We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Surf Resort
Save
You added Ocean Surf Resort to your Saves list
84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love this place. The views are great, the rooms are VERY clean, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. We always recommend this place to our friends and family.Town is just a short walk..... Enjoy!! Stacey and Greg

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    10
    2
    11
See reviews for
52
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

After having stayed in most of the oceanfront resorts in Montauk, I have found Oceanside the best in it's price range. The rooms are always comfortable and clean, it is not as noisy as the other oceanfront party hotspots, and the management has always been courteous and does its best to make your stay enjoyable. The swimming pool is clean, and within easy walking distance of town. But all this pales when compared with the view on a full moon night from the second floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently (beginning of August 2012) and having stayed in hotels in Montauk for the past 5 years, we all know there arent very many glamourous places to choose from. However, for the amount of money they charge per night, you would at least expect the accommodations to be somewhat modern and updated. The staff is very nice and the cleaning people (husband and wife team) were so friendly. But the decor of the rooms is very lacking. Sheets, towels, curtains, rugs.........all in desperate need of an update. The bathrooms also need some modernizing (at least change the shower curtains?). On the positive side, the hotel has a nice pool, and a nice deck right on teh beachfront with a lovely view of the ocean which is literally steps away. Its a great location, right in the heart of town so you can walk to lots of places. The view alone almost makes you forget what your room looks like........almost. As I said, for the amount they charge for the rooms per night in the high season, they could at least do some updates to the rooms. If you do book this hotel, I suggest you get an ocean view room with terrace/balcony, they seemed much nicer (and of course, more money!) I would not likely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Our rooms are renovated on annual basis all our beds and linens are continously changed. I am suprise the guests never bought any of these issues to the offices's attention during their stay as we would have taken care of these issues during their stay. As for our rates they are competitive to the other hotels in the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

3 summers in a row, and Ocean Surf does not disappoint! SO lives in nearby Sag Harbor, I'm in NJ. He's been coming to OS for several years, this was my 3rd visit. Stayed week of 7/13/12. Booked ocean front platinum, 2nd floor. Room faces ocean directly. We ate several times on balcony, cannot find a better view. Some rooms face pool and ocean. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Housekeeping & maintenance staff attentively on grounds throughout day. Owner "Vinnie" and his family are very accomodating, and pleasant. Location to Town is a block away but you'd never know it on the beach ~ quiet and peaceful.Walk to restaurants (rooms have kitchens too), Montauk Green, historical Montauk Musuem, kayaking, hobie cats, mini golf, etc. Ocean Surf is the place to stay in Montauk -- best view, clean rooms, lowkey, great for families and couples alike. Coming to OS is annual highlight!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just came back from 3 days in Montauk and this was the first time staying at the Ocean Surf Resort and I highly recommend it. I am used to staying at very expensive resorts with all the glitz but this was a last minute vacation and the Ocean Surf Resort had availability. I was extremely happy with our stay. Nutan & her husband were outstanding hosts, the hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and always accommodating. The rooms were small but how much time do you actually stay in your room when you are at the beach. The ocean is only steps away and the pool is an added bonus. Location is perfect; 2 blocks from town in walking distance to plenty of stores & restaurants. This hotel has everything you need for a perfect vacation, quiet, cleanliness, and excellent service. I will be making this MY destination for any future vacations to Montauk.

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor rooms, step outside to the pool deck and then steps away from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were very disappointed in our stay at this resort. The rooms are small (even though I reserved a "gold room"). The worse aspect was the poor cleanliness of the room. There were crumbs on the floor in front of the kitchen area, ants on the cooktop surface and hairs on the toilet. I called to complain and the management was very nice but the cleanliness did not improve. Even after being cleaned, there was still sand on our bathroom floor.
The two BBQs on the deck were convenient however two extended families monopolized both BBQs and the only two picnic tables for the entire length of our stay.
Very convenient for beach access. Nice ocean view.
Unfortunately we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We take our cleanliness very seriously and our entire staff works very hard to maintain our standards, as soon as we were informed of the issue we immediately sent the staff to get it cleaned and upto the guest's expectation. I wish the guest had informed again about the sand issues we would have send the housekeeping staff again to resolve all of these issues.

As for barbecue we do have 2 but sometimes they are busy and if this was a problem we wish the guests would have come to the office and we could work something out with other guests so all of them could use the barbecue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My Husband and I have been coming to Ocean Surf for over 16 years this place just gets better with time. The owners are amazing and always go above and beyond to make EVERYONE’S stay great. Our children age 7 & 5 look forward to coming to Montauk each year to enjoy the pool and the beach which are just steps away from your room. (-:

Montauk has become an annually tradition and we as well as our friends enjoy our stay each year. The rooms come with an efficiency kitchen (stovetop, refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot) of course you bring your own groceries or you can walk to the IGA Supermarket or into town. There is a complimentary ice machine to fill your coolers and an ice cream machine for the kids by the motel office. There is a BBQ on the deck by the pool overlooking the ocean for your convenience which we used everyday. This year we were a group of forty one within the half hour of our arrival the owner went right out and bought an additional BBQ to accommodate us (their guests) talk about service.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is kept clean at all times. The owners are accommodating and we will NEVER switch from this hotel. It has it all - pool, beach, views, central location and an owner who takes the time to learn your name. We highly recommend this resort hotel to families, couples or any age to have fun or just relax and enjoy the view.

We can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the sound of the ocean choose an ocean view room upstairs so you can leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Resort

Address: 84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#3 Family Hotel in Montauk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Surf Resort is the ultimate relaxation destination for family and beach goers who are looking for peace and tranquility in Montauk. We are a beach front property located right on the sun swept sands and are conveniently situated near all of Montauk's premier restaurants and boutiques. We offer many wonderful amenities including an outdoor heated pool, barbecue grills, complimentary Wi-Fi, sun bathing, efficiency rooms as well as many other fun activities for all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Surf Hotel Montauk
Ocean Surf Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.