We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Was Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chef's Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef's Diner
Watkins Montour Rd, Montour Falls, NY 14865
(607) 535-9975
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 14 restaurants in Montour Falls
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food Was Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a little restaurant that could use a "make over" but the food was fabulous. We went there two days in a row. If you like hashbrowns you must try these. You can always tell a good restaurant when you have to wait to get in. It's a busy little place but well worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    1
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Homecooking 101 Mastered here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

was the best meal in Watkins Glen price is reasonable and food was to die for.
thanks The food was Wonderful as well, and we did NOT leave hungry.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro
1 review
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rude , Dirty, other then that the food was over cooked and 3 of 5 of us didn't eat what was put on the table. When we mention that the eggs were over cooked they told us that's the way we do them here. Never Again to many other choices in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picture Rocks, Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surprising!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the outside, this place is kind of scary, and we would never have gone in if we hadn't heard that the food was GREAT and the prices GREAT as well!! We were NOT disappointed!! We had a very nice server, the menu was HUGE, as were the portions. The food was WONDERFUL as well, and we did NOT leave hungry, which is rather unusual for us. The price for the meal was more than reasonable. We are VERY HAPPY that we visited!!1

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Time Travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This diner is like going back in time. Back to the good old days of good food and local flavor. They offer generous servings with a very large menu to choose from. The desserts are very good as well. I would recommend this diner for an old time meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef's Diner also viewed

Montour Falls, Finger Lakes
 
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
Montour Falls, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Chef's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.