We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Montauk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   32 Star Island Rd., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of Montauk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I loved our room and it's location. I like the privacy of the hotel and the location of our room and our view was amazing. It was super family friendly and a welcoming staff. The food was so good we didn't even try anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    110
    67
    39
    35
See reviews for
106
141
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place is incredibly beautiful with a staff that is genuinely helpful! Pam could not have been more helpful! Thank you! With out their generous support, our school would not have been able to hold our annual class trip! Thank you all!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have stayed here many times and have always been pleased. Terrific location removed from town and on the water. The staff has always been very efficient and friendly. There are two locations to eat on the property, one laid back and one more formal and they both have great food.

Room Tip: If you like a water view then try to get a marina or beach view room. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We checked in on June 4th, 2013. That day is my wife's birthday. I called reservations who handles the amenities for the property and spoke with Monica. She was great. Very helpful and informative. I wanted the amenity ready for my wife upon arrival but originally thought we wouldnt be arriving until later in the day/early evening. It turns out that our plans changed and we were able to get there much earlier. I called the hotel and spoke with someone at the front desk and they said no problem and that they would call room service and have them get right on it. At no fault of the hotels, when we did arrive the room wasnt quite ready as room service was still working on the amenity. I drove my wife and daughter around Montauk for about a half hour and when we returned it was set. Beautiful chocolate covered strawberry and wine display. We were supposed to stay for 3 days 2 nights but unfortunately on our 2nd day we ran into some rental car issues. Our trunk wouldnt open and we had a bag and more importantly our $700 stroller for my 2 year old. Walking around Montauk with a 2 year old and no stroller can be stressfull so unfortunatley we had to cut our stay short. My wife spoke with the front desk manager and he was VERY understanding and informed us that as long as we could be out of the room by 4pm he would not charge us for the 2nd night. This was very unexpected and extremely accomodating. We had a great time even though our stay was cut short. We were in a villa room which has a TON of open space for our daughter to run around which was a nice change after staying in NYC for 3 nights previously. The grounds are beautiful and my daughter really enjoyed the playground. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Villa rooms are very spacious. Not right on site and you have a VERY short walk from Villas to get b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been going to an annual conference at this place for several years. Our group loves the scenic waterfront views and the tennis courts, indoor and outdoor pools, and the fitness center. The Montauk Downs golf course is a five-minute drive away, and it offers golfers a challenging and pretty course at a very economical rate. So if you have nice weather, this place is a fantastic venue. The rooms are furnished comfortably, and most have a patio or terrace. The best ones overlook the bay. The food was better this year than it has ever been, and the staff is overwhelmingly friendly and helpful if somewhat inexperienced. The manager on duty while our group was there, Matt, however, was unable to cope with numerous complaints from our group concerning room assignments and internet access. When the rooms were booked, our members had preferences for rooms in the main house or in the villas located a 10-minute walk away from the main house facilities. Although the hotel could not guarantee room preferences would be honored, it became clear that our room assignments were irrational with people placed in the opposite accommodations from that which was requested at booking. On top of that, internet access did not work in many rooms. Whe these problems came to Matt's attention, he was virtually unsympathetic and/or unhelpful in resolving them. He tried to be pleasant, but his ineffectiveness was the subject of conversation by a number of people in our group. The hotel clearly has a problem in honoring booking requests for rooms and providing internet access. Beyond that, a hotel managaer should be hired who understands the most fundamental principles of hotel management--"don't promise what you can't deliver" and "it's my job to make sure my guests are happy." Matt went through the motions of offering to help and promising to deliver, but ultimately he alienated a number of people in our group by not resolving their complaints to their satisfaction or making promises that were never kept. Hopefully he will learn from his mistakes, and become an excellent manager. In the meantime, the Montauk Yacht Club is still a nice place for a conference or a vaction stay, but document your requests for lodging and get a written confirmation. Don't count on reliable internet access, if that's something you rely on, and don't expect the manager to deal effectively with any problems you may have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remsenburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was one of the "few" that braved the cold rain and forged on with my holiday weekend out here! Christina was AWESOME on the phone, she helped me with the rest of my groups reservations. I was greeted by a VERY friendly staff who hadn't seen many people due to cancellations. They swung the doors open, brought my luggage to my room with me even though I had it all under control. Matt at the front desk was very happy to show my daughter his new "shell display". Art and Roy seemed to be awaiting our arrival at the INDOOR pool. They were so sweet and kept my daughter and I entertained by fetching the ball she kept bopping out of the pool. We had dinner that evening in their restaurant and it was all delicious, except my daughter wanted a slice of pepperoni pizza. It was $4 a slice and $2 for a topping (with NO SIDES). I really think they should re-think that one. Our room was pleasant with a court yard view. Bathroom floor could use some elbow grease but nothing that would ruin my stay. The next day we had breakfast in the dining room overlooking the water and I LOVED the Rice Crispy FRENCH TOAST. Then we went to Deep Hollow Horseback where we continued to brave the cold rain and returned home. What a great trip for my 10 yr old and me!!!

Room Tip: If you don't have a car and the shuttle only goes to 3 locations, plan on paying $10 per trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great place! What else can I say. We had a marina view & even though Mother Nature did not cooperate, it was still beautiful to look at. The room was very nice & had a comfortable feel. The food at the restuarant was excellent & the staff was wonderful. Don't miss out on this gem in Montauk!

Room Tip: The Marina rooms have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Address: 32 Star Island Rd., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history and tradition, The Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, founded in 1929, is situated on 35-acres of scenic waterfront property at the East End of Long Island, New York where it has been the preferred playground for a who’s who of visitors since famed entrepreneur Carl Fisher built the original clubhouse. Today, after a multi-million dollar redesign and renovation, owner Island Global Yachting opens the new Resort & Marina to family holiday makers, wedding parties, corporate meetings and events. Montauk is a seasonal destination and the height of the season is Memorial day to Labor Day. The Montauk Yacht Club is open from March 1st until the Sunday after Thanksgiving. While Montauk is great in the off seasons and there are activities to enjoy, please note that during the winter and early spring some business in Montauk will close. Please speak to a reservation agent at Montauk Yacht Club and we will be happy to assist you with questions regarding the off season. There is still fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina Hotel Montauk
Montauk Yacht Club Resort And Marina
Yacht Club Montauk
Montauk Yacht Hotel And Marina
Montauk Yacht Resort And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.