We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, Typical Montauk Beachy feel. Great for Families.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daunt's Albatross Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Daunt's Albatross Motel to your Saves list
Daunt's Albatross Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   44 S Elmwood Ave., P.O. Box 687, Montauk, NY 11954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off May/June Weekdays
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Long Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Typical Montauk Beachy feel. Great for Families.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Daunt's Albatross has been in Montauk forever and is a great deal for a family on a budget who wants a kitchenette, pool, and great ocean location. You cross the streetand you're on the ocean.
The place is dated and nothing fancy but it has everything you need for the kids and yourself and the staff is friendly. There are outdoor BBQ grills and picnic tables as well as a decent pool. The other great thing is that you are centrally located in the town of Montauk and can walk everywhere. You are close to food stores, deli's, boutiques, and of course, most importantly, especially if you have brought the kids, bars and liquor stores. Check it the place out. They offer great third night free specials.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    11
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just got back from our third yearly vacation at Daunt's. We would never stay anywhere else. We are greeted and treated like family. Every effort is made to get us in our rooms as soon as possible - this year we were in by 12! The breakfast every morning is great and such a money-saver for families traveling with kids. No, it's not the Hilton. But if you are looking for that, Montauk is not for you - Go to the Hamptons. Montauk is a safe, fun, family-friendly, beautiful beach town. Daunt's is right in the heart of it. Cindy and the rest of the staff treat us wonderfully, starting with gentle emails in the winter reminding us of our upcoming reservations. To all the complainers out there: If you were in your room enough to study it and write a descriptive essay of everything you found wrong with your room, then you were in your room way too much. It's Montauk - go outside, rent a bike, go for a walk. BTW, the sunset at Gossman's is breathtaking and not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're looking for a cheap stay in Montauk this motel might be right for you, however a budget room comes at a price. I was in Montauk with my family so split between us I was able to see three different rooms. My girl friend and I stayed in a room with a double and a twin bed. Of the three rooms ours was the nicest. It was relatively clean, had a balcony on second floor. My grandparents had a room with two twin beds. Finally my parents stayed in a room with a Queen sized bed. Their room was inarguably the most run down room of the three. Everything in the room seemed older and dingy. Perhaps my biggest complaint for all three rooms was that the locks on each room had something wrong with them. My parents room was impossibly hard to open, my grandparent's deadbolt didn't work, and my room didn't even have a deadbolt! On top of that the handle on my room was very loose. Beds may not be the greatest but I'm young so I barely noticed. Bottom line, the rooms didn't feel terribly secure. Over all the motel has a very shanty vibe. On the flip side the location is great. You're seconds from the beach and seconds from the downtown area. But nonetheless, if you don't want to sell yourself short, I would go with a different hotel. If you're on a budget and that's all that matters this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Yes the place is outdated but how much time are you staying in the room? The rooms are clean and spacious on the east side 2nd floor. Walked everywhere the only time we drove was to a lobster shack and the lighthouse. Prices are great and no minimum unless its a weekend.

Room Tip: 2nd floor efficiency was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm writing this review right now from inside one of Daunt's grimy little albatross haunts. This mattress is less tempur-pedic and more human-size dish-washing sponge in a ziploc. It's around 2 am.

The only way to lock your motel door at Daunt's is to twist the greasy knob lock on the inside of the room and then slam it shut from the outside. Drunken twenty-somethings, unsure whether to continue the prowl outside in hope of a sloppy parking lot hookup or pass out in their rooms to Three's Company (our neighbors' show of choice), intermittently slam their doors all night as they invariably change their minds.

This wouldn't be so bad if these walls had more integrity than paper grocery bags. Or if our room did not smell like a foot. Or if the carpet wasn't suspiciously moist. Or if I couldn't tell that everything appeared to be in medias rot.

The last minute air freshener campaign that the staff hastily applied before our arrival did not mask the musty, sordid past of the room. The people before us did leave lots of their tequila-scented clothes in a drawer, which was nice of them.

When booking a room at Daunt's Albatross (most likely because everything else is booked in the area), understand that there are some positives: yes, you will be in the center of town and steps from the beach. There is free wifi that works half of the time. The staff is very young, friendly, accommodating and chipper. They graciously let us keep our luggage there and gave us access to their employee bathroom after checkout. There is a complementary breakfast of bagels, watermelon and just barely stale cereal every morning. It's pretty cheap for montauk (we paid $190 a night during peak season). Just be sure to expect a motel room experience more akin to a Motel 6 than a charming little beach bungalow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we booked last minute and our friends were staying across the street. We figured how bad can it be? Well, it was horrible. I am surprised people stay here still!! I can be a germ-a-phob however, my husband doesn't get bothered by anything. We spent the day in Montauk and went back to the hotel. We decided we could not spend a minute in this disgusting room. We debated whether it was better to sleep in the car or drive home at midnight. We drove home and could not have been happier. Do not waste your time and money on this hotel. It smelled gross and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. I don't think the owners put $1 into this property in the last 30+ years.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We've been staying at Daunt's Albatross Motel for close to 20 years. It is a family run business - we go back time and time again and are treated like family. I can't say enough about the staff - everyone always has a smile and are willing to accomodate our every need. The motel is a half block from the ocean and a very short walking distance from town so it is easy to get to the shops and to get something to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daunt's Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daunt's Albatross Motel

Address: 44 S Elmwood Ave., P.O. Box 687, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Daunt's Albatross Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Location, one block from the beach and the town. Family oriented with BBQ's, an outdoor pool and many more features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Daunt's Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daunt`s Albatross Hotel Montauk
Albatross Hotel Montauk
Albatross Motel Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daunt's Albatross Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.