We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self serve and good lobster!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duryea's Lobster Deck

Duryea's Lobster Deck
65 Tuthill Rd, Montauk, NY 11954
(631) 668-2410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 86 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Self serve and good lobster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

For a rustic meal where you serve yourself and sit on the docks and relax with good company, Duryea is THE place for seafood lovers. They have a varied menu of shellfish, clam chowder, and fresh caught fish. Remember to bring your own alcohol!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Fork, of LI
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Rustic Lobster Shack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

You don't have to visit Maine to experience an old-school Lobster Shack. Duryea's fits that bill to a tee, and if you are a Lobster Lover, you'll be in paradise.

The menu focuses on Lobster and other local seafood, and the outdoor deck features beautiful views of the local bays.
The setting is rustic, and perfect for chilling out, and enjoying your company, and the Lobster.

They also feature a seafood market that is open year round, and in the off-season they spotlight a Lobsters Lover special to go, that is worth the drive to Monatuk.

Ken

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Laid-back Montauk at Hampton Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great spot on the water to kick-back and eat good food. A bit pricey, but you can bring your own beer/wine and the food is delicious. Always crowded but always a good meal. The help is summer help from eastern europe/soviet union so there's a bit of "attitude" to the place. Although we got there just before they closed and they all left before we were finished and just asked us to throw our stuff away when we left and make sure the tops are on the garbage cans. Always reminds me of a scene from "The Russians are coming". Ha!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“INSANELY OVERPRICED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The people who wrote good reviews are clearly on the take--as was the guy at our hotel who recommended this spot. A losbster dinner was approximately $35--three times more than you would pay anywhere else in the area. In addition, the lobster was dry, tasteless and clearly over cooked. The lobster roll--cheaper than a dinner by a very narrow margin--was mostly mayonnaise. Dinner for two adults and a child was almost $100. Way too much money for a place that where you have to serve yourself on paper plates. Don't get taken in by the recommendations like we did.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“If you love lobster, you'd better come here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Duryea's Lobster Deck is a must stop for anyone who loves lobster. However, if you're expecting to eat your lobster in a fancy restaurant setting, you're going to be disappointed. At Duryea's, you're going to eat outside with plastic chairs, tables, and utensils. However, whether you go with the whole lobster, the lobster roll, or the lobster soup or clam chowder, your taste buds are going to thank you. I've never had a bad meal in the half dozen times I've been here. I even showed up once as they were closing hoping to make a large order, and they accommodated me. Now that is service! Once thing to take note here....its cash only.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duryea's Lobster Deck also viewed

 

Been to Duryea's Lobster Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duryea's Lobster Deck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.