We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrific customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Surf Resort to your Saves list
Ocean Surf Resort
84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely horrific customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND FOR ANYONE TO STAY HERE. We spent over $3000 to stay for 3 nights (2 rooms) in Montauk for a 3 day weekend. There was a 3 night minimum, or we would have stayed for only two. That being said, our customer service started off badly when I called to ask if there were standard coffee pots in the room. The owner, Vinny, rudely directed me to the website, where amenities are listed instead of just telling me himself. We arrived Friday night to a less than friendly reception and a dent/hole (looked like someone punched it) in one of the doors. We thought nothing of it and continued our weekend. The next day we called for a cot and he instructed us to call back at 6 (why?) to get it. He was nasty and less than accommodating. Everything we asked for he acted was like doing us a favor. When I called at 6:12pm and asked for a cot, he scolded me for not having called earlier and said we were not able to get one because his maintenance man went home. We went down and got it ourselves. Secondly, he offered us no help with the grill, in which is listed in amenities but he offers no way for his guests to light it. He told us to get charcoal, but made no indication that we would need lighter fluid so it costs us many trips to the grocery store and he offered no help whatsoever. Lastly, as we were checking out him and his wife accused us of making the hole in the door. When we explained it was already there, he said we should have told him (no where in the contract does it demand we report damages - this is not an apartment lease that we signed). He demanded we pay for the damages we did not. He was very aggressive and at one point his wife even lunged at my friend when she was trying to talk to her. It was borderline harassment. He ruined our Sunday that we would have spent in Montauk. He was unwilling to talk it out with us and when we wouldn't pay, he called the cops. We filed a report against him since his wife and himself were harassing us. Three weeks later he illegally charged my friend's credit card for the hole in the door. She disputed it with her card company as that is illegal, but owners should not be allowed to get away with something like that. We will never stay here again and will instruct everyone not to. I have never been treated like this before. People like him and his wife don't deserve to own businesses. I was beyond disgusted with this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
The accusation are totally false and misleading. Due to numerous requests about amenties we wanted their stay as comfortable as possible so we made sure of inspecting their room before they checked- in; if there was a damage our house keeping staff are trained to report them to the office immediately, and we take these issues very seriously. Hence, there was no damage to the room at check-in. They stayed in the room for 3 nights and never mentioned once about the damage. When we found out the damage at check- out they refused to accept it, and even threatened us to write bad reviews.

As far as cot is concerned they changed their request couple of times we instructed them to let us know before 6PM as our house keeping staff leaves for the day inspite of it, they come after 6PM and we still provided the cot the same night..

Apparently they were not familar how to use a charcoal barbeque and supplies needed. So we provided them with material and showed them how to start the barbecue.

Inspite of their threathening tone we are quite gracoius to let them use our facility after they check-out of the rooms. We are known for our kind hospitality and we go above and beyond to make all our guests stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    33
    10
    2
    14
See reviews for
64
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the cleanest hotel I have stayed at in montauk.... The staff is very friendly and would recommend it to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We do appreciate your time to wirte this review as our staff works very hard to come upto your expectations. Good reviews like this give us encouragement to work harder for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

What I expected was a dirty, run down no frills motel on the beach that you usually find in Montauk. What I got was a sunny pleasant room. Not luxurious but clean enough. The drapes and bed spreads looked like they were stolen from my grandmother’s garage sale in 1972, but there was a modern flat screen tv with basic cable, a small dining table, clean towels and patio furniture on deck. Plus there was a full kitchenette with dishes! (2 plates, 2 pans, some missed matched glasses and minor cutlery) It was a perfect spot for my mother and I for the weekend. The wifi was strong so I was able to get my work done while my mother enjoyed Netflix movies without interruption. It was even strong enough to reach the beach. The front desk staff were pleasant and even posted a number to reach them after hours on the door. It’s also only 2 blocks from the main street with shops and restaurant. I would recommend this place for families with children or people who do not care about luxury. If you just want an affordable room on the beach, look no further!

Room Tip: Beach Front Platinum rooms are great if you want a beach view but beware! You will have to deal wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at the Ocean Surf Resort for several days last week and found the property to be wonderful. The hotel is in a perfect spot, it's right on the beach and two blocks from town. The heated pool is an added bonus, especially early in the season when the ocean is too cold for swimming. We found the room to be clean and comfortable plus we had no issues with hot water like previous reviewers. A big plus for us was that the room has a small patio directly outside the room, so for a family travelling with small children you can put them to bed and then relax outside. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I was more than happy with everything about this place! The rooms look recently updated, are fairly large, and have fairly comfortable beds. We used to come to montauk years ago and just started to come back yearly again a year ago. We stayed at a different resort last year but chose ocean surf this year and I am glad we did. The rooms are pretty large (beachside) and have a kitchenette and lots of storage. The location is wonderful and the pool is great! Heated pool is kept very clean and is fenced in. There were no complaints from anyone (total of 11 rooms booked by my family) and it was a wonderful weekend in total. Will definitely go back. The manager/owner is very nice and helpful and so is his staff. Definitely recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed with my friend in ocean front room - there were just couple of small towels in the bathroom that did not seem clean at all. There are no telephones in the room - if You need something You should go downstairs to reception . No irons in the rooms - You also have to go to reception - nobody will bring it to Your room!
But the worst thing was to find a BLACK HAIR in my bed before I went to sleep. For more than 300 USD per night they could improve their service and install the telephones in the rooms.
Location is great though.

Room Tip: Take any ocean view room - they all have good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We usually provide 2 body towels and 2 hand towels for each room unless the guests request for additional towels we gladly provide them. As for the chinaware we try hard to match it but sometimes we have large parties they take few rooms and things do get shifted to other rooms.Similarly, iron is provided on a request basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Arrived in the late evening to find no hot water, filthy surface on the nightstand, and a.TV the size of a postage stamp. This motel has the quality of a $49 roadside truckstop lodging, only it's five times the price. Yes, there's the beach right outside, but Montauk is nothing to write home about either - an end of the line feel in a bad sense: the obligatory Chinese restaurant, the tacky T-shirt stores and some very dodgy people in the bars. Really disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We did have hot water but some time it takes a few minutes for the hot water to come on. As for the cleanliness we strive hard and provide daily maid service furthermore, if the guest had brought this to our attention we would have either redone their room again or switched them to another room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
4.8 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#9 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 41 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#15 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanside Beach Resort
Oceanside Beach Resort
#11 of 41 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Resort

Address: 84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montauk
#3 Family Hotel in Montauk
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Surf Resort is the ultimate relaxation destination for family and beach goers who are looking for peace and tranquility in Montauk. We are a beach front property located right on the sun swept sands and are conveniently situated near all of Montauk's premier restaurants and boutiques. We offer many wonderful amenities including an outdoor heated pool, barbecue grills, complimentary Wi-Fi, sun bathing, efficiency rooms as well as many other fun activities for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ocean Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Surf Hotel Montauk
Ocean Surf Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.