We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   32 Star Island Rd., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Montauk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We couldn't have been happier. Super kid-friendly! The grounds are well manicured. Pools were clean. Staff super attentive. Tennis courts interesting Restaurants had great service. Bar staff friendly. Hey, you're in Montauk to boot!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaukMYC, Public Relations Manager at Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 27, 2015
Greetings,
Thanks for your review. We are super kid friendly, as we are like a summer camp for the whole family. With boats, tennis, pools, surfing, hiking, barbecues and bonfires - we go all out! Thanks for noticing. We look forward to seeing your whole crew again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    119
    69
    43
    41
See reviews for
119
151
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This review is long overdue, but I'm sure that not much has changed. We stayed in the villas at this property and the photos on the site were very different from the actual appearance of the rooms. The rooms were drab, all white in rundown little huts off to the side of the main property. The coffee machine didn't work, the cups had lipstick stains and wifi was non existent. When we called the front desk to complain and mentioned that the rooms were not as pictured, we were offered to view other available rooms in the villas to see if we liked other rooms better. While this was a nice gesture, we discovered that none of the rooms in the villas that we saw looked as they do on their site. Eventually we switched and were put up in the last villa at the edge of the resort. The room was also all white and drab, but at least the view was a bit better. However, when we came back from dinner than night, the door to the villa would not open (it must have swelled up from humidity) and all the other rooms in that particular villa were unoccupied. After we called the front desk for help, we had to wait outside in the dark for 30 mins for security to come and open the door for us while we were being devoured by mosquitoes. Needless to say, we checked out first thing next morning and cut our vacation short. It seemed that the actual resort property was a bit nicer than the villas, but we were definitely disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontaukMYC, Public Relations Manager at Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to review Montauk Yacht Club. I am sorry to see that we failed to reach your expectations. Regarding the rooms, we work consistently at maintenance and upkeep of the physical property and soft goods like linens and carpeting, and do a full sweep during the off season. I am sorry that we did not pass your muster but hope you will return again to see the fruits of our efforts.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I chose this location to stay in Montauk because they allow small dogs and it looked luxurious. For the price they charge I wanted to be spoiled, and heard good things.
Pros: the grounds are immaculate and amazing views. Probably a great hotel if you dont have a pet or stay in the rooms that accomodate pets.
Cons: Walls are paper thin. We got to spend hours each day listening to the neighbors dog bark nonstop for hours while left alone each day. Also got to hear that same neighbor have a breakdown screaming the F word for about an hour and a half nonstop one night. Other guests do not abide by pet rules AT ALL (leaving pet alone even when notified not to). The allowable pet areas are not easily identified on the grounds. At the outside restaurant where you apparently seat yourself, we waited over 15 minutes to even be acknowledged.
So, needless to say, I was not happy with my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does NOT accomodate pets, or in that area. And eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff were completely overwhelmed and came across as poorly trained and, on several occasions, unprofessional. A few members of staff bucked the trend, but these efforts were lost amongst the dominant poor attitude of their colleagues.

The positives for this hotel is that it is in a nice setting and the menu selection was good. However, when the food arrived, it too had suffered from poor service – having taken more than an hour to come out, our meals had to be sent back on a couple of occasions for being cold or overcooked.

The gym is shockingly bad – its tiny, has limited equipment and was dirty – plus there were always dirty towels on the floor of the changing room and the shower had clearly not been cleaned in a while.

The rooms were underwhelming – a musty smell lingered, our ‘fresh’ sheets had stains on them and the bathroom fixtures were exceedingly average – not something we expected for the room rate. The majority of staff did not look happy to be there or confident in their abilities – the atmosphere they created during breakfast and at the Gulf Coast Kitchen was a feeling that they were inconvenienced by the existence of guests. We did not feel welcome or at ease. There were a few exceptions (the bar tender was attentive) but this was not the rule.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have a musty smell, poor wifi and bad TV reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHITE PLAINS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food is mediocre, took forever to come out. 4/17 meals had to be sent back at the gulf cost kitchen on Saturday night dinner.

