We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Montour Falls, NY (the falls motel)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Falls Motel

The Falls Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montour Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Falls Motel
Save
You added The Falls Motel to your Saves list
239 N. Genesee Street, P.O. Box 631, Montour Falls, NY 14865   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Montour Falls, NY (the falls motel)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were two couples who made the reservation a few days before our arrival during the week. We pulled up about 4 pm and we were the only car there which gave us a bit of pause, but getting out of the car Mike greeted me by name which was a nice touch. Probably that was because there was only six or eight people staying that night but no matter, the place turned out to be extremely clean and updated with new carpet, linens, paint and a flat screen TV. Mike and his wife Brenda were very friendly and helpful with many suggestions of places to eat. They do have a small breakfast (continental) but suggested we could also walk down to the town about five minutes away and eat at the small café down there, which we did. Can't remember the name of the place but I think it was the only one on their little main street. There is a new bar and Italian restaurant right next door to the motel which looked like a place to consider for dinner but the air conditioning was a little to cold for the ladies so we ate elsewhere on the lake. The impressive falls themselves are only a two minute walk away. There's a couple of chairs outside each room so we setup a little cocktail hour right there and I swear that everyone that rode by on either a car, bike or motorcycle waved to us and just like we did as kids growing up in the 50's, we waved back.

Room Tip: We were in the lower building room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Operated by a nice family who can provide multiple tips on things to do and places to eat around. They knew us by name, which was amazing. The office has complimentary coffee, tea, apples, bananas and pastries. Rooms are comfortable, clean and are nicely furnished. Convenient to Watkins Glen and a short walk to the 2 local falls. Make sure visit Mura Bella, the Italian restaurant on premise, is really good.

Room Tip: The italian restaurant on property, Mura Bella, is excellent and has a very interesting setting: It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Friendly staff. Decent rooms, but nothing fancy at all. It was just a place for us to sleep after a wine tour, that's about it. We stayed in April, so the "view" wasn't that great. A little off the beaten path too, as you have to drive outside Watkins tgo get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A visit to the village of Montour Falls in the Finger Lakes has many surprises. Walk along the Glorious T route, discover Catherines Valley Trail, named after Queen Catharine Montour, of the Seneca Indian tribe. Visit the local bakery and cup cake shop for delicious eats. See the historial Cook Mansion on the National Register of Historical homes. The Church, library and museum. All a short walk from the wonderful Montour waterfall.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester county, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I recently stayed At the Falls for a weekend conference. Not much to review. It is a clean hotel with a roof and beds. Families should be comfortable there as well. The restaurant was closed for renovation so I don't have anything to review. It is convenient to everything in the area. As I said it is a clean room. The staff is extremely friendly and communicates well with the guests. The only problem for the weekend happened to one of our party. After receiving our room assignments, one of our party went to his room only to find a stranger stepping out of the shower and drying off. Obviously the room assignment system leaves much to be desired. They were apologetic and corrected it immediately. My suggestion, if you stay there lock your door when you prefer not to have unexpected visitors. Overall it's a clean, no frills room.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put in the top building. Ask for a room you can back your car up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were staying at a b&b near the restaurant and they recommended it for some late night food. We were so impressed we went back every night we were in town! The food is absolutely amazing! Everything we ordered was delicious especially the wings! I would go as far as to say these are the best wings I've ever had in my entire life! We went Friday night for the fish fry but showed up a bit too late so get there early it is a great price for a huge meal. The building is beautiful, built right into the wall of the hill it backs up to and the staff is so friendly they make it feel like home. I would go back time and time again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a clean motel with nicely appointed rooms. Not a five star but well worth the price. I have stayed there 5-6 times in the last 10 years and it is great. If you want a romantic room get the suite. There's only one and it's $150 per night. Has a fireplace, leather recliners, a mini kitchen and huge jacuzzi tub. The King with Jacuzzi tub rooms are also great. Just went with 11 people and everyone liked their rooms. Also, near beautiful falls. It is located right in town near Watkins Glen so it's easy to hit the wine trail and end up somewhere were you can eat and drink until your hearts content. Want some great food and beer and wine, go to the restaurant right next door which was part of the motel. Beautiful and great food. You can walk there. Finally, we ate breakfast for the past 10 years at Chef's which is about 1/2 mile away. Excellent diner! Enjoy your stay. Call the Falls and ask for Mike. Tell him Fuller sent you. T

Room Tip: Get the suite above the office for a treat or stay in a King room with jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls Motel

Address: 239 N. Genesee Street, P.O. Box 631, Montour Falls, NY 14865
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Montour Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Montour Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
The Falls Hotel Montour Falls
Falls Hotel Montour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Falls Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.