We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the staff?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Blue Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Montauk Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Montauk Blue Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   108 South Emerson Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly Ocean Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Commack, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Where's the staff?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean, and the view spectacular, but:

- When we arrived early (around 1pm) and asked if we could get into the room early we were firmly told "check-in is at 3", even though the parking lot, and presumably the rooms, were vacant.
- We called the desk for the Wi-Fi password, and after 5 minutes of automated hold were disconnected. We called back and after 5 more minutes the machine prompted us to leave a message. We never received a return call.
- When we opened the pullout couch there were no sheets. We checked all closets and drawers ... no sheets. We called the main desk, no answer. When I went to the office, a sign was posted "be back at 9am". (There was also a 2nd sign with the Wi-Fi password)

With so many other choices in Montauk, next time I'll stay elsewhere. Probably the Royal Atlantic next door.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. James,
I am deeply sorry that your experience was below our standards of excellence. For that, I personally apologize.
I know that you were asked to wait until c/in time for the simple fact that you've requested an specific room type and location within our hotel. Otherwise, we would have granted you an early c/in.
As you may know our office hours during the month of November are limited to 6pm. I understand that this may possibly created a negative impact in your experience. However, we really want you back in the future as we are 100% committed to your absolute satisfaction.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Gabriel Perez
786-325-0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love this place. Check-In is a breeze. Just remember to ask for Wi-Fi pass-code. We got a balcony room (474). Clean and a real comfy bed. Slept great. This place is right on the ocean. GET OCEAN VIEW!!! It's worth every dime. You can pretty much walk to every store located in Montauk Village from this Hotel. Most places are closed this time of year, but places that are open do not slack on service. They had a parade the morning of the Light House tree lighting. Was really nice. You beat the crazy tourist crowds this time of year and enjoy the relaxing sites and beach for the most part, to yourself. Got a good deal on Booking.com for 2 nights at this hotel and will definitely book with MTK Blue again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers and the TripAdvisor community. I am personally delighted that you not only had a nice stay in our hotel but a great time in Montauk as well.

Have a great holiday and I look forward seeing you next year.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love this hotel for the location to the town and for being right on the beach. The renovations are very nice but the new refrigerators are way too small and we miss the sink area they used to have. The indoor pool area is clean and well maintained. We have been out to this hotel a few times with friends, and plan on going back again each year!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for choosing Montauk Blue Hotel. We are certainly grateful to read that you will continue to come back to the "Blue"
As an added good note, I would like to inform you that the refrigerators are being replaced with larger and more efficient mini fridges that will be acquired within the next few days. This upgrade and many more improvements will be available for your enjoyment next season.

Thank you for staying with us.

Happy Holidays

Gabriel Perez
General Manager
786-325-0952
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

MONTAUK BLU Hotel, Montauk

The Blu Ocean is a 2 story oceanfront hotel with great sea view from the ground floor terrace deck or the 1st floor balconies. Just the studio rooms are located in a separate 2 story building, set aside next to the covered swimming pool / jacuzzi and they don't offer sea views at all!
All the rooms sport that fresh, bright blue beach themed color and a nice uncluttered bathroom with a large and powerful shower. The rooms have wifi & flatscreen cable TV, sitting area & pullout sofa and balconies, but lacks a room safe.
Different restaurants and breakfast places as well as some shops are just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Since your right on the Ocean, skip the studio rooms and go for a Oceanview room, with either Terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to describe our features and amenities to the tripAdvisor community. I see that you are a very seasoned traveler and that you always make an effort to inform your experience with fellow travelers as your profile suggest.

Again, thank you for choosing Montauk Blue Hotel and I hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gabriel Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we really miss the hospitality of this motel when it was "Ocean Beach Resort"!! They charge a 5 star hotel rate! but you are not getting a 5 star hotel!! and it is a MOTEL not a Hotel!! The renovations are very scarce and cheap! you cannot fit anything in the very teeny tiny so called refrigerator. we had to ask for a garbage pail for our room! the rates have increased about $150 per night. anyone who wishes to stay here must realize you are coming for the view and convenience of being right on the beach and walking distance to town. but for these prices there are much better places to stay in Montauk!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear former guest,
Just like your family member or relative in the review below. Why are you waiting until Mid-Novemeber to place this review on TripAdvisor? Why are you now orchestrating this electronic attack? Why do you want to come back to a hotel that you call a Motel? You very well know that we did a complete renovation along with name and concept transformation. Yet the only thing that prevents you from booking are the new rates for 2015. and that's all there is to it.