The rooms are musty, toilet didn't work. No wifi in the villa rooms

The service is terrible, the worst I have ever had at a hotel. Multiple drinks spilled on us. Breakfast took almost an hour to serve.

No towels at the pool.

Wife asked for a towel at the gym and was given a bath mat. When she complained she was told it wad 'good enough'.

My sister asked the head waiter to put some tables together for a breakfast for 17, waiter sighed and said 'that's gonna be a lot of work'

It costs us almost $700/night, this hotel is an absolute disgrace.

DO NOT GO HERE!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights during the week. Booked thru Expedia for discounted room. What a nice experience! Clean rooms and bathroom. Pretty comfy beds. Made a reservation at the last minute, so didn't have that great of a view, but most rooms had lake views. The wi-fi connection did not exist in the room, but I think that was because it was practically the furthest away room from the lobby area. The cell service was also pretty bad, but it's T-Mobile so many that's why. They have 3 pools, a man-made beach area (technically the lake) where you can borrow canoes, kayaks, & paddle boats not boards as I misread and was expecting those, bonfires at night (can buy a s'mores kit for $13 at the restaurant), fitness center, tennis courts, and you can also borrow bikes for up to 2 hours at a time. Recommend going to the pool by the villas. It is a lot less crowded and there are comfy poolside beds there! The resort property is pretty big. The marina is really nice to walk around. The restaurant was pretty good. Had breakfast there. Try the rice crispy french toast. Probably the best thing on the menu! Also, there is a bar, but the frozen drinks are weak, could barely taste the alcohol. The hotel is also not in the center of Montauk, so you will need to drive about 5 minuets to get into town or you can always bike ride. But overall, a very pleasant experience!

Room Tip: The further away your room is from the lobby, the worse the wi-fi connection. Stayed at practically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have been traveling around New England for 2 weeks and this was our last stop. Love it ! Nice staff, amazing room overlooking the lake with really big balcony/terrace. We had breakfast and dinners in hurricane alley restaurant and enjoyed both very much. Really nice little touches like free popcorn for the kids and fun things like free use of canoes & pedelo on the lovely little beach.lifeguards at all the pools and the beach which was an added bonus when you have small children especially as unlike in Europe we didn't have lifeguards at any of our other American hotels. Small downsides would be the beds are rather small & an incredible loud American family arrived with a million kids and extended family member's and little dog and couldn't be more loud,spoilt & brash. They seemed to think that everyone wanted to hear ever catfight and comment had between them. They (as I couldn't help but over hear) had all been coming for decades and so behaved like they owned the place complaining loudly about the cheek of some of the guests complaining about her dog being at the pool! I LIKE dogs but don't think they should be at the pool wrapped in hotel towels. One dog cocked its leg on my daughter at the beach when she was buried in sand and took a wee on her (was a bit funny)& my son walked In some dog poo on the hotel grounds, not nice. Can't blame the Brilliant hotel for its guests though but think should rethink the dog thing.

Room Tip: Book a room with a beach/ lake veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
6.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#8 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ruschmeyer's
Ruschmeyer's
#12 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#15 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Address: 32 Star Island Rd., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history and tradition, The Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, founded in 1929, is situated on 35-acres of scenic waterfront property at the East End of Long Island, New York where it has been the preferred playground for a who’s who of visitors since famed entrepreneur Carl Fisher built the original clubhouse. Today, after a multi-million dollar redesign and renovation, owner Island Global Yachting opens the new Resort & Marina to family holiday makers, wedding parties, corporate meetings and events. Montauk is a seasonal destination and the height of the season is Memorial day to Labor Day. The Montauk Yacht Club is open from March 1st until the Sunday after Thanksgiving. While Montauk is great in the off seasons and there are activities to enjoy, please note that during the winter and early spring some business in Montauk will close. Please speak to a reservation agent at Montauk Yacht Club and we will be happy to assist you with questions regarding the off season. There is still fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina Hotel Montauk
Montauk Yacht Club Resort And Marina
Yacht Club Montauk
Montauk Yacht Hotel And Marina
Montauk Yacht Resort And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.