We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Beach Motel, not a resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Blue Hotel

Save Saved
You added Montauk Blue Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Montauk Blue Hotel
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   108 South Emerson Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly Ocean Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean Beach Motel, not a resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Location is nice, right on the sand, but the wave is rough during our stay. Children can't swim. No boardwalk in the area, only small town center, limited choices. Very small indoor pool facing the street

Bedding and towels are clean. Room looked recently remodeled, but cheaply done, as is furniture. Lacks of thoughtful details to provide maximum comfort and convenience given the very small sized room. Large rug area and carpeted closet are damp and moldy. Balcony was dirty. Crumbs and bottle caps from previous occupants were still there.

Overall, hotel is nice for a typical beach side motel in remote areas. Considering the $400+ per night, it's not worth it. Unless you want a quiet, cozy area for adult, not recommended for children. Downstairs oceanfront rooms have direct access to lounge chairs on shared deck. Upstairs balcony is small and has 2 plastic upright chairs, not very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms make sense as you're probably here only for the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent busy to Montauk Blue Hotel. As your title estates, we are not a resort nor we promote ourselves as such. We pride ourselves in the magnificent room product and excellent accommodations. However, I am a bit disappointed to read that you saw signs of a previous guest in the balcony area. For that, my most sincere apologies.
Hopefully you are considering a future visit to our Hotel soon, I will personally take care of all the details prior and during your stay.

Sincerely.
Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Babylon, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been visiting Montauk for the past twenty years and the Ocean Beach Resort has not been a repeat place to stay in quite sometime. However I was intrigued by the picture gallery on their website and thought that we might give it another chance. Just got back from a three day visit and very happy that we stayed at the Montauk Blue. Well, not only has the name changed but also a great deal more. You get a bit of a Miami vibe with the smartly done modern update that the rooms have been given. No pictures needed from me on this review..the website says it all. Staff in the past might have seemed almost non existent.....now......from the front office, to the grounds keepers, to housekeeping, everyone is easily accessible, pleasant, friendly and wanting to see what they can do to make your stay a pleasurable one. If you get the opportunity to meet the new manager, Gabriel, you will realize instantly why the transformation has been an extremely successful one. Its a no brainer when we go back this year where to book, Montauk Blue is our automatic go to now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

I am so happy to read that your experience, as you wrote it was "extremely successful" We always like to hear your comments and suggestions for the purpose of further improvement. However, it is very nice to read your compliments and realize that you completely understand the purpose of the upgrades and changes.
Our upgrades were not merely meant to be just a room renovation but a complete overhaul of the image and the launching of our name and new concept. This has been our theme since we opened the hotel a few weeks ago and a great opportunity to attract those who customarily will have chosen South Beach or the Caribbean as their destination.
I will definitely love to have you visiting us again in the near future and please, don't hesitate to contact me directly for your reservation... We will take care of the rest.

Thank you again

Sincerely
Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cannot recommend Montauk Blue hotel enough. We stayed here at the end of June for 2nights and wished it could have been longer. Perfect location, right on the beach and a quick walk to centre of Montauk. Lovely restaurants and shops close by. The room itself was big and modern with excellent bathroom facilities. Plenty of towels and very comfy beds. 3 of us to the room and we had plenty of room. The best part of our stay was that fact that you can walk from your hotel right on to a deck and then onto the beach. Amazing views!! Jacuzzi and pool were also excellent. Reception were very helpful. Be sure to ask to ask for a room facing the beach and on the ground floor. Lovely and modern. Will definitely go back. Thanks for the wonderful stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your comments and compliments and we would like you to visit us again very soon.
I am always available to take care of your needs before your arrival and during your stay.

Thank you for choosing Montauk Blue Hotel

Sincerely

Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent four days with our extended family at Montauk Blue and we loved it. We had five rooms and family members from 6 years old to 75 years old and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes, a few small things could help enhance the room (bigger fridge, 2nd pail, tv mounted on the wall) but overall it is amazing! The shower is great, the location is so convenient and the balcony and view is priceless. I can't wait for my return visit this week. I had really positive experiences with the staff Gretchen, Randy and Gabriel while staying at Blue. Gabriel, see you soon! Stephanie

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I am so glad that you liked Montauk Blue Hotel so much that you are coming back. I will be happy to ensure that your next experience is flawless and rest assured that we take into consideration all of your comments for further improvement.

Sincerely

Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from 6 days at the newly renovated Montauk Blue, formerly Ocean Beach resort. The blue theme is carried throughout the property and the rooms are all spanking new with a blue and white and beachy feel. You simply cannot beat the location, close to all shopping and right on the oceanfront. The front desk is very accommodating. We scored a midweek special; at $189 per room and had the perfect Montauk escape, including bonfires on the beach!

Room Tip: \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\cHOOSE A ROOM \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ You can hear the ocean fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate that you are very happy with the overall re branding and new concept. As I'm sure you've realized, our intent was not to just provide a renovated room, our intent was to launch our concept and our new name as a unique and distinguished "piece of Blue Heaven" as you call it. We strive to be accommodating and in line with the current trends to offer you the best product and service in Montauk.

Thank you

Sincerely

Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What I meant by my title was this hotel just needs a few things to make it a perfect place to stay in montauk. Rooms were nice, could use a bigger fridge, could hardly put anything in there, definitely needs a safe because front door locks are flimsy, I mean anybody could get in, we are still in n.y. even thought you feel your not.Little things like another garbage pail in room and definitely a scooper for the ice machine, people were using there hands to scoop ice, that was a little nasty. Overall the rooms and views are tremendous , would definitely go back and hope these little things were taken care of, the staff was great also, very easy going

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
I know that when it comes to Montauk you have plenty of options. Therefore, I want to thank you for choosing Montauk Blue Hotel. We are considering your comments and taking into consideration implementing some immediate changes as well as some potential modifications during the off-season.
However, don't wait too long to come back. Our staff will make sure that your stay is a pleasant one.

Sincerely

Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here the past few weekends and recently booked a few more. Gretchen at the front desk is always so sweet and goes above and beyond for us, trying to get us in our room early etc. The rooms are huge with a nice patio - much more updated than other hotels in the surrounding area.

Gabriel the manager is amazing as well! Bringing us a bottle of champagne for our birthday.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriel P, General Manager at Montauk Blue Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment, I value your positive words and praise.

Please don't hesitate to call me directly for your next visit, we will be happy to have you as our guest.

Gabriel Perez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montauk Blue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Blue Hotel

Address: 108 South Emerson Avenue, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly Ocean Beach Resort)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Montauk Blue Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new guest rooms and bathrooms for 2014. Spectacular oceanfront location with spacious sun decks just a few steps to downtown Montauk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Montauk Blue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Hotel Montauk Ny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Blue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.