We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley View” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panoramic View

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Panoramic View
Save
You added Panoramic View to your Saves list
272 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Valley View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place has so much potential but it has a few issues. We had a corner room in Valley View. I liked that it was all white (bed duvet, walls, ceiling) and the floors were not carpeted, which I like for cleanliness. The bathroom was older but in pretty good shape. The kitchenette was from the year of the flood! They really should update that part of the room.
As soon as you entered the room you could smell something weird! Couldn't put my finger on it. Even my husband noticed it. I noticed the garbage dumpsters not far from our room so perhaps that was it.
The deck was also in need of updating. As one reviewer said it was in need of new floorboards and sides. The air conditioner was so loud that if you wanted peacefulness in the room you had to turn it off. We could see the beautiful ocean but also a real nice view of Gurneys parking lot. It was quite a hike up a steep parking lot coming back from the beach.
The umbrellas on the beach are inaccessable until 9 and they have to be placed in the stands and cannot be moved. The beach loungers are all the way up on the sloping part of the sand.
The pool did close at 6.
Seemed like alot of rules for a not inexpensive place.
Wish I could afford one of the residence properties because they looked beautiful.
I might look into Point of View if I were to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very expensive for a spartan but comfortable room. Minor improvements would go a long way toward improving the experience. The wood on the balcony deck is splintered as is the wood on steps. The racks inside the very dated kitchenette were rusty. The color scheme is harvest gold - screams 1970's. Coffee mugs would be a nice addition to the kitchenware and a table suitable for eating would have been nice. Some rooms seemed to have this but ours did not.

The pool closes at 6 and beach umbrellas are taken away at this time. Also beach umbrellas are set far away from the shore making it difficult to enjoy the cooler part of the beach or keep an eye on children in or near the water.

Also, cell and Internet service is VERY weak.

The staff is very nice and tries very hard to please. At almost $500 per night in high season I expect more amenities. Fortunately the weather was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Panoramic View is located on top of a hill directly overlooking miles of ocean beach, about 3 miles from the heart of Montauk. It is mainly a condo complex with some buildings dedicated to the hotel. Our room had a deck and tiny garden with a full view of the beach and the ocean. We had a studio with a kitchenette and a very, very tiny bathroom. The room is bright with a comfortable white bed but barely and very cheaply furnished. There is a pleasant pool and a beach club. The service everywhere is attentive and friendly. It is very quiet and private except once in the afternoon with the loud music coming from a party at the next door very busy Gurney's resort. The beach is just great but some 80 steps down (and up) from the hotel building. And of course Montauk is fantastic. The view, the beach and Montauk as a spot make it a good escape but the hotel room needs to look like the $500 a night we were charged.

Room Tip: There are cottages literally on the beach for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I have been coming out to Montauk for a few years now and really love it. It is much more down to earth than some of the other Hamptons spots - great beaches - restaurants and cliff hiking by the lighthouse.
This was our first stay at the Panoramic. The room in general was really nice - very clean - white decor and your own deck to enjoy the breathtaking view. It was nice to have a little kitchen. It is a shame that for the amount of money that the bathroom and kitchen could not be updated. It is not too much to ask for a shower curtain and rail that do not scream cheap motel - it's an insult to the amount you pay. The bathrooms at the pool are more modern and updated! We would still consider going back but will definitely check to see if these simple upgrades have been made. Its a bit of a hike up the steps from the beach but a good workout and forces you not to forget anything! All in all a beautiful spot but they need to upgrade some things.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Just returned from a weekend trip to Montauk. We arrived at the Panoramic and when we were presented with our room, my jaw dropped. For almost $500 a night, you recieve a tiny room, with a completely outdated bathroom/shower that I could barely fit into. The office person, Jessica, at first said "all the rooms have been updated and refurbished". She then said after our displeasure, "the bathrooms are outdated". We requested a refund, and went 20 feet over to Gurneys for the same price and it was ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!!! Service, rooms, amenities, location, are ALL FAR BETTER AT GURNEYS.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I just returned from a very relaxing 2 night stay at the Panoramic View. The hotel staff made everything as easy as possible; from booking the room to allowing us to use the facilities after check out. The room was very simple, yet elegant and the view from your balcony/back porch could not be beat! The only drawback I can think of is that the hotel is not walking distance to anything (restaurants, bars, etc.) I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend!

Room Tip: It is a bit of a hilly walk to beach/pool from our room (suite5) Consider this if you have health co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My friend and I have been coming out to the Hamptons for 13 years, always staying at the Panoramic. We were here before the upscale town homes were built. When the French family ran the place. When you could only make a reservation after March 1st. Still one of the most beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean anywhere. Quiet, peaceful, and very relaxing. This year we arrived in June, an aberration from the usual July booking, and we were surprised to find the management had removed the table and chairs from the room. We immediately asked them to find a table and chairs, which they did quickly, and inquired as to why they took out the furniture. The guy didn't really know but stated that all the rooms had no table or chairs. I know it sounds petty but with a kitchenette in the room there should be a place to eat. They put in new floors which look better and removed the monkey Inspired bedspreads. Everything is white and very clean. The bathrooms could use some work though. New toilet but the shower head was circa 1950. I'd be willing to bring a new shower head next year and install it myself. Don't get me wrong.....my friend and I will return year after year as long as we are able, but sometimes changes are made that make no sense. Still a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panoramic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panoramic View

Address: 272 Old Montauk Hwy., Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Panoramic View Hotel Montauk
Panoramic View Oceanfront Hotel
Panoramic View Montauk
Panoramic View Oceanfront Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panoramic View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.