We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been coming to Ocean Surf for over 15 years and still love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Surf Resort
Save
You added Ocean Surf Resort to your Saves list
84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Coram, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We have been coming to Ocean Surf for over 15 years and still love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have been staying at Ocean Surf for over 15 years and love it. My husband and i were even married in Montauk in 2000. We continued to come to Ocean Surf even when it changed owners to Vinny and Newton (two of the nicest people you will ever meet) We started out with just my husand and I, then came our son Aidan (2004) and then our daughter Brielle (2007). Every year we have a great time during our annual stay
in Montauk. the people in the community are great. In 2008 two other couples and their kids joined our annual vacation to montauk. we are now 6-7 families that come each year. With our most recent trip to Ocean Surf just last week, we had beautiful weather and a great time. Can't wait until next year!!!!
Thank you Vinny and Newton see you soon ......................... The B family

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    10
    2
    11
See reviews for
52
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I have been going to Montauk since I'm very young, and now take my family out there ever year. Have stayed at quite a few places out there, and Ocean Surf is BY FAR the best place to stay! The rooms are comfortable and clean. The pool and ocean are just steps away from your door, and the town is just a block over. No need to get into your car. The staff is WONDERFUL! The facitity is IMMACULATE! This is our 5th year back, and every year it seems to get better and better!!! A definite perfect on the ocean Montauk vacations retreat!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We had never been to Montauk and did some research on line. When we pulled up to the motel, it was a pleasant surprise. It is true the rooms are fine, nothing spectacular, but clean enough to put your head down at night. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Anything we asked for extra (meaning pillows, blankets, etc.) came immediately and without hesitation. The steps away from the beach were priceless. To have a family stay there was such an easy experience and no headaches. The kitchen in the room was great to keep costs down for food. They also had a great big BBQ for use so you could cook out and tables right there for conveince. It was especially great to see while sitting on our terrace every morning the gentlemen checking the pool chemicals and cleaning away any sand that might have been there. It was walking distance into town and an easy walk for families with small kids. Thought it was very easy vacation with spectacular views. The price of the room was worth it for all of the conveniences and view. There was also plenty of parking spaces for motel guest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Surf Resort in mid-June for our sixteenth anniversary trip. I researched all hotels in Montauk and Ocean Surf seemed to have the best beachfront location. It was fantastic - Our room was literally twenty feet away from the beach. The hotel also has a very nice outdoor pool with sun deck, directly facing the ocean. My 4 and 8 year old kids preferred the pool to the beach, while we enjoyed the view of the beach on the sun deck, watching them playing in the pool. The inkeeper Vinnie was very friendly and courteous, and really helped me to arrange for our anniversary dinner. Some people complained about the facility were missing the point here. It is true that there is nothing special about the building. It is just a simple and clean motel. However, the location, the view, the lovely pool in front of the ocean, and enjoying all of these from the footstep of your room - that is worth a million.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Convenient to town,beach, restaurants, etc.. Although the furniture was old ,our room was recently re-done ( new carpet ,floor. paint) and very well looked after by the staff. Plenty of parking, walking distance to everything, easy beach access.Even though our room was a " side view" of the ocean we had a completely unobstructed view from our balcony - worth the $$$$.Mini- kitchen was great. Microwave, little refrigerator, 2 burners, coffee pot & toaster. Shop at IGA fro breakfast & lunch items & you can avoid the long waits at restaurants !!! Pool was beautiful & very clean . Lots of family & 20-something groups ( College graduation weekend?). Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was our fourth time here and we really enjoy the place. They have recently redone the kitchenettes and the resort is always clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. Nice place to stay!
Stacey and Greg

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Booked a reservation in August for this upcoming long weekend (9/10-9/12). Called today to confirm and was told that my reservation was not for this weekend, but for next weekend (9/17-9/18). I have in my hands a confirmation from the hotel that I had to sign and return to them that has the appropriate dates listed on it. Was told by Vinnie and another receptionist that there's nothing they can do and that there are no rooms available even though I have a confirmation from them and an email stating that they received my signed and faxed confirmation back. Beware, even if you have a confirmation it doesn't mean you have a room. They ruined my long weekend vacation since there are no available rooms at any other hotel in Montauk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
I reviewed her claim but they forgot to mention the entire story. As a hotel we not only refunded all of their money, but we gave them a future credit to stay the same length of their stay on us Free for one year during the same off season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Resort

Address: 84 South Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#3 Family Hotel in Montauk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Surf Resort is the ultimate relaxation destination for family and beach goers who are looking for peace and tranquility in Montauk. We are a beach front property located right on the sun swept sands and are conveniently situated near all of Montauk's premier restaurants and boutiques. We offer many wonderful amenities including an outdoor heated pool, barbecue grills, complimentary Wi-Fi, sun bathing, efficiency rooms as well as many other fun activities for all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ocean Surf Hotel Montauk
Ocean Surf Montauk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.