We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like no other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Surf Resort
84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Off Season Special
Ranked #10 of 37 hotels in Montauk
Coram, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My Husband and I have been coming to Ocean Surf for over 16 years this place just gets better with time. The owners are amazing and always go above and beyond to make EVERYONE’S stay great. Our children age 7 & 5 look forward to coming to Montauk each year to enjoy the pool and the beach which are just steps away from your room. (-:

Montauk has become an annually tradition and we as well as our friends enjoy our stay each year. The rooms come with an efficiency kitchen (stovetop, refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot) of course you bring your own groceries or you can walk to the IGA Supermarket or into town. There is a complimentary ice machine to fill your coolers and an ice cream machine for the kids by the motel office. There is a BBQ on the deck by the pool overlooking the ocean for your convenience which we used everyday. This year we were a group of forty one within the half hour of our arrival the owner went right out and bought an additional BBQ to accommodate us (their guests) talk about service.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is kept clean at all times. The owners are accommodating and we will NEVER switch from this hotel. It has it all - pool, beach, views, central location and an owner who takes the time to learn your name. We highly recommend this resort hotel to families, couples or any age to have fun or just relax and enjoy the view.

We can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the sound of the ocean choose an ocean view room upstairs so you can leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    10
    2
    11
See reviews for
24
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

If location is EVERYTHING then this is the "motel", NOT resort, for you. The Ocean Surf is right on the ocean, with a heated swimming pool between your sliding glass doors and the beach. The center of town is a very short walk away, so park the car and enjoy. The rooms leave a lot to be desired. They aren't very clean with small bathrooms, mattresses 3 years removed from being firm, and computer monitor posing as flat screen tvs!!! You get $500 a night location with $50 a night rooms for $250 a night, so you decide.

PS. The pool closes at 6pm sharp, useful information I didn't have prior to going, seemed early so i asked owner why, he stated that he leaves at 6pm and cant leave pool open without him there????

PSS. Goto Montauk Bake Shoppe and get the jelly croissants, excellent!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is a no-frills, but perfectly serviceable and the owner is very pleasant. We are 2 Brits living in NYC and he stored our board and bags for the day, arranged our taxis, and made us feel very welcome. Let's face it, how much time are you going to spend inside when you're at a location as sublime as this? You'll bring sand into the room etc...so it doesn't warrant expensive furnishings. The room attendant left us loads of clean towels and there was ample hot water. Just don't come expecting the Ritz, be prepared to quickly get into the chilled-out beach vibe, and if the sun shines, trust me, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND FOR ANYONE TO STAY HERE. We spent over $3000 to stay for 3 nights (2 rooms) in Montauk for a 3 day weekend. There was a 3 night minimum, or we would have stayed for only two. That being said, our customer service started off badly when I called to ask if there were standard coffee pots in the room. The owner, Vinny, rudely directed me to the website, where amenities are listed instead of just telling me himself. We arrived Friday night to a less than friendly reception and a dent/hole (looked like someone punched it) in one of the doors. We thought nothing of it and continued our weekend. The next day we called for a cot and he instructed us to call back at 6 (why?) to get it. He was nasty and less than accommodating. Everything we asked for he acted was like doing us a favor. When I called at 6:12pm and asked for a cot, he scolded me for not having called earlier and said we were not able to get one because his maintenance man went home. We went down and got it ourselves. Secondly, he offered us no help with the grill, in which is listed in amenities but he offers no way for his guests to light it. He told us to get charcoal, but made no indication that we would need lighter fluid so it costs us many trips to the grocery store and he offered no help whatsoever. Lastly, as we were checking out him and his wife accused us of making the hole in the door. When we explained it was already there, he said we should have told him (no where in the contract does it demand we report damages - this is not an apartment lease that we signed). He demanded we pay for the damages we did not. He was very aggressive and at one point his wife even lunged at my friend when she was trying to talk to her. It was borderline harassment. He ruined our Sunday that we would have spent in Montauk. He was unwilling to talk it out with us and when we wouldn't pay, he called the cops. We filed a report against him since his wife and himself were harassing us. Three weeks later he illegally charged my friend's credit card for the hole in the door. She disputed it with her card company as that is illegal, but owners should not be allowed to get away with something like that. We will never stay here again and will instruct everyone not to. I have never been treated like this before. People like him and his wife don't deserve to own businesses. I was beyond disgusted with this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
The accusation are totally false and misleading. Due to numerous requests about amenties we wanted their stay as comfortable as possible so we made sure of inspecting their room before they checked- in; if there was a damage our house keeping staff are trained to report them to the office immediately, and we take these issues very seriously. Hence, there was no damage to the room at check-in. They stayed in the room for 3 nights and never mentioned once about the damage. When we found out the damage at check- out they refused to accept it, and even threatened us to write bad reviews.

As far as cot is concerned they changed their request couple of times we instructed them to let us know before 6PM as our house keeping staff leaves for the day inspite of it, they come after 6PM and we still provided the cot the same night..

Apparently they were not familar how to use a charcoal barbeque and supplies needed. So we provided them with material and showed them how to start the barbecue.

Inspite of their threathening tone we are quite gracoius to let them use our facility after they check-out of the rooms. We are known for our kind hospitality and we go above and beyond to make all our guests stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

This is the cleanest hotel I have stayed at in montauk.... The staff is very friendly and would recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We do appreciate your time to wirte this review as our staff works very hard to come upto your expectations. Good reviews like this give us encouragement to work harder for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

What I expected was a dirty, run down no frills motel on the beach that you usually find in Montauk. What I got was a sunny pleasant room. Not luxurious but clean enough. The drapes and bed spreads looked like they were stolen from my grandmother’s garage sale in 1972, but there was a modern flat screen tv with basic cable, a small dining table, clean towels and patio furniture on deck. Plus there was a full kitchenette with dishes! (2 plates, 2 pans, some missed matched glasses and minor cutlery) It was a perfect spot for my mother and I for the weekend. The wifi was strong so I was able to get my work done while my mother enjoyed Netflix movies without interruption. It was even strong enough to reach the beach. The front desk staff were pleasant and even posted a number to reach them after hours on the door. It’s also only 2 blocks from the main street with shops and restaurant. I would recommend this place for families with children or people who do not care about luxury. If you just want an affordable room on the beach, look no further!

Room Tip: Beach Front Platinum rooms are great if you want a beach view but beware! You will have to deal wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at the Ocean Surf Resort for several days last week and found the property to be wonderful. The hotel is in a perfect spot, it's right on the beach and two blocks from town. The heated pool is an added bonus, especially early in the season when the ocean is too cold for swimming. We found the room to be clean and comfortable plus we had no issues with hot water like previous reviewers. A big plus for us was that the room has a small patio directly outside the room, so for a family travelling with small children you can put them to bed and then relax outside. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Resort

Also Known As:
Ocean Surf Hotel Montauk
Ocean Surf Hotel
Ocean Surf Montauk
Address: 84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Surf Resort is the ultimate relaxation destination for family and beach goers who are looking for peace and tranquility in Montauk. We are a beach front property located right on the sun swept sands and are conveniently situated near all of Montauk's premier restaurants and boutiques. We offer many wonderful amenities including an outdoor heated pool, barbecue grills, complimentary Wi-Fi, sun bathing, efficiency rooms as well as many other fun activities for all our guests. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Surf Resort to your Saves list