We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful sushi and attentive service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oishii

Oishii
Route 117, Mount Kisco, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 70 Restaurants in Mount Kisco
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Armonk, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful sushi and attentive service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've been to this moderately priced Asian Fusion restaurant a number of times. We quite enjoy the numerous hot dishes and the sushi is fresh and presented beautifully.
Our friend ordered cools sesame noodles which came served in an ice bowl with shredded veggies to decorate sides. It was delicious and quite unusual eating from a bowl made of ice!
The Fire Wok dish is a favorite of my husbands with lobster, shrimp, chicken and loads of veggies in a boulibasse sauce.
Decor is quite nice without being over the top. Certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“The food is as good as the service is bad, and the service is VERY bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have been to Oishi at least 6 times this past summer, because a gentleman I work for insists on taking me to lunch every single time i am in his office, insisting it is the best sushi in Weschester.

Oishi is smack dab in the very ugliest part of Mt. Kisco, that stretch of main street occupied by 20 plus Car dealerships, Patio.coms and discount tire stores. Oishi does its part to add to the ambience with wierd blue lights under the bar and ugly asian stick arrangements which dont quite qualify as visual Haiku. They just look like dead sticks in big cheap ceramic 'things' from a weekend trip to chinatown.

When forced to dine at Oishi, I go reluctantly, its free, the food is OK, BUT I am really,. really just so tired of being treated like a hungry cash cow by the staff, who openly sneer at guests and make service seem SUCH an imposition on their time. Weird angry waiter vibes.

Almost all seem to be fresh immigrants and none attempt to speak even rudimentary English. Maybe its some house rule; NOT to communicate, but its incredibly annoying and makes trying to correct an incorrect order a complete impossibility.

That said, the sushi is fresh, the dishes are all good replicas of what they are supposed to represent and the menu is suitably pan-Asian, featuring Chinese, Japanese and Thai dishes, all reasonably well prepared.

Nothing stands out and nothing offends.

What else can i say? It's clean, its neither expensive nor cheap, and if you come for lunch prepare to come at noon, because it's totally full by 12:30, and has been every day i have been there. its perfect for large lunch groups, typically 6 to 8, as tables are large and chairs are adequate.

so....people apparently REALLY like lunch here, but... (another 'but"?) the only competition in the area is an Applebys, a Burger King, a Boston Market and the Dunkin Donuts which is in the same detached building as Oishi. So, this particular stretch of Main St. isnt exactly a foodie destination. It IS a place to wait while your car is receiving it's 15,000 checkup and Oishi DOES have a liquor license.

if someone TAKES you for free, go, its GREAT!,. If you're getting your ALtima overhauled or your Ford recall taken care of...go. they sell drinks, but be prepared to POINT to things on the menu you crave, dont try to make changes on specials and DONT expect a smile or a sincere thank you, or even one spoken in actual english.

Overall, a wIerd, slightly creepy faux Asian place... cannot IMAGINE taking a date there for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great asian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been to this place a few times and always found it great.
I tried both traditional sushi plates as well as other (noodles and soup) and they all taste wonderful.
I can only recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food and always welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Best sushi place in Westchester. The food is always good and the owners make you feel welcome every time. My kids, especially love it here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A definite yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Super fresh fish, no worries. Just had the sushi and sashimi last night and was totally pleased, the Oishi roll is lives up to its name - delicious. I love the calamari too. With such a large menu it's hard to decide, ask for help if you need it. The service is normal for a Asian restaurant quick and efficient, if you want to be schmoozed and coddled go Italian. Quick take out also which is a plus for lunchtime. Modern look on the inside.
Location is not the best, right next to Dunkin Donuts, but at least it makes it easy to find.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oishii also viewed

Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
Mount Kisco, Westchester County
 

Been to Oishii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oishii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.