We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Montauk Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Montauk Blue Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   108 South Emerson Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly Ocean Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“On the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked an ocean front king... Preferred second floor, but was given a main level one, so I went back to ask for another room. Granted! 2nd floor - lived it! Then realized the heating wasn't working.. Hated to go back yet again to the check in office, but Gretchen was very pleasant and accommodated another room change with a smile. Bulls eye! Room 336 was awesome! It was a corner one that was much larger than other two. Loved it! It was a very nice stay and I can't wait to go back and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean again...

Room Tip: Breakfast at the bird on the roof and dinner at the harvest on the fort pond are a must while in mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centereach, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms clean, recently updated. Gretchen at front desk friendly and helpful. Room 123 not overlooking beach but corner room right near indoor pool. Thanks for a nice overnight stay! Will come back in off-season

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Montauk Blue for an off-season weekend getaway. I thought the price was very reasonable, especially given the fantastic location right on the beach. Check in went smoothly and we enjoyed the newly renovated room. The Keurig coffee maker was a nice feature and we thought the maritime design looked great. As a few others have mentioned, larger garbage cans would be nice.

The grounds are nice and the pool was well maintained. An indoor pool area is a very nice amenity (or maybe necessity!) if you're visiting Montauk in the Spring. If you're coming by train/cab or like walking, there are lots of good food/drink options nearby.

My only concern about the hotel was the fairly flimsy latch bar to secure the sliding patio door and the lack of a deadbolt and peephole on the front doors (front doors are not self-closing or self-locking and have only a standard doorknob key lock and a chain latch). Since this is an outside entry hotel, I think adding more security features would be a wise investment. I know it's Montauk and nothing is going to happen, but these additions would be consistent with the basic features hotel security consultants recommend.

Overall, will definitely stay here again. Thanks for the enjoyable stay!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed my stay here!!! Front desk staff greeted me the minute I walked through the door. Very friendly! Stayed the next night and Chantelle gave me the same rating as the night before! She was very helpful!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This motel was nice (motel to me because of the outside entrance to rooms) right on the ocean. We took a spring break getaway to Montauk for two nights, never having been there (we visited the hamptons last summer). the weather was cold, but it was fun being on the ocean during cold weather. The room was very clean, not huge but plenty of space for two. we had a king bed on second floor, and the motel is right on the ocean!! Bathroom was small, but clean and updated like the rest of the room. Keurig machine with coffee in the room is nice. There is an indoor heated pool. Also there is a big deck on the ocean side...not in use in april due to weather. overall Montauk is very low key, not like the hamptons etc. I don't think i would go to Montauk in season, but if i did i would stay a this motel. The other ones in the area were a little worn looking. The town area is a short walk away, some shops and little places to eat. The bakery was good!! as was the health restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Montauk Blue for a couple of nights before heading back to NYC for the rest of our holiday. I'm really glad we found this hotel - We got a great deal through booking.com and had a lovely few relaxing days there.

The hotel is located right on the beach and a short stroll from the centre of Montauk where there are shops, cafes and restaurants. We travelled by train and the hotel is about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride from the station. The rooms are finished to a high standard, have good facilities and there is plenty of space. It is worth the extra money to pay for the ocean view. The outlook from our balcony was beautiful! The hotel also has a pool and Jacuzzi which we used on the second day of our stay. They are both indoor and heated so can be used even in colder weather.

The staff were very helpful and we could not fault this hotel for the facilities, service and value for money. We would love to visit again during summer as the beach was lovely!

Room Tip: Pay extra for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We previously stayed at this property when it was the Ocean Beach Resort, they have since changed the name and upgraded the rooms.. The location of the hotel is perfect, directly ocean front. The rooms are very nicely updated as well. We had a Ocean front second floor room and it was perfect. Highly recommended when in Montauk. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: second floor ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LV2NYC, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Bill-Friendly,

Welcome back to Montauk...we're glad that you returned and enjoyed your stay with us!

Thanks so much for your review, and we'll see you again soon!

Traci Carpenter
General Manager
Montauk Blue Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montauk Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Blue Hotel

Address: 108 South Emerson Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly Ocean Beach Resort)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Montauk Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new guest rooms and bathrooms as the summer of 2014. Spectacular oceanfront location with spacious sun decks just a few steps to downtown Montauk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Montauk Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Hotel Montauk Ny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.