We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   32 Star Island Rd., Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overcharged!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a room for $139.00 at the last minute for the night before Easter. Room was beautiful. It was very peaceful overnight stay. However, when we checked in I just signed everything quickly, we were tired and needed to get in the room.. I was very annoyed when they charged us $149.00 plus a $15 resort fee????? that I was never told about when I made the reservation. So, because I had signed the form they would not refund the $25.00 even though I had no idea I was charged this. She would not refund the room difference either. They never gave me a room breakdown when we checked out. The people were not helpful. Should have done the small refund as a courtesy. Badly done!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    110
    67
    39
    35
See reviews for
106
141
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Beatiful location, clean and comfortable room. The staff was pleasant but we did not seek them out very much. The enclosed, 1st floor porch was a treat. Recomend for anyone staying in the area. The outdoor seating areas were very nice and the indoor pool would have been great had we brought the kids. Sad that they did not have a hot tub. We stayed off-season and could not have been happier.

Room Tip: 1st floor on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recommend this place. It has great pools, beach access, private villas and cabanas. Love it. They even have a spa which was closed when we were there, but it wasn't a big deal. Restaurant on premises was excellent and bar. Enjoy it.

Room Tip: Villa room or Marina View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here with my husband off-season - we were happy to get a water-facing room and the service was great, very attentive. The room itself was nice, but far from worth the exorbitant prices that the hotel charges during peak season. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large, but the balcony was dated and in need of some touch ups, and the bathroom sink looked like it had seen better days. Not too many "special" amenities that would justify them charging the rates they do in the summertime. But for an off-peak season getaway, it was just fine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Booked the room this March and was very happy with the decision.
Since it was off season, the hotel without prompting, upgraded me to a suite on the beach.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
The room was modern, yet with a nautical theme. The view was wonderful.
The room service was fast a delicious! I would stay again and again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the bay on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent a quiet, romantic winter night here with my pretty wife and the hotel was nearly empty. Had a great meal in the bar area and then went for a walk down by the water, took some pictures and wrote our names in the sand. The air was clean and cold and crisp, and the stars were bright in the sky, a totally relaxing feeling. Our room was warm and deck out back overlooked Lake Montauk. Looks like this place hops in the summer. Great Hotel. Didn't have a chance to swim in the indoor pool but it looks beautiful. Very friendly staff gave us complimentary room upgrade, which was awesome. Trip totaled 15 hours and was exactly what we needed. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Lake if you can. New England Clam Chowder is outstanding! A perfect place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Montauk Yacht Club is a relaxing and beautiful resort to stay in. The rooms are immaculate, staff friendly and service prompt. The restaurants were well managed with a varied menu. I ordered room service one night and the food was delicious and well plated. The room I stayed in over looked the yacht slips and it was wonderful sitting out on the deck off my room in the morning with a cup of coffee or at dusk with a glass of wine. The club has an indoor and outdoor pool and a quaint beach on the water.
The town of Montauk is sweet with many individual shops. The bakery makes scrumptious cookies, cupcakes along with other bakery items. In April it is quiet but gets very busy during the summer months.

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor facing the water. Most rooms facing the water had a small deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina

Address: 32 Star Island Rd., Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montauk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history and tradition, The Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, founded in 1929, is situated on 35-acres of scenic waterfront property at the East End of Long Island, New York where it has been the preferred playground for a who’s who of visitors since famed entrepreneur Carl Fisher built the original clubhouse. Today, after a multi-million dollar redesign and renovation, owner Island Global Yachting opens the new Resort & Marina to family holiday makers, wedding parties, corporate meetings and events. Montauk is a seasonal destination and the height of the season is Memorial day to Labor Day. The Montauk Yacht Club is open from March 1st until the Sunday after Thanksgiving. While Montauk is great in the off seasons and there are activities to enjoy, please note that during the winter and early spring some business in Montauk will close. Please speak to a reservation agent at Montauk Yacht Club and we will be happy to assist you with questions regarding the off season. There is still fishing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina Hotel Montauk
Montauk Yacht Club Resort And Marina
Yacht Club Montauk
Montauk Yacht Hotel And Marina
Montauk Yacht Resort And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.