Let's call this for what it is. You are upset because our rates are higher next year, none of the previously mentioned items such as the already improved garbage receptacle and refrigerators were enough to avoid you wanting to book our hotel for 2015. Only when quoted the rates for next July is when that in your opinion the Hotel became a Motel full of defects and you decided to trash us on TripAdvisor.

Call my cell directly if you change your mind about booking... Remember, our rates will increase as we approach the dates that you wish to visit Montauk.

786-325-0952

Gabriel Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family has been visiting Montauk for over 30 years, the last 10 have been at the Ocean Beach. We enjoyed the family friendly atmosphere and met the same families year after year. Our group usually took 3 to 4 rooms each year for the week.

Our last stay in July 2014 was the first year of the renovation. They not only removed the counter with stove and refrigerator, there is absolutely nowhere to place any necessities, we almost bought a folding table just to have somewhere to put things we needed for the week. The garbage pail is now so small it literally holds two coffee cups. They removed all the umbrellas from the pool area so we needed to use our beach umbrellas on the tables near the pool. Because the refrigerator is now tiny, the ice machines were constantly out of ice.

Many long time staff have left and will be missed. Just sorry we weren't able to say goodbye, I guess they knew what was coming.

We could have lived with the faulty accommodations by bringing our own table, pail, ice from town. But the new management has made it clear that they do not want regular families there by raising the rates so much that it is on par with Hamptons prices. Mr Perez has made this abundantly clear with his rude and condescending replies on this site that he cares nothing of his base customers. When asked by telephone, his response was that if we don't book it now the prices are going even higher soon.

It is going to be interesting to see how this summer turns out for them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Former Guest,
It is sad to see that you were our guest this past July in our hotel and waited until Mid-November to literally criticize us and to put your stamp of anger after repeatedly explaining to you yesterday and the day before that our rates now for the summer are lower than what they will be as we approach the days of your desired visit.
You've have said that "we do not want families", not me. I've told you that we cater to everyone without any pre conceived judgements. You are writing this review now because you did not like what we quoted you. So much, that you or possibly your friend or relative wrote a similar review almost as ill conceived as yours right after yours.(Also stayed in July)
Also, all those minor details regarding the refrigerator, room garbage pail, the umbrellas have been addressed and will not be an issue for the 2015 season.
I still don't understand the logic or reasoning that you have asserting that we don't want families because are prices are higher. I doesn't make sense.
Disney World has increased prices every single year since they open and all they have is families.
With all due respect, our price increases are derived from our great product, magnificent location and service.

Sincerely
Gabriel Perez
General Manager
786-325-0952 (cell)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The weather was on the chilly side--which we don't have a problem with as we're not beach-goers, but the view from our beachfront room, looking out over the ocean with fishermen and strollers was magnificent. The room itself was wonderful. The rooms were recently renovated, and they did a very good job. Room came with a big TV, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. When we had trouble with getting the TV to work (which happens all the time with us), we were assisted by hotel staff who came immediately. What more could you ask for? I would definitely recommend this hotel. We're going back next year.

Room Tip: It's a little more money, but be sure to request a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
I am delighted that you had a magnificent experience at Montauk Blue Hotel and that our staff was responsive as you described in your review.
There is nothing more important to us than your absolute satisfaction. Your words and sentiment will be transmitted to our staff who is always eager to hear what our guest say about their job performance and our facilities.
Once more, thank you very much for your comments and please come back soon for another memorable and experience at Montauk Blue Hotel.

Sincerely
Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montauk Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Blue Hotel

Address: 108 South Emerson Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly Ocean Beach Resort)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Montauk Blue Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new guest rooms and bathrooms as the summer of 2014. Spectacular oceanfront location with spacious sun decks just a few steps to downtown Montauk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Montauk Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Hotel Montauk Ny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.