We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING, LOW KEY, CLEAN RIGHT ON BEACH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Surf Resort
Save
You added Ocean Surf Resort to your Saves list
84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“AMAZING, LOW KEY, CLEAN RIGHT ON BEACH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Ocean Surf was a great place to spend July 4th weekend. The rooms are clean, spacious, and most importantly, within steps of the beach. Vinnie and his wife were very kind hosts who even lent us beach chairs (although they may not be so kind again since someone stole one of them before we left!). The pool and area around the hotel are kept impecabbly neat by staff that we saw working tirelessly throughout the day and into the night. The hotel's location is perfect - beach on one side, and a short walk to restaurants and shops on the other. I am very particular about where I stay when I travel. In the past I've ended up at motels that smelled awful and had rust/mold in the bathroom. While Ocean Surf's rooms are not luxury (translation - mattresses and bedding leave a little to be desired), it is clean, with fresh towels and maid service daily. We stayed in Room 7, upstairs, which was nice and quiet. I couldn't have been happier there. The pictures that other people have posted really say it all. Ocean Front!
Ocean Surf is the perfect place for a long weekend in Montauk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    10
    2
    11
See reviews for
52
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I loved this place. with it's sky blue paint job and breezy personality, it reminded me of family vacations to florida where we would stay at beach-front, stilted cottage 'resorts' named the pink shell...or the palmetto inn. where we would spend our time digging for sand dollars...and not party hopping. total nostalgic cuteness. there is no glitz and glam, no high design, no celeb spottings.

before arriving with my boyfriend and our friends, i was convinced that we should stay at surf lodge, with its julian schnabel coffee table books, carefully propped surf boards, and popular restaurant. but by the time we finished dinner at the surf lodge (which was fantastic food but vibe a bit meat packing district-esque), i was so happy to go back to our kitschy gem on the beach.

if you're looking for frette sheets and fine china....keep looking. ocean surfs rooms are modest (and impeccably clean)...but this place's draw is the perfectly maintained pool and deck, its two block walk to 'downtown' montauk, the (literally) four-second stroll to the beach, the accommodating management and their adorable daughter, and the other clients who are there to relax on the heavenly slice of montauk beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I and my mom (who traveled with us and had her own room, poolside) loved our stay at the Ocean Surf Resort. The location is right on the gorgeous beach but also within two blocks walk of town, so you don't need a car to stay here (although we had one, and enjoyed visiting the lighthouse and harbor). Our "platinum" room had a very comfortable king-size bed and a terrace with one of the most perfect ocean views I've ever experienced (including stays in California, Maine, and Europe). At night you could hear the surf and step out to view the stars and (on one evening) the bonfires that are permitted on the beach. The room was clean and spacious, and the very friendly housekeepers kept it neat and tidy. The room also had a mini-fridge, a toaster oven, a two-burner stove and an assortment of glasses, cutlery, mugs, corkscrew -- nothing elaborate but enough. The property also has a large pool overlooking the ocean and quaint touches like an ice-cream vending machine, with Good Humor toasted almond and creamsicle pops! Both our room and my mom's room (which also had a mini-kitchen, including a microwave) were completely satisfactory (although our bed was the most comfortable; hers was a bit soft for her taste). She also had a deck with chairs. We spent the day looking at the ocean, reading, walking on the beach, drinking wine on the terrace and having some great meals -- Fishbar and Harvest were both terrific for dinner, and we loved Joni's and The Dock for lunch (two more different places -- a health-foody spot and an old-fashioned pub down by the harbor -- one couldn't imagine). We also liked walking around the village and should say a special thank you to the very helpful pharmacist at White's Drug Store, who was particularly kind to my mom. This was our first trip to Montauk but I must say that I can't conceive of a place to stay that would be better than the Ocean Surf (admittedly, it's more expensive than some) and will certainly recommend it to my family and friends. One final note: the rooms as described by Vinnie were as advertised -- although there is a list of rules that comes with the reservation confirmation, relating to cancellation and late check-out and the like -- so long as you abide by the rules, you will have a terrific stay here. (And it helped that the weather cooperated!)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

My wife and I decided to spend some time with each other, so we took a quiet trip to Montauk and stayed at the Ocean Surf. It was an amazing stay and probably one of our best vacations. We had a lovely dinner and took a wonderful walk on the beach, which was easy since the Ocean Surf is right on the beach. The room was very clean and relaxing, and is definitely an upgrade from the other Montauk hotels that we have stayed at. The management was very helpful and understanding of our needs, and made of our stay very enjoyable. I strongly recommend the Ocean Surf to everyone, because you will have a fantastic stay.

  • Liked — Location, Management, Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Family of 4 in need of a summer getaway, waiting until the last possible moment to book a room. Chamber of Commerce (another great source) led us to this wonderful hotel. Vinny, the manager/owner was helpful and honest with what he had at the last moment. He was accomodating to the entire family without realizing it. We booked 2 separate rooms for 6 nights and 7 days. The first was the oceanfront with a balcony, simply irresistable. The view was amazing. The balcony was resting almost on top of the sand, with the beach in front of you and their pool to the side of you. Easy to spot the children at anytime in the day. At night the beach was lined with at least 40 bonfires from end to end. Montauk is the only beach that allows bonfires, with the beach patrol combing the sand in the early morning hours cleaning the debris. The second room was booked poolside. Also a treat, especially with small children. Featured a large deck and picnic tables with umbrellas. The kids ran and laughed and had a convenient luch at the picnic tables. The pool's gate had locks and had to be opened by an adult, so safety was good and enabeled us some rest in the room with the sliders open hearing the kids within earshot. Either room is a winner with this marverlous beach steps away. The short walk to town was also a huge plus, didn't drive the entire week. Don't forget to try the New Orleans snowballs across from the IGA (just don't refer to them as snowcones). The staff at this hotel was very hospitable and friendly, especially Tato in charge of cleaning. Another added surprise is that this hotel offers free wireless service, handy for those workaholics or teenagers. One of the few hotels that offers internet as well as a pool a stone's throw from a gorgeous beach. A win win situation at this true "resort"! An experience which is breathtaking, memorable and extremely relaxing. We'll be back either July 4th weekend work schedule permitting, or last week of August again. Here's to you Vinny...thank you for a wonderful vacation! -Nick

  • Liked — Beach and pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

First, let me tell you what the Ocean Surf is NOT. It is not glitzy. It is not sexy. It is not prestigeous. Your friends will not envy you for staying there. It is not spacious. It is not elegant. It is not even charming. There is absolutely no service. There isn't even a phone in the room.

But here is what it is. The Ocean Surf is right on the beach. It is one of the few places that also has a pool. Most important, it is immaculately clean - we watched the maintenance person washing between the rungs on the bannister. The bathrooms are teeny, but servicable. They are nice, friendly and smile. There is ample free parking. It is not cheap, but so what? It is right on the gorgeous beach, located at the end of the motel strip, with public beach on the western side and slightly removed from its neighbors on the eastern end. So the beach is relatively quiet. It is very kid friendly. It has no pretentions. It is just plqin nice. We plqn to go back next summer. Thought it was perfect for three or four nights.

We had a "Gold" room on the second floor overlooking the pool with an unobstructed view of the ocean. Going to sleep at night with the door to the terrace open and listening to the surf was wonderful.

It is an easy walk to town and Anthony's Pancake house for breakfast. Every room has a refrigerator, small stove and Montauk allows cooking on the beach. Walking the beach at night is romantic and calming.

  • Liked — Cleanliness. location on the beach
  • Disliked — small bath towelws
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

I just finished reading all the reviews about this resort. I find that there is truth in them all, yet I do have to say that the efforts that are made by the management and the staff probably outweigh any negatives. The positives of course are that the motel is located on the beach and it has a beautiful pool. There are differently priced rooms and clearly the Platinum rooms which are off to the side and have a full view of the ocean are the nicest. They also don't have the possible distraction/noise of the pool...You get what you pay for. It is also a short walk to town and to the IGA (the local supermarket). You don't ever have to get back in your car for your entire stay.
The rooms are efficiency-style so that you can bring snacks, drinks etc. They have been updated. The owners are constantly making improvements. It is very pricey - but you are ON THE BEACH, WITH A POOL, walking distance to town....
Yes, the towels are flimsy...the beds are okay....whatever.
We just enjoyed having three rooms in a row and being able to spend quality time with each other in a magnificent setting.
We made our reservations to return in July of 2009.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Still needs updating...but they are working on it!!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Resort

Address: 84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#3 Family Hotel in Montauk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Surf Resort is the ultimate relaxation destination for family and beach goers who are looking for peace and tranquility in Montauk. We are a beach front property located right on the sun swept sands and are conveniently situated near all of Montauk's premier restaurants and boutiques. We offer many wonderful amenities including an outdoor heated pool, barbecue grills, complimentary Wi-Fi, sun bathing, efficiency rooms as well as many other fun activities for all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Surf Hotel Montauk
Ocean Surf Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.