We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodations: shabby and old. Desperate need of updating.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort to your Saves list
Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort
Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Croton on the Hudson, NY
1 review
“Accomodations: shabby and old. Desperate need of updating.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I know it is beachfront.......but it desperately needs updating. Towels are scratchy, linens are well used. I could buy newer ones in a garage sale. Carpeting needs to be replaced. The room doesn't feel secure. It feels like a room from the 1950's... I would not recommend, nor would I stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    27
    22
    17
See reviews for
45
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently stayed at the Wavecrest and was surprised that the place was not as bad as others stated in their reviews. Yes the place needs updating and the pictures on the web site are the best rooms that they used for the photos. The room was clean and was rather a nice room yes it was pricey but I guess if you are paying to stay on the beach that's the price. I have stayed at other places in Montauk and the Wavecrest in comparsion to other places was nice. No it is not 5 Star but the room was nice and comfortable. When we checked in the office staff could of been more pleasant, but there were 5 people waiting to check in, so they were trying to get everyone into their rooms. I went back about an hour later to ask a question and they were very pleasant. There is no restaurant but the rooms have a kitchette which I like for breakfast so I do not have to get dressed to go to the restaurant, The views from the balcony is beautiful with a cup of coffee. Next year we will be staying there again in the same building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked the Wavecrest for Labor Day weekend. For the price charged, you'd think I was staying at the Ritz-Carlton -- wrong. My first indication that thins might not be a great choice was the deposit -- 50%, payable ONLY by check. (The balance could be paid by Mastercard or Visa.)

I booked the Wavecrest for 3-nights for two queens for my wife, my two young kids and me. I was in the area for business so brought my family for the Labor Day weekend. The hotel is worn and pretty shabby and consists of three or four separate buildings. Actually, it probably needs bulldozing and starting over. Strangely, the sound proofing wasn't too bad with adjoining rooms, but above you could hear people walking back and forth. The beds were hard and uncomfortable, and the pillows like artificial sponges. The kitchenette was adequate, but the bathroom was pretty wretched -- the width of the shower stall with a toilet and no vent fan (though it did have a window). The sink was in the kitchette area. Perhaps one of the weirdest aspects of the room layout was the positioning of the AC. It's was in the entry area/kitchenette. The difference in temperatures was about ten degrees between there and the bedroom proper. It was separated by a demi wall which kept the kitchenette/bathroom sink area ice cold and the bed area semi-cool.

Probably the best aspect of the hotel is the beach (and my reason for giving the place 2-stars rather than one). The beach is generally very clean, quiet and not crowded. A young man on summer break provided beach chairs and towels with a friendly manner and delivered the chairs and umbrellas to whatever spot you chose on the beach. If it weren't for the fact that you had to sleep there, the hotel wasn't bad in that respect. Front desk service bordered on outright unfriendly. (I they feel they have you, so why make an effort.)

If you stay there, be prepared to make your own meals or know that you will need to drive 20-minutes (in horrible traffic at almost any time of day) for even a cup of coffee in the morning.

Overall, even for a peak weekend, the hotel was grossly over-priced. I felt raped and pillaged by the pricing for the worth and value of the hotel. I've stayed in hotels, literally around the world and am in NYC frequently through the year. I feel many hotels are priced in the city, but none to the degree that I experienced at the Wavecrest. One question: why is it called a "resort"?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is our second year staying at the resort. It is located right on the beach. It is located off of old Montaulk highway. It is close to the beach and downtown Montaulk. Beach chairs, umbrella and towels are included for the beach.We stayed in the panoramic section of the hotel. The accommodations were good. We had one room a kitchen area, and breakfast nook area. There is living aa that pulls out into a sleeper. The balcony overlooks the beach and ocean. We had nice relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Panoramic vewiewvsecong floor. Great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a dissapointment staying at this "resort" was.Maybe it was good in 1975 but not in 2012.The rooms need a major renovation,office is outdated with unfriendly staff.There is no restaurant on the grounds which means all meals out,another inconvience.Do your self a favor and stay elsewhere,you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I started coming to Wavecrest when I was in High school and now have kids in college. Our kids grew up coming here every summer and , for the longest time, we LOVED it. This year...not so much! The room we were given for 4 adults had one bed and a pull out couch that was so bad one daughter slept on the cushions on the floor. The main problem for us though was the POOL. The pool is advertised as being heated and it always has been....it's been a big factor on our coming back year after year. If the beach was too hot, too cold or being rained on...we had the pool. This year, the pool ( if heated at all) was COLD! I'm not talking a little cold...people would stick a foot in and turn around and leave again. We paid for the advertised HEATED pool and expected that and when we said something at the office the female owner gave no reaction. We've loved going there for a long time...adore Deborah in the office and John at the pool ( who has always kept the pool beautifully and kept it a family friendly atmosphere) but we are looking for another hotel for next year. The owners need to smile and make believe they care about their customers, they need to have what they advertise ( take the Heated portion of the sign outside down) and do some updating of the rooms for sure. Booo

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in a renovated one bedroom in the Overlook. It was very clean, good supply of towels and full kitchen with stovetop, oven, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. There was a king size bed in the bedroom and sleeper sofa in the L-shaped sectional in the main room.
Beds were comfortable and bathroom was immaculate. Two lounge chairs and two regular chairs on the outside deck facing the ocean. Very quiet in the evenings. Beach staff are helpful and chairs and umbrellas are free. I don't know of the experience of the previous reviewer about the office staff, but i found them pleasant and helpful. Since the accommodations are on the small side, iI don't recommend for long stays.

Room Tip: Even though it's "on the beach", there is a walk down some stairs or thru the driveway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort

Address: Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Oceanfront Hotel Montauk
Wavecrest Oceanfront Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wavecrest Oceanfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.