We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not much else.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Panoramic View

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panoramic View
Save
You added Panoramic View to your Saves list
272 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, not much else.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. The room (studio) was small and had a west view. Had to drive everywhere. Not cheap. Noisy when windy. Windows not air-tight. Pretty beach. Right next to Gurneys. Maybe the summer might be better. I don't think kids are allowed, but sometimes that's ok w/ us.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was really impressed by the views and location. We stayed in Highpoint. The room was a good sized, very light and bright.
However the fixtures were very old. The bathroom was very old fashioned and the water in the shower would not stay hot - it would go from scalding hot to ice cold.
The kitchenette needs an overhaul. The bed and linens were good quality. The sunlight in the morning was blinding so blackout curtains would be a good addition.
Staff were great - very friendly and helpful - particularly Jessica and Kelly.
Saltwater pool was lovely and warm. Beach is beautiful.
The place needs coffee - the addition of a Nespresso machine would be good.
The Panoramic View is expensive but it is all about the location, and I would go back, but please some provide some coffee!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Jess and her manager were instrumental in ensuring a fabulous and romantic stay over Memorial Day Weekend. The rooms facing the beach are impeccable, the deck vistas are fantastic, and the customer service is friendly, helpful,and consistent. Thanks for making my boyfriend's birthday surprise an incredibly memorable one!

Room Tip: Point of View! The corner room (83?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This place has such potential! It's beautiful grounds and beach are the main attraction! Half of it is shiny and new and the other half a stark contrast really old. I was in the old part unfortunately. Wood deck balcony was splintered and faded, room smelled musty with very old sink and fixtures. On the flip side bed was huge and comfortable, the kitchenette was stocked with dishes to use, fridge old and rusty but kept food cold. Considering cost would have expected more.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Alright, let's be clear first: There isn't a single place anywhere in the Hamptons that is worth the money relative to any comparable non-Hamptons place in the world. The fact is that the rooms at Panoramic have no minibar (side-note though: they have vending machines that get you anything you'd find in a normal mini-bar for a dollar! so it's much cheaper), the TV is a good old TV and not a flatscreen, the reception closes early, doesn't re-open before 9am, there's no restaurant, nor a breakfast, nor any food/beverage service on the beach (all of which one would be entitled to expect at a "resort" anywhere else in the world). One could say that all of this is absolutely ridiculous when paying $500+ a night for a room. But that's like saying the Hamptons are absolutely ridiculous: IT'S A GIVEN. In the Hamptons/Montauk, you are still paying $300/night for a 120 sqft room in a motel-type building arranged around a parking lot next to the main road! The Hamptons/Montauk cater to the NYC market, so there's two reasons to go: (1) it's the closest and most beautiful place from NYC; (2) social. If not for either reason, don't go.

And we don't know if some of the other rooms/balconies/decks might be in a bad state of repair. We'd doubt it but we simply can't know. We stayed in one of the studios in the Highpoint building.

With that said: This is quite clearly one of the nicest, if not THE nicest place in the Hamptons by miles at this price (or in fact at any price in the Hamptons)!! The beach is amazing, our room was kept in a nice caribbean soft-white with beautiful white-wash hardwood floors and immaculate. Even the ancient kitchenette with (what we thought was no, but then just turned out to be) the medieval fridge and the old bathroom have their charm and were immaculately clean. Instead of a balcony we had a little private garden out-front with lounge-chairs and the trademark breathtaking ocean view, and the premises and the buildings in general are very very nice and well-kept (they are selling million dollar beach-front condos, so obviously the premises in general are very well-kept). The people are very friendly, especially Jessica and Kelly. And they gave us an extra-bed for the kids (and the room was more than large enough for it). The fitness center has enough equipment to keep a regular work-out, and the pool with a few cabanas is very nice (it overlooks the ocean on one side, and yes, you can see the parking lot asphalt to the other side; it is still a nice pool; and who needs a pool with the kind of beach they have!)

By way of context, we are in our late thirties and we've been to a lot of the top beaches around the world and stayed at both cheap and super-pricey places. Also, in the past, we've done Hamptons houses for the whole season, we've done the whole social/party nonsense between SH and EH, and many years ago, we've even last-minute stayed at what used to be the Capri for a weekend once and at another place in SH that was good but ancient the name we forget, and we've seen (and would rather shoot ourselves than stay at) some other places in the Hamptons that charge upwards of $400/night (and in some cases asked some $800/night - hotels get away with murder here as long as it comes with a bed), so we can say this with complete confidence: This place here is by far one of the best experiences $500/night can buy in the Hamptons or Montauk! It really is very very nice by any standard, and it's as close as it gets to a Caribbean feel. Just be prepared to come with a cooler and buy grocery supplies for your breakfast or for your kids.

Come to think of it, it is ironic that in some of the most expensive zip-codes of the U.S. you can't live without what has to be one of the ultimate redneck items: the common cooler! Lmao!

We will definitely be back and in fact, this place has turned us into complete Montauk converts. We came out last minute with fairly basic expectations given what we know about Hamptons hotels/B&Bs and their prices, and we were almost shocked to find something this nice in the Hamptons/Montauk. If it hadn't been for the crappy weather forecast after the weekend, we would have spontaneously stayed another 3-4 nights at Panoramic.

Note to management: having a part-time kitchen that can create some limited breakfast options would definitely be a worthwhile and fair addition.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The only thing I can say nice about this place is there is an ocean out the window! You can view it over the splintered broken deck..and asphalt parking lot. Be careful getting to your room as the stars are soaked and slippery from the dripping air conditioner on the floor above. The place is old, not well maintained, not very clean with a zenith tv at least 20 years old. This matched the small rundown bathroom with a toilet so close to the wall my husband had to sit sideways. We arrived after 5:00 pm..and left by 9:00 am the next morning walking away from $1,500.00 prepaid non refundable room charges rather than ruin our vacation by staying there!! A complete dump and they charge over 500.00 a night for it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have been going to the Panoramic View for quite a few years now and I have always been treated with the utmost care and consideration. The views are stunning and the area a joy. It is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle but not too far to be a burden. All together The Panoramic is a cozy and comfortable escape from the hectic city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panoramic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramic View

Address: 272 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Panoramic View Hotel Montauk
Panoramic View Oceanfront Hotel
Panoramic View Montauk
Panoramic View Oceanfront Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panoramic View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.