We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sail Inn of Montauk

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sail Inn of Montauk
548 West Lake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Huntington, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Customer Service Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

With plans to go on a whale watching cruise The Sail Inn is the perfect location...... just a very short walk from the dock. The location is also great if you are planning a fishing trip or taking the ferry to Block Island. The room was clean and large. There is also a bar in the main building which was full when we checked in around 5:00p.m. But the best thing I can say about The Sail is their customer service. When making the reservation, via telephone, the staff was very nice and accommodating. Upon check-in, even with a busy bar, I was immediately attended to. After our visit we realized we left something at The Sail and called the office to see if they could locate it......They did and send it back to us at no charge....now that's customer service above and beyond. Looking forward to another visit there soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
8
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Back home after our second visit to the Sail Inn where we received a warm "welcome back" from George and Joanne.Again not disappointed, spotlessly clean room with plenty of hot water and fresh towels provided every day.Enjoyed the homely atmosphere during "Happy Hour" meeting up with the regulars and having the odd game of pool.The harbour is just a stones throw away while the local bus stops just outside the door should you feel like venturing into town.

For a relaxed and value for money vacation the Sail Inn cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

If you are looking for a clean room, with a nice quiet place to eat or have few drinks right down stairs, then the Sail Inn is the place your looking for! Everyone was very nice, and welcoming. The location is great too! Located in the harbor area, you can walk to the boats and shops. You won't find more for your money anywhere else, I promise!!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms have jacuzzi's!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Wonderful place to be ANY time of year. We planned a romantic winter get-a-way & enoyed it immensely. Room is casual but cozy & clean. We selected a non-jacuzzi, standard room.

Friendly bar, nice atmosphere. We truly enjoyed meeting & chatting with all the nice people we met. Owners do special occasion meals & are very friendly & accommodating. We enjoyed scrumptious corned beef & cabbage in the bar on St. Patty's Day weekend. Local folks are awesome...and you can sense the casual local flavor in the off-season. I understand its full of tourists in warmer months, but that's got adavantages, too. We would love to go back...winter or summer.

Many nearby sites to see. Lighthouse, seal watching hikes (seasonal---we saw them..!), beach walks, great food. Came from Alabama to explore & appreciate the true end of the island. Neaby marina's for fishing any time of year. Chartered cod fishing trips were there in early March. Looked like fun, but we had other plans ;) If you want upscale stuff, go somewhere else. If you want to have a good ol'time, I hope you're lucky enough to book the Sail Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just returned from memorable two week vacation at the Sail Inn. Perfect location right beside docks, ideal if you like to fish. Large room with balcony, two queen sized beds, lots of hot water, shower fresh linen and towels. The bar downstairs has a nice atmosphere, where locals and guests can mingle and chat with friendly bar staff.There is also a pool table. A big thank you to George and Joanne, who made us feel most welcome.Looking forward to a return trip to the Sail Inn next year.- Paddy and Jackie Dublin

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, nj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very nice stay. Clean rooms, close to whatever you want to do, very frendly staff. Great bartender.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I was expecting a lot less...we booked two nights in August four days in advance on a whim and were happy to find somewhere affordable. We had pretty low expectations, but Sail Inn has its charms (lack of rust isn't one of them). The top floor rooms in the back overlook Long Island Sound and a scruffy patch of land which deer pop up in.
The wifi worked well, the towels were soft, clean and large enough, the bed was comfortable and the decor was quite pleasant, the water pressure got our sand off.
The staff were friendly and accommodating.
Really a very nice surprise.
Loved being in the Montauk harbor area, not the main spot of town but plenty of stuff in walking distance and away from the traffic of the main drag.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sail Inn of Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sail Inn of Montauk

Address: 548 West Lake Drive, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 hotels in Montauk
Also Known As:
Sail Inn Of Montauk Hotel Montauk
Sail Hotel Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sail Inn of Montauk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sail Inn of Montauk to your Saves list