We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bill & Carol's Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borland House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Borland House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Borland House Bed and Breakfast
130 Clinton Street, Montgomery, NY 12549   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Montgomery B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bill & Carol's Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Bill & Carol made us feel so at home in their beautiful house after our long trip from London. I was visiting friends in Montgomery & booked last minute when my wife was able to join me. It was very important to me that the accommodation was clean & comfortable & that my wife felt at home, which we were. The rooms are spacious, comfortable & well furnished. Bill's 3 course breakfast was delicious & is not to be missed.
My sister also decided to join us & Bill made a room ready at the last minute.
We ate at the Back Yard Bistro as recommended by Bill & Carol, which was wonderful & also gave us a discount on our food & accommodation. We only stayed a couple of nights, our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer.
We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
98
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My entire family stayed at the Borland House for several days during West Point graduation weekend. We loved it! The house is absolutely beautiful and the breakfasts were fantastic. Bill and Carol provided us with helpful information to make our stay in Montgomery especially enjoyable. The town is especially charming and restaurants in the area are very good. It is one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed at - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful family vacation in the Hudson Valley. Our stay at The Borland House was one of the high points of our trip. Bill and Carol are wonderful hosts. Our family all eat in a different way. There is one vegan, one vegetarian, one member who doesn't eat red meat and one member who eats everything. Bill and Carol graciously accommodated our eating habits at the terrific breakfasts. They acted as if it was no trouble at all (it must have been). They also cleaned our rooms each day of our stay, not usually the case at a B & B. The house itself is beautiful and elegantly furnished. The town of Montgomery is delightful and is located near excellent restaurants, museums, and nature preserves. Bill and Carol are extremely well informed about the area and are glad to share their knowledge. My family and I all agree - this B & B can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We were traveling from Washington, DC to Montreal and wanted to spend the night half way through the trip. Borland House fit the bill and we were extremely pleased with our selection. The B & B is located in a very small town with several antique shops and even more restaurants. The house is extremely charming with large comfortable rooms and warm, welcoming hosts. We enjoyed wine on the veranda in the evening and had an excellent, delicious breakfast before continuing our trip. We certainly recommend Borland house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I visit relatives in Montgomery, and now we know where we'll be staying on every future visit! The Borland House is a treasure in the quaint town, which was always charming and seems to be perking up with new restaurants and businesses these days.
We stayed in the Isabella Room, which is the oldest part of the house, and is a private suite unto itself, with a private entrance. The bedroom and bathroom were so perfectly furnished with anything we might need, that it made sense when Bill told us that once a year, he and Carol pack a bag and stay in each room. This attention to detail is evident in every aspect of the Borland House. From the gorgeous detail of the house itself, to the delicious breakfast, to the hosts' friendliness, this one has it all!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmer, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I had some business, in Montgomery, and had never been there before. I did some research on the internet, found the Borland House, and decided to book an overnight stay. So happy we did! The location was perfect for us, and the house is beautiful and very comfortable. Carol and Bill were wonderful hosts, very helpful and gracious, and the breakfast was outstanding. We will certainly return if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

In dire need of some time away from the city, we decided to spend our anniversary weekend at the Borland House and couldn't be happier with our choice. The house is truly charming and it is obvious that Bill and Carol truly enjoy what they do. It is beautifully maintained and exudes a warmth that can't really be put into words. Our room was large, airy and comfortable. And the bottle of prosecco waiting for us upon arrival was such a lovely surprise!! Breakfast was superb, served by candlelight in a lovely dining room. Although the Panko crusted French Toast was our favorite, that doesn't mean that the cheddar souffle with herbs de Provence or the Feta frittata were any less delicious! And the evening treats after a long day were just icing on the cake - no pun intended. We would definitely suggest the Borland House for a lovely stay with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borland House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borland House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 130 Clinton Street, Montgomery, NY 12549
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Montgomery
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montgomery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borland House is a gracious Greek Revival home that will entice you to escape from your daily routine. We offer accommodations that combine comfort, elegance, and warmth Choose from among our spacious Hanlon and Montgomery rooms with fireplace and sitting area to our cozy Isabella Room. All rooms have private bath and cental air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Borland House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borland House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.