We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to get a drink and catch up on e-mail” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 668 The Gigshack

668 The Gigshack
782 Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954
+1 631-668-2727
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Seafood, International, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Family Run, Fun and energetic scene with Great food and a Great Bar! Outdoor seating right in the Heart of montauk town that is great for people watching, or enjoying all the live music over a drink!
London/Philadelphia/Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place to get a drink and catch up on e-mail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Cedar Point County Park campground, and did not have Internet access. The Gigshack was a great place to have a glass of wine and catch up on the Internet in the evening. There is a young crowd and live music, but it was not at an obnoxious level for my friend and I who were older. The staff was very friendly. We tried to tuna taco appetizer, and it was yummy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    50
    14
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific pulled pork empanadas and blackened fish tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great reggae singer at the bar Thursday nights with vibrant bar scene and terrific ribs, pulled pork empanadas and fish tacos. Delicious gelato and cupcakes for dessert!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We didnt know to expect such yummy fresh food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had never visited Montauk before, and the food at 668 was fresh and delicious. The service was friendly and accomodating, but, on the slow side. But all in all, we all enjoyed our food. Crispy chicken tenders for the kids, fabulous fresh fish tacos, savory veggie burger and juicy cheese burger. A yummy lunch we enjoyed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly and Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stopped in for lunch and some cocktails before hitting the Donovan show, and was pleasantly surprised. Yes, it is overpriced; it is Montauk. However, the food was delicious and FRESH. The scallop salad was wonderful and the fries were a big hit at our table, Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. and the atmosphere is 100% cozy surf town vibe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good meal, easy with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Centrally located in town, this Montauk eatery is everything you want on a family vacation: easy, friendly service, lots of seating options (inside and out, patio and sidewalk) and a good menu for adults and kids. We were seated promptly early on a Saturday night and our server appeared right away for our drink order. We ordered quickly and did not have to wait too long for our food, always a blessing with kids. We ordered sweet potato tater tots that had a maple glaze, which we asked for on the side but did not receive as ordered. The server noticed immediately and corrected the order with the kitchen...a replacement came in a few minutes. The food was very tasty and our kids enjoyed it as much as we did. Though the restaurant does not have a "kid menu" there are many kid-friendly menu options...the panko fish fingers and aforementioned tots were a big hit. Definitely check this place out if you are in the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 668 The Gigshack also viewed

 

Been to 668 The Gigshack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 668 The Gigshack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.