We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific experience-Rude and terrible staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
A TripAdvisor Member
“Horrific experience-Rude and terrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2005

Place appears nice at first, with rooms adequately clean, nice beach and indoor pool. Unfortunately, the staff was RUDE, DISHONEST, and HORRIBLE. The absolute last straw occurred on the last day of our stay, we had all our stuff packed and planned to go for one last quick dip. We left all our belongings neatly packed by the door with the intention to check-out in the next hour. Upon our return we found the door wide open and an outside contracted (not hotel staff) repairman in our room trying to fix the air conditioner. This repairman had taken apart the unit, and scattered dirty a/c parts all over the kitchenette table, the couch the floor, etc. When we complained to the VERY RUDE (and weird) staff maintenance guy who showed up to our room after quite some time- he replied that we shouldn't complain and that he could get us kicked out! My husband was upset (but NOT irrational or cursing) and complained to the front desk manager who refused to take responsiblity. They said they couldnt do anything about that situation (nor offered any apology). As for the hotel maintenance man, they said they could not do or say anything to him either, since he had been with them for many years (so WHAT?!!!). Furthermore, they accused my husband of having cursed at the hotel receptionist- which he had NOT (truly!)! When I asked why this stranger (not hotel staff) was let in and not even monitored (my pocketbook was right there on the bed!), the manager said that the maintenance man had only left for "a minute"....They also claimed to have tried to call us, but when they could not reach us they decided to take "full responsibility"..which means they do whatever they please and visitors have no say..Needless to say, this was a very upsetting experience to us, particularly when it occurred in the presence of our young child. Hotel guests beware!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2003
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    27
    22
    17
See reviews for
45
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2004

The Wavecrest has a homey family appeal -- it is not the most luxurious place, but the rooms are clean and adequately furnished. I found the beach and pool staff to be very friendly and helpful. I love the ocean view and the sound of the waves crashing just outside my room. I look forward to a return visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2004

I have to agree with Great View, Mean Staff. When
told the tv doesnt work, and the resturant offered in there special is no longer open, they responded with "oooh reeeally". They are not customer friendly at all ,on the phone or in person. They are very rude, (and you talk about city people). These are just too many problems for an overnight stay.
I would love to go back but not there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2004

The staff both in person and on the phone could not be ruder or less helpful if they tried - the veiw + price are good - but the pillows and the help were bad- very very bad!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2004

Great accommodations, great uncrowded beach, with beach chairs set up where you like, but found the staff lacked in customer service skills, found them unfriendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2003

My husband and I went to Montauk for our first family vacation with our 18 month old twin girls. We were very dissappointed with the cleanliness of the hotel.Since the girls were so small they often wanted to just crawl around on the rug and ended up with black hands, knees, and backsides. It was very sad to see that we spent all this money only to find that the hotel is not properly cared for. There was also no place to get a late night snack therefor we had to be sure our little refridgerator was well stocked. We won't be spending anymore time at this resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2002

Catch the Wavecrest when they have their spring and fall specials--a good deal, which includes dinner and breakfast. The rooms are casual, but clean, bright and have a great view of the ocean. Just a couple of miles from town!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Address: Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Oceanfront Hotel Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.