way to make one for me. Be sure to enjoy breakfast on the deck of the restaurant if the weather is nice. Note- guests at the lodge get a breakfast buffet in the other restaurant. We also took advantage of the spa, which was absolutely beautiful. Our massages were fantastic. In addition, the grounds at the resort are well-maintained, and feature a river walk, swimming pool, and a dog park. There is a cute country store, where guests receive free admission to the "world's largest kaleidoscope" (it was a little lame, but check it out if you have time). We didn't eat in any of the restaurants for dinner, but the menus looked nice. My one warning about this place is that the rooms are pricey (especially at the inn- the rustic lodge is a little more reasonable), and if you are also receiving spa treatments, a weekend could run you about a thousand dollars. I could only afford this luxurious spa weekend because I had several gift certificates to redeem. Overall, we had a great weekend, and we would definitely like to return.

Room Tip: If you are a member of AAA, the resort will give you a 10% discount on your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emerson Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerson Resort & Spa

Address: 5340 Route 28, Mount Tremper, NY 12457
Location: United States > New York > Mount Tremper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Tremper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerson Resort & Spa is comprised of two hotels, three eateries, an Award Winning Spa and an amazing retail component. We are located in the forever Wild Catskill Forest and provide a great escape for all of our guests, especially city dwellers. The Emerson Spa features a menu of Holistic Wellness, both Western Treatment options and Ayurvedic Rituals drawing from Ancient Indian Healing Wisdom. Our Award Winning Spa includes 10 treatment rooms, 1500 square foot Fitness Center, Relaxation Room, Yoga Studio with Instructor led classes, outdoor Jacuzzi, outdoor Pool, well-appointed locker Rooms with Steam, Sauna and Showers. Breakfast is served daily streamside in our beautiful Phoenix Restaurant which is also a stunning event space. The Catamount Restaurant, considered a local landmark offers streamside family dining in a casual setting. Looking for something quick & easy? Our Country Store Cafe offers breakfast and lunch, as well as delicious treats for those with a sweet tooth. Shop at the Emerson and enjoy Catskill Shopping at its best. Our Country Store is a collection of intriguing shops such as The Emerson Outfitter, Ski Shop, Melina's Boutique, Men's Shop, Up Country, Grandma's Boutique, General Store, Velsani Antiques and our Famous Kaleidostore which houses the World's Largest Kaleidoscope. So if you're looking for Ice-skating, Cross Country Skiing, Snow Shoeing, Trout Fishing or Biking the Emerson Resort & Spa is your Mountain Retreat! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerson Resort And Spa
Emerson Hotel Mount Tremper
Emerson Resort Mount Tremper

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emerson Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.