We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to rip us off.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Conte's Fishmarket

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Conte's Fishmarket
448 Main St, Mount Kisco, NY 10549
914 666 6929
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 70 Restaurants in Mount Kisco
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Tried to rip us off.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food was fine, but when the bill came, instead of being about $270 they handed us a bill that was nearly $400. When we pointed out the error, the server sort of shrugged. She did not apologize, and seemed almost insulted that we caught them trying to rip us off. We will never come here again. If you come, be sure to count ever dime on the bill.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Freshest fish and you are treated like family! I have been shopping here for years, and its one of the best fish shops!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Well Prepared and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I have been going to Conte's for a number of years and felt that I needed to respond to some of the negative reviews. I have always found the food to be both well prepared and fresh. The concept of a small intimate restaurant that is a fish market during the day creates unusual ambiance. The staff is knowledgable and professional. I have never had anything but a great meal there.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Save your money and get fish sticks across the street at Friendly's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011 via mobile

Food was way over rated and over priced. Service was terrible. This place should close plain and simple. And screw the cork charge too!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine ,Fresh, Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We heard about Conte's for years while we lived in the city. We finally got around to going last week and boy was it great!! The menu has just about anything a seafood lover likes! Sword,Tuna, Cod Lobsters, Striped Bass. We ordered the outstanding "No Filler" Maryland Crabcakes to start along with Maine Steamers. Both were great, soft tasty crab along with the saltinesss of the steamers made a great combo along with our wine we brought(. they now have a beer and wine licsense ,$10 cork is fee fair enough). For dinner we had the Carolina swordfish with lime , soy, dijon marinade ( cooked to perfection) and the miso glazed Chatham cod was just fantastic! To finish it all off a piece of homemade key lime pie made it a memorable meal. Service is courteous and efficient. Decor is funky/offbeat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conte's Fishmarket also viewed

Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 

Been to Conte's Fishmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Conte's Fishmarket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